We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family reunion, great drinks and lovely small plates.”
Review of Ace Gillett's

Ace Gillett's
Ranked #40 of 615 Restaurants in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Not fifty feet below the historic Armstrong Hotel, Ace Gillett's celebrates a bygone era of exquisite service, timeless style, classic cocktails, and expert cuisine. Sip a handcrafted martini from our signature drink menu, or partake in that perfect pairing of wine and unforgettable fare. Your evening of revelry, live music, and familiar comfort at Ace Gillett's is the continuation of yesteryear.
Napa
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Family reunion, great drinks and lovely small plates.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The drinks, food and live jazz were spectacular!! The service was uneven and our waitress became very confused, as more people joined the open table we were at. We will definitely return to this lounge when we visit the Armstrong Hotel again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hawk4sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    29
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sorry not what I was expecting with all the rave reviews!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Down in a basement. Service is not friendly at all, yes drinks were good but nothing out of the ordinary and what drinks should be. Food was just Ok. Small portions. I would go back although it's nothing really extraordinary.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best bar in town, no question”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Ace Gillett's is outstanding, and I almost never rate places with 5 stars. The cocktails are excellent and well made with attention to detail. Ray the head bar-tender has boundless energy and remembers people's names with something like a photographic memory. Here's how good he is. When we went to Ace's for the first time, I asked Ray if they had Pisco, and they didn't. The next time, maybe 3 months later, Ray remembered our names AND had purchased Pisco for me! The tapas are excellent as everyone else has said. You can't go wrong here for a great adult night out especially on jazz nights. My advice is to come early to this speak-easy style basement bar before the music starts and place gets jammed; sit at the bar and enjoy martini's and tapas and conversation, then enjoy the jazz.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food and drinks”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a classy underground bar with a fabulous menu and a ton of drink choices. There's jazz about 4 nights a week. The food is delicious and the drinks are strong. Atmosphere is nice, too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MountainSunSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was slightly disappointed because I thought this place would be a swanky underground jazz club. It is really just a small restaurant with a bar & a couple guys playing jazz music- nothing fancy or super romantic. However, the food was to DIE for. We tried pretty much everything: Spanish Meatballs, Fondue, Duck Confit, Pork Belly. The prices were amazing for how delicious & rich the food is. The cocktail list was not as grand as I had imagined either, but they made a mean dirty martini.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ace Gillett's also viewed

Fort Collins, CO
Fort Collins, CO
 

Been to Ace Gillett's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing