We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Dinner!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
Ranked #8 of 590 Restaurants in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, a romantic anniversary, a long overdue family night, or celebrating with a group of friends; The Fort Collins Melting Pot Restaurant is perfect for any occasion. Tailor your visit with a four-course dining experience including cheese fondue, salad, entree and chocolate fondue dessert.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Melting Pot is on the more expensive side, but is well worth it. If you have never tried fondue, this is the perfect place. The ambiance is fantastic for a couples dinner. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is amazing! I suggest the dinner for two/classic four course experience. It will give you a taste of many foods and sauces. Ask for extra Gorgonzola Port sauce, it is the best!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    24
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I love fondue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

For anyone who has never experienced fondue, you need to try it. I grew up with home-grown fondue (bread & cheese) and only discovered the true, 4-course fondue experience later in life. The Melting Pot does an excellent job. The servers are friendly, helpful, and generous. And the food is the highest quality. Dippers are everything from filet to lobster to strip, shrimp, salmon, chicken. Not to mention a variety of breads and very creative cheese choices. All very good.
The desert is, of course, the "cherry on the cake" as it were. I do wish they would include more fruits in the desert dippers. Dessert tends to consist of very rich, decadent items like marsh-mellows, cheese cake, brownies, etc. But, if you ask for apples, strawberries, etc, they have always been happy to oblige.
For a national chain, The Melting Pot still has a one-of-a-kind feel and they are perfect for special occasions. If you happen to have a local fondue restaurant, try it out. If The Melting Pot is your only choice, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice ambience, cool idea but a lot of decicions to make”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Really nice atmosphere, also great if you want to have more privacy. The idea of a fondue restaurant is really cool. Was my first time having fondue in all that variations (cheese/meat/chocolate) in a restaurant. If you visit it for the first time the huge variations of cheese/salads/chocolate to choose from may be a little bit overwhelming. If you take all courses it will take some time and if you choose from their huge wine selection it will become quite costly. Special thanks to our waitress Moe for her excellent service, her great sense of humor and her phenomenal tips on selecting the ingredients for the "melting pots".

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“First Time - Won't be the Last!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Went here because we received a coupon from Valpak. We were not disappointed! Excellent experience and food.

Be aware though: Take your time and don't rush. Give adequate time to enjoy the experience. Make reservations! Bring your wallet...to do this right, expect to spend $100/couple.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TSSpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
152 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Different and Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had never been to a fondue restaurant as I pictured an Amazing Race type of challenge - small chunks of bread being dipped into a dayglo bowl of melted cheese. How very wrong my perception was. We had a cozy booth which contributed to a wonderfully elegant ambiance. Our waiter was first class, persuading us to choose the "Big Night Out". This 4 course meal started with my cheesy / bread ensemble (a lot better than I envisaged!), then a salad, main course and dessert. The main course consisted of lobster, sirloin, chicken, pork and veggies. It was excellent. We were told not to time the food cooking as its couldn't be overcooked. It was a lot of fun, very different from anything I'd ever experienced before. The dessert of a chocolate fondue made my girlfriend very happy! All in all, a brilliant experience, wonderful ambiance, great service and amazing food. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ccfc1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing