We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"White Water Wonderous!"”

Rocky Mountain Adventures
Ranked #2 of 15 Tours in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"White Water Wonderous!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our family of four booked a half day trip on Clear Creek. I was hesitant about rafting on a river so close to the highway, but I soon forgot my concerns. The water and the scenery were beautiful. There were times that I could hear the cars above, but mostly it felt like an awesome mountain adventure. Our guide, Jonathan, was a pro. With his direction, we maneuvered class III and IV rapids with skill and poise. He shared many interesting facts about the valley and its history and inhabitants. I highly recommend this trip to anyone looking for an outdoor adventure convenient to Denver and the metro area. MAD adventures took great care of my family.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sophie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    8
    1
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Colorado River Rafting Fun for the Whole Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a large group of girl scouts with ages ranging from 11 - 16, and a few adults. They bus you out to the locations and then you get set up with your rafting guide. We had 5 rafts in our group and a beautiful day. We were outfitted with life jackets and a paddle. Wetsuits are available if you need them but we were fine in June without. They give you a safety talk and directions on how to paddle correctly. Once you get in the raft, you are given some additional instructions by your guide. Our group had Henry, Cookie and a couple of others that I can't remember. They were all great though. We paddled, ran some rapids for awhile and then stopped at Jump & Punk rock. There we were offered the opportunity to jump into the river from the rocks. Jump rock is about 30 feet up and Punk rock is about 8 feet. The water was a little chilly but it was a warm and sunny day so no worries. Jump rock was pretty cool but make sure you enter the water with your feet together and arms by your side or you will be hurting. After that we hit the water running. We stopped for lunch a little later and enjoyed a spread of sandwiches, chips, cookies and beverages provided by Mad Adventures. After lunch we were back on the river. The afternoon portion was a little slow so we ended up paddling alot in the afternoon. Probably could have done the morning only portion. The rapids were Class II and III which was a little tame for my liking but most of our girls had never done anything like this so it was very exciting for them. The kids all did great and really enjoyed it. The guides kept it interesting and entertaining.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PlayinHard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic experience! I had never been rafting before. One guide, Luke, gave a great and informative talk about the area and river on our way to the out in site. Our raft guide Danny did a fantastic job leading our group and we had so much fun! Would definitely go again! But longer next time!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmilyJCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
“RMA Rafting is the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have done several trips with this outfitter. Easy to get to locations, clean and professionally maintained facilities, vehicles, boats, and equipment. Friendly, safe, and professional guides. Trips that run like a switch watch. What else could you ask for when spending your hard earned money on a Colorado River adventure? Rocky Mountain Adventures knows and understands how to show people a good time, the skillful balance of adventure and safety. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RiverAffecionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Great ride! Highly recommend!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I went whitewater rafting on Clear Creek with a group of over 65 - most of them teenagers! It was a fantastic experience for us all. Attention to detail, safety, instructions is outstanding. It was early June and the water was freezing, but they had wet suits for a small price and they were well kept & just what we needed. The guides were great and we loved the photos! Can't say enough about what a terrific experience this was - Will be back!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SHJ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Mountain Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Rocky Mountain Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing