We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC steakhouse!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canyon Chop House - CLOSED

Canyon Chop House
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC steakhouse!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Liked - complimentary appetizers to give you a taste of something new, wonderful caesar salad & wedge salad, steak was cooked just right - absolutely phenomenal, potatoes were perfect, asparagus grilled to perfection as well. The service was marvelous as well. This steakhouse is a MUST!

Disliked - nothing...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank glg150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    27
    16
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, CO
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Costly retaurants should have great service and food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We tried to go on Tuesday evening, but they all tables were reserved, so we made reservations for Thursday. Since the place recommends reservations, they should have a good idea of the staff necessary for the evening. However, once we were seated it was at least 15 minutes before a waiter arrived, then an additional 20 minutes before salads arrived. The entrée was well after the salads were complete. Service was very slow. For the amount paid for the entrée's they should have been extraordinary, but they were not. They were good, but did not measure up to their cost. In all likelihood we will not return to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as special as it should/could be.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

As others have said, this is an expensive place to eat, especially for Fort Collins. That said, my expectations were fairly high as i generally love the "Chop House" genre of restaurants.

To start with the ambiance is nice, lighting is perfect and the tall, generously sized, booths are very intimate. The menu is printed on a small piece of Kraft paper folded into the napkin and unfolds about 4 or 5 times. The wine/beer list is comprehensive with a full spectrum of prices. Unfortunately, no beer is on tap even the local New Belgium selections. The wine/champagne selection has a price range up to about $250/bottle. It is really too bad they don't have a better view or setting, as all you see through the wall of windows is another office building.

Our waiter did not remember one of the specials, and apologized. But he did nothing to follow-up or find out what it was. He didn't seem exceptionally knowledgeable about the menu, but maybe he was new. I also would have expected black slacks, and not black jeans with an old leather belt for the male wait staff. He was very accommodating in a special dietary request. Other than those small issues, the service was adequate, but I expected more.

We had the Ahi and a 9oz filet. Both came with two sides, salad and good sourdough bread. Mashed potatoes were smooth and had plenty of garlic, a plus! The spinach was ok, but not as flavorful as expected. The salad was good, but not that creative in terms of ingredients. the house balsamic was very good. The steak was adequate, but a bit on the low side of quality and taste. It was not what I would call a "memorable" steak.

While I had wanted to visit here for a long time, I don't think I will be back. If you have a very special occasion and don't want to go to Denver, maybe this is a good option, but there are other establishments that offer a better meal and dining experience, usually for less money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Usually top-notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

but not always. Once I took a friend and the dish we ordered was terribly over-salted. Otherwise, service and food had been consistently optimal.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank keeevm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
124 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“High end restruant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This will cost you. Check their menu pricing before you get sticker shock.
The food is average. Had a steak and it was tender, but not a lot of flavor.
This place is for those long conversational dinners, don't be in a hurry.

Helpful?
Thank Chas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Chop House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing