We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, good restaurant and bar, dissapointed with no room attention for 2nd night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairplay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fairplay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Fairplay B&B and Inns
Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, good restaurant and bar, dissapointed with no room attention for 2nd night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Enjoyed our stay for the most part, would think we would get the trash taken out and maybe clean towels, or the bed made, for the 2nd night stay without having to ask. Also coffee somewhere in the building on Monday morning would be nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoshiNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    24
    12
    8
    13
See reviews for
18
29
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We have been going to this hotel since it reopened a couple years ago. Each room has its own character. The beds are very comfortable. We love everything about the place, including the staff and the owner. The food on-site is top-notch as well. We will be back in July!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntington beach,ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

Very clean, old fashioned hotel! Loved the staff, the homey bar with a welcoming bartender, the delicious restaurant( awesome salmon!) and the great price. Thanks Constance for a lovely stay! Randy, Ellen and Bo Fryer-Huntington Beach Ca.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We showed up at the hotel at 9pm and they had given our room away even though they had our credit card and new we were arriving late. The front desk could have cared less.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank justinmhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Tired, altitude-lagged and quite far from my actual destination, I knew I needed to stop for the night and then go on in the morning. The Fairplay-Valotin looked perfect to me as I drove by, and I was right. The owner, Constance, was welcoming and kind, and the young male staff --- her son, plus a small clutch of others --- were polite, friendly, helpful. If only every little town had such a place! Historic but comfy, not fancy but plain in a good way, it's more European than American, really, in feel --- except it's so clearly a Western survival. Don't miss the charming old-style bar!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
220 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

If you like staying at a Marriott this is not your place. The owner will check you in and her son was working the bar. The place is old and the aminities are few but it has some character and it's supposed to be haunted. The weekend we stayed there was a large group of paranormals staying there. They had all these cameras and detectors set up throughout the hotel. There's a restaurant which we only ate breakfast at which was pretty good. It's right in town so everthing is walkable. The rooms are old, the bathrooms small and the beds are also old. We like these strange little places, so we enjoyed our stay. Fairplay is the home to the fictional town of Southpark.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

I would stay here again if the owner wasn't the rudest woman I ever encountered. Seriously, I don't think I've EVER even sent food back. I never complain, but this woman was unbelievable for someone in the hospitality business. I wouldn't give her another dime toward her profession, because she simply doesn't deserve it! I won't go into details, but assure you, if you encounter her, her shinning personality will come through.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trstephe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constance54, Owner at The Fairplay Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
I treat all of my guests fairly and politely, but will not have the guest decide the hotel policies.ie: when she will pay the bill. Upon arrival, she told my son she would pay cash upon check out. When I found out of this arrangement, I told her we needed to run her CC or get the cash up front. This angered her that I knocked on the door during her party and she became very indignant. I was very polite, but firm.
I was very accommodating to this family, but this woman was confrontational and arrived with a bad attitude. Even with that, I was polite and even tempered. She refused maid service for the 2 days, but I offered clean towels, toilet paper . She came out of the room and held a wet, dirty towel in my face, and I asked her to place it in the laundry basket that was 2 feet away from her. She became very indignant and threw the towel. She later called me on the phone and said I was rude for not touching the dirty towel. I told her I was cooking in the kitchen and was extremely busy at that moment.
We had a dance later that evening and they attended and were treated well by all, myself included. No matter what we did, she was in a foul mood.
Please remove this unfair review. We try to make everyone happy here!
Constance and staff
Fairplay Valiton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairplay
0.7 mi away
A Riverside Inn Hotel
A Riverside Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairplay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
15.6 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
16.4 mi away
Super 8 Leadville CO
Super 8 Leadville CO
#4 of 8 in Leadville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Western Inn Motel & RV Park
15.7 mi away
Columbine Inn & Suites
Columbine Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Leadville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Bivvi Hostel
The Bivvi Hostel
#1 of 70 in Breckenridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairplay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairplay Hotel

Property: The Fairplay Hotel
Address: 500 Main Street, Fairplay, CO 80440 (Formerly Fairplay-Valiton Hotel)
Location: United States > Colorado > Fairplay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fairplay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Fairplay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Fairplay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing