We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“American Safari Ranch is AWESOME!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairplay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
American Safari Ranch
Mount Gilead
1 review
“American Safari Ranch is AWESOME!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

American Safari Ranch is THE place to go for the outdoors person. Rustic cabins and rooms right beside the beautiful rolling horse pastures. Wake up to the breath taking view of the Colorado Rockies! There are several outdoor activities available there at the ranch such as horseback riding, ATV riding, and fishing. They also have the facilities to have large parties.
We went horseback riding during our stay at the ranch. What a treat!! Two of the wranglers, Joe and Ashley took us on the trail ride of our dreams. They expertly lead us through some of the most beautiful scenery we have ever experienced and we have ridden horses all over the eastern part of the country! Nothing can compare to the magnificent views when trail riding at American Safari Ranch.
The owner and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was just a wonderful place to stay and we would definitely love to go again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waldosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    1
    1
    11
See reviews for
16
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

My wife called to try to book a reservation(before we read these reviews). The man with a strong accent was so rude...demanding that we book for the next morning. He said that his was the best and any other was like going to walmart and if we didn't care we could just go to a merry go round at a ski resort. He called us back 2 times after my wife got off the phone with him and said that no other ranch was as good as his and we had to book the next morning and we couldn't think about it and call back. She was shocked at how belligerent he was. I wouldn't recommend this to an enemy and we didn't even go.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venturen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanSR, Director of Sales at American Safari Ranch, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
We sincerely apologize and are pleased to announce that American Safari Ranch is now under new sales management! We want to assure all customers past and future that customer satisfaction is now a priority for us. Safari Ranch was voted best in Colorado and we just got even better! Please give us a try...if you don't thoroughly enjoy your ride, your guide will buy your lunch at the ranch and the ranch will buy you a drink at the saloon..beer and wine for the adults and sodas for the kids. We will also beat any competitor's price by 10%! Please come ride with us and we guarantee you will be thrilled with your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fairplay hotels

Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

After reading the reviews we decided to cancel our Reservation at the Ranch a full WEEK prior to our scheduled arrival and less than one day after making our Reservation. The first man I spoke with was cordial and professional. Then the owner (I assumed) called me back.

True to the testimonies, this man was to most RUDE Host I have ever encountered and we have travelled the world.

I don't care how beautiful the property or how great the horses, if this is how he does business, I hope someone else owns this Ranch soon!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadWarrior36000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

Yes, what they advertise about no nose to tails is true but that's about as far as the truth goes... The people there are awful, most of the time you can't even understand what they're saying! The rooms are not even close to being worth the price they charge and you can't get a refund if anything goes wrong with everything from horseback rides to the rooms! There's no electronics - tv, clock, etc in any of their rooms or cabins and their decor is tacky cheap western! If you're going to spend money to going somewhere amazing try the Mountain Comfort Bed & Breakfast that's in nearby Alma... now there is a place worth paying money to stay... you're treated like family and spoiled beyond what would be expected from the price u pay - don't forget your swim suit, the hot tub is AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyliesMom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

This place is awful and the owners are worse! Me, and my boyfreind and another couple stayed here and paid $1000 dollars for three nights (which we were informed was in a cabbin, had breakfast, lunch, and dinner and a hunting guide for the two men. NONE of which held up to be true. We get into our disapointing room (not cabin) which was decorated with cheap decor and scratchy towels, no tv or alarm clock, They even put a screw in the shower knob so we could not make the shower more than luke warm!
We did not get fresh towels, no one was at the check in when we showed up, we had to chase down a man on a fourwheeler to call the owner, the meals we were promised did not exist because they don't serve them this season.
Our hunting guide, Troy, asked for 500 dollars cash to be their guide for the stay for each of the men. a total of $1000 dollars. He showed the men four places and left and never saw him again after the few hours he showed, after calls to him, he told us he would be back sunday to help them since they did not see one deer in the places he showed them all weekend. He never showed.
Online the website says rooms cost $75 a night. Thats a total of $225 for the 3 nights we stayed (times two for the other couple and their room). However where did the other $775 dollars go? to the guide? for each couple. So the guide got $775 dollars (times two) to show the two men four places that had no deer. Something clearly is not matching up so i called the hotel for a very rude phone call with foreign stan who hung up on me when I asked if they kept record of the past guest stays and how much we paid! He said he did not know how much we paid. However he continued to repeat that Troy gave us a deal and should have charged more and hung up. He didnt have record on how much we paid however he did know we got a deal?huh??
So the only refund i have is to maybe safe someone else from an extremely disapointing experience!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lins77z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanSR, Owner at American Safari Ranch, responded to this review, April 28, 2010
We have been in business for 25 years, taking care of 1,000's of guest happy and hunters.
The hunters package is for hunters only, not family members. We feel we went above and beyond to allow your family members to stay for free. The arrangement was for two hunters to stay in one room; for the extra family members me provided an extra room at no cost.
Staff and owners strive to provide the best service for all guest and make them feel so happy that they will return again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

The staff here are more rude than anything I have ever experienced. I would not recommend staying here unless you like to pay money to be tortured.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FellowTraveler888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairplay hotels
4.9 mi away
A Riverside Inn Hotel
A Riverside Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairplay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Western Inn Motel & RV Park
4.9 mi away
The Fairplay Hotel
The Fairplay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fairplay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Safari Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Safari Ranch

Property: American Safari Ranch
Address: 1484 County Road 7, Fairplay, CO 80440
Location: United States > Colorado > Fairplay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Fairplay
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Safari Ranch is located in Fairplay, Colorado. Near Breckenridge, and other world known ski resorts. Plan your next family outing, company retreat, or wedding in the beautiful mountains of South Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
American Safari Ranch Hotel Fairplay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing