We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“took forever!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fairplay Valiton Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 20 Restaurants in Fairplay
Cuisines: American
Description: Very good restaurant. The hotel is there too (not so good). Open three meals. Ate there twice. Did not stay there, but saw two rooms.
Restaurant details
Description: Very good restaurant. The hotel is there too (not so good). Open three meals. Ate there twice. Did not stay there, but saw two rooms.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
153 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“took forever!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you have time to burn, don't care too much for the quality of your meal, but like quaint old surroundings, then this is the place for you. The hotel was built in 1873, and is quite a charmer in many ways, but continuing the restaurant operation in the present manner is a disservice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank judgejohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    7
    2
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Why did we bother?”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rather than waiting for a table at the Brown Burro, which we knew would be good, we went to the hotel restaurant. NEVER AGAIN.
Two of us ordered fish and chips, two ordered the Mediterranean Salad, one hamburger and one Reuben. After 30 minutes the orders started coming out one at a time at 5 minute intervals! And the second order of fish and chips and Med Salad never came out. (Don't you just make a double order and split it?) After everyone finished eating slowly (feeling bad about eating in front of the other two), we saw 2 fish and chips orders go to another table!! And then a Med Salad went to the other table! The waiter said the cook only prepares by ticket; then what happened to our ticket?
Now over an hour later, we asked for the check. The manager brings over Malt Vinegar for the fish and chips!! What? No apologies whatsoever. We again said we were leaving since we never received our full orders. Now the Med Salad comes! We said, we didn't want it, just the check.
The manager never took off the price of the salad nor the fish and chips, nor comped us for anything, nor apologized. She said the waiter was new. It wasn't his fault. He was clearly embarrassed and we had heard him earlier telling the cook we were getting upset.
Not worth the wait, the hassle or the rudeness of management.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lkenn1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wish there was a zero star category”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Come for lunch, your still be there for dinner. In an hour and a half we got four out of six meals, all of which closely rivaled McDonalds for quality. After watching several other people who arrived after us receive and consume their meals we decided it was time to leave. I think it would have been easier to learn Latin than try to explain that we just wanted the check and had no interest in staying at the hotel to wait for the other two meals by breakfast. Our waiter, was new, very enthusiastic, and did his best. But If you polish a turd, it's still a turd. The manager was a witch. No other way to it. She got mad that we complained, even more mad we wanted to leave and we had to fight with her not to charge us for the meals we never received. Best of all she blamed everything on the new waiter. I hope for his sake he finds a job somewhere else, really anywhere else.
So, if you would like marginal food, severed at twenty minuet intervals and a atmosphere that rivals middle school check this place out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connieking54, Owner at Fairplay Valiton Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Sorry you had a bad experience. We cannot be responsible for your bad attitude upon arrival and cannot help you with any problems if we cannot even apologize because your insults are non stop. We do not claim to be a "fast food " restaurant . We are a small town here in Fairplay and have a relaxed, small town atmosphere. It took a total of 45 minutes from the time you were seated and the time you left...that was for 6 people at your table and many tables before you.
Constance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will NEVER be back!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Was in Fairplay on August 24, 2012 to watch the USA Pro Cycling Challenge come through town. There were five of us. We we served warm beer in the bar without an apology. I was wearing my complimentary South Park "The Altitude killed Kenny" t-shirt when the owner made the comment that I was not supposed to leave the parking lot where I received it. This is the second time we have been met with attitude from the owner who really doesn't want to put forth the effort to bring people back to her establishment. She must have instructed her wait staff (which includes family members) to do a mediocre job as most people only pass through Fairplay and they don't count on repeat visits. I guess they have all the business they can handle.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DebraSColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connieking54, Owner at Fairplay Valiton Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We try our best to make everyone happy, but some people are impossible and walk in our place with an already bad attitude. Sorry they feel that way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lavaca, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best food in Fairplay”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Excellent food. They also have a piano player most nights. Beautiful, victorian building. Well worth a stop when in Fairplay.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairplay Valiton Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fairplay Valiton Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing