We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretencious but GOOD”
Review of Cafe Athens

Cafe Athens
Ranked #20 of 615 Restaurants in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unpretencious but GOOD”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

In a shopping plaza, you don't expect great quality food. Cafe Athens breaks that mold by serving great gyros, moussaka, pastitio, greek coffee and baklava and other Greek goodies that are well prepared, authentic and reasonably priced. Good Greek beer, a great atmosphere- what's not to like.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    37
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Having Great Employees can make a big difference”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

About 2 weeks ago, me and my husband decided to try something new for our date and we have heard a lot of wonderful things about this place. We came in on a Thursday evening for dinner and the place was packed, but we have heard this place provides quick service. We think our waitress was very overwhelmed because the place filled up quickly. She seemed very stressed and the other waitstaff members had to help her out. It didn't take long for her to get to us and take our order, but it took roughly 10 minutes for us to get a gyros salad, a pita bread, and a platos pie. Our order came wrong and we told the girl that was helping out our waitress that the order she brought out was nothing close to what we had ordered, so she walked into the kitchen and this very friendly gentleman came running out and was very apologetic and asked us what we had order. After we had told him our order, we looked at our watch and said we were on a time limit, but he reassured us he would have it out in a few minutes. We were very impressed with his service that he provided because he had our food out in 3 minutes, which was shocking because the food was hot and delicious. He even gave us a few extra fries for us to share and came back to check on us to make sure everything turned out okay. Me and my husband noticed that he was a very personable guy with a great attitude. He was zipping through the whole restaurant making orders, cleaning tables, checking on customers, and he held a smile while doing it all. We would highly recommend this restaurant because their amazing service matches their food quality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank channel1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fantastic and affordable Greek food”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I am now a repeat customer at Cafe Athens. The gyros and souvlaki are always fresh, never dry. And the tzatziki sauce is outstanding (it's hard to get a good tzatziki sauce these days). The portions are very large, and the price is always quite affordable. The people who own this restaurant also owned the Greek fast food place in Foothills Mall before it closed. If you miss that food, you can now find it out on the east end of Harmony Road at Cafe Athens.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdventurousTraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cafe Athens Date Nite!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great Greek food, the best Greek in town. It is a good place for a low-key date night. Good atmosphere, although can get loud, great food, great service!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrazyCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“New to this.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

First time ever having Greek food. And I loved all of it. I just had a gyro with a side salad and it was the best food I have had in a long time. I will be back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Athens also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing