We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”
Review of The Fairplay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fairplay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Fairplay B&B and Inns
AURORA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here instead of our usual chain hotel for something with a bit of character, I will definitely stick to the chains as at least I know what I'm getting. The room was freezing cold all night with barely anything coming from the radiators. There were no staff around for me to complain to. I had to call a phone number to get someone to come and check us in. Then in the morning we thought a hot shower would heat us up. Wishful thinking, as there was no hot water at all. There was a notice in the bathroom asking you to run the shower for 5 minutes to bear with the old piping of the hotel but we ran it for 25 minutes and it was still freezing. I complained at the front desk in the morning and again I had to call a phone number for someone to come to the desk. A member of the breakfast wait staff ended up coming to the front to take my complaint, but obviously could do nothing about the problems. She took the details of my issues, apologised and said that the manager would call me. Funnily enough nobody bothered - of course I had paid in advance for the room. $80 for a freezing room with 'character', and no hot water?? I'll stick to my chain hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KYLIEW955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    27
    12
    8
    13
See reviews for
18
29
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

OK..this is a beautiful OLD historic hotel.  Beautiful antique lobby with creaky floors, nice restaurant (live music last night), large clean rooms, good beds, clean linens, and down comforters.   Staff is very nice, and accommodating.  Wireless Internet is available, just ask the front desk for the password. 

We ate breakfast at the restaraunt - awesome!  We had a burrito, omelettes and biscuits 'n gravy.  Definitely would eat here again!  

When we checked in, we were reminded that some folks say this place is haunted.  I don't believe in any of that, so i guess that is why i did not hear or see any ghosts or dead miners running the halls at night!  

Originally, the rooms were 'only rooms', with the bathrooms at the end of the hall.  The only complaint I have is the bathroom.  It is functional, small, and not a good remodel job.  Retaining the historical charm, room number 38 remains painted on the bath side of the door - this was the original entrance into the room-too cool!   

If you want your Comfort Inn, stay at the Riverside Inn.  If you want the historical experience, this is your place!!   And be sure to have some (famous and tv featured) tamales and burrito's at the bowling alley diner (1 mile away)!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwiggs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Very unusual place - would've verged on acceptable if hotel neon light wasn't shining in my room with no way to close the "curtains" and if I could turn around in the shower.

But, neither was the case.

Food wasn't terrible, though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHiker_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fairplay hotels

Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Enjoyed our stay for the most part, would think we would get the trash taken out and maybe clean towels, or the bed made, for the 2nd night stay without having to ask. Also coffee somewhere in the building on Monday morning would be nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoshiNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We have been going to this hotel since it reopened a couple years ago. Each room has its own character. The beds are very comfortable. We love everything about the place, including the staff and the owner. The food on-site is top-notch as well. We will be back in July!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntington beach,ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Very clean, old fashioned hotel! Loved the staff, the homey bar with a welcoming bartender, the delicious restaurant( awesome salmon!) and the great price. Thanks Constance for a lovely stay! Randy, Ellen and Bo Fryer-Huntington Beach Ca.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We showed up at the hotel at 9pm and they had given our room away even though they had our credit card and new we were arriving late. The front desk could have cared less.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank justinmhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairplay
0.7 mi away
A Riverside Inn Hotel
A Riverside Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairplay
135 reviews
15.6 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
278 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#16 of 23 in Breckenridge
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
16.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Leadville
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Western Inn Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairplay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairplay Hotel

Property: The Fairplay Hotel
Address: 500 Main Street, Fairplay, CO 80440 (Formerly Fairplay-Valiton Hotel)
Location: United States > Colorado > Fairplay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fairplay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Fairplay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Fairplay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing