We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skin deep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Riverside Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fairplay
Monument, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Skin deep”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I thought the hotel/motel was clean with nice furnishings and good ambiance [for a motel]. Now the bad: I found the bed to be ubber firm, the walls are so thin I could hear conversations, the TV, while being a flat panel had an off brand dumb remote with a washed out picture and the wrong aspect ratio that I couldn't change. The cable selection was OK but limited. The price on the web was $80 per room but they charged me $20 more; which I called them about and received a charge back. So check your bill. I would rather stay at the historic hotel down the street that I've stayed in before but physical limitations prohibit. My room had access features like grab bars but no shower stool. The breakfast was heavily carbohydrate based with pastries, cereals, bagels and muffins. The fruit was bananas and reconstituted juices. The coffee was just OK. Considering the limitations of places in the area I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Confirm the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travler33560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    35
    26
    8
    22
See reviews for
43
34
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

For Fairplay to be an older historic town, this hotel had very nice and new finishes.
The bathrooms are clean, Flat Screen TV and most of all peaceful. I was traveling through town on business and stopped overnight in Fairplay because of the weather. What a pleasant surprise to have a warm and comfy bed! The staff was very polite and accommodating. They made it easy to get work done at the breakfast table the next morning! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Clean enough. Continental breakfast was extremely lame. Why waste my time? I don't know what other choices there are for a nights stay, but this place was good enough for 4 extremely tired motorcyclists. No good food available. Every restaurant was closed at 8:00 save for the bar next door. We managed to get food from them.

Shower had hot water. Television worked. Quiet. Not much else to say.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The pool was COLD, hot tub nasty, fitness center had broken equipment, business center had chairs that were so tall, my legs wouldn't fit under the counter. Continental Breakfast was cheap, cheap, cheap with rotten apples and disgusting sticky pastry display box. Night staff was apathic and had a cocktail at the desk. Room had broken lamp and mold in the carpet. Morning desk staff was busy doing laundry instead of helping guests. No HOUSEKEEPING?!

Room Tip: Stay at the B&B on Front Street. They have their act together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ROADog285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Nice, quiet and clean. Flatscreen TVs but only has a few Cable channels. "What NO History Channel"?? The breakfast is very lack luster and the beds aren't plush but sleepable.

Helpful?
Thank JohnDG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassadaga, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

my father,a friend and myself checked in one afternoon nov 2011. about 5 hrs later that evening my father age 82 needed to be taken to denver by ambulance for cadiac issues. Upon checking out i was informed that do to circumstances i would most likely be charged a portion of normal rate(the charge being for housekeeping). I thought that was awsome! Well i got my invoice via e mail with the full rate charged to my card. I left a minimum of four messeges for the manager Derek and told by the desk personell he got them. No return calls. Its not there fault my father fell ill however good business practice would require a phone call back,especially from a MANAGER!

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank 42jmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Great and Comfortable. Friendly Staff.

My wife and have stayed here a few times, close to the town and all of its historic areas.
Restaurants close by.

Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greggoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairplay
16.2 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
277 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
759 reviews
18.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Leadville
306 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Fairplay Hotel
The Fairplay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fairplay
82 reviews
16.3 mi away
Columbine Inn & Suites
Columbine Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Leadville
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Riverside Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Riverside Inn Hotel

Property: A Riverside Inn Hotel
Address: 249 Highway 285, Fairplay, CO 80440
Location: United States > Colorado > Fairplay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fairplay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Riverside Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Colorado Rocky Mountains. Only 20 miles from Breckenridge. Enjoy all the mountain activities, including skiing, hiking, biking, horseback riding, ATV Tours, and more. Groups of all sizes welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your A Riverside Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Riverside Hotel Fairplay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing