We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpen Way Chalet is a beautiful mountain inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpen Way Chalet Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 9 Evergreen B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 25, 2010

When my husband and I booked this trip, we were looking to escape Denver into the mountains. This mountain inn was not advertised as a bed and breakfast but they did include a light breakfast basket that was in our room upon check in. We loved the smoke free premises, hot tub and even used the firepit that night. The owners were friendly and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annekmtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Alpen Way Chalet Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 48 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2010

First, this site has the name wrong, but the address is correct so I'm talking about the same place. We stayed in the Jubilee suite and for the price per others in town, it was large and really more than we needed. The grounds were plenty and the banana muffins were awesome. Evergreen Lake is close and a great place for hiking as well.
The staff was courtious and made us feel at home without being in our face during our stay. Great place that we'd recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgillesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed in the Enchanted room and loved it. It was just what we were looking for...quiet and quaint and away from people. The staff was nice enough but we saw them only to check in. The room was lovely! We had our own patio and fire pit and it was romantic and quiet.
We didn't really like the town much because there wasn't much to do but the restaurants were good and we would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewilliams1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

They accused us of smoking pot and charged us a non refundable 200.00 fee w/out notification causing our bank account to go under during our vacation. Awful management. This was not a bed and breakfast, it was not easy to walk downtown as they had told us, not on the lake path as they had told us, and definitely not worth the cost of the room. Do Not Stay Here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CorriePainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2008

Quite a dissapointment for the price. This is not a bed and breakfast. The room we were in, the A room, had acetone in the closet, dirty silverware in the drawers, was noisy with the furnace right next to one of the beds, tv clickers that didn't work etc. A basket with bottled juice and a muffin is not a breakfast that is up to par with a real B&B. Perhaps the other rooms are nicer, but check first. Highly NOT recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank patcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

We stayed at the Alpen Way in Evergreen, Colo, because a friend was getting married close by. We were totally disappointed! Although we were upgraded to a more expensive room, which was clean and neat, there were really no other positive things to enjoy about this inn, which is billed as a "Bed and Breakfast". The breakfast consisted of a "breakfast basket" containing two small, flat muffins that were not good, a tiny can of apple juice, a tiny bottle of Minutemaid orange juice, a mushy peach and an under-ripe orange. The coffee tasted like bargain-jumbo-can variety. The "mini-kitchen" is set up in a closet, where you literally work your way around a clothes rod, to pour water into the coffemaker! The breakfast set-up could be so much better, with specialty coffee (Evergreen Coffee Roasting Co.perhaps?) more appealing pastries that are worth the calories, jam or cream cheese, and some good seasonal fruit. For the extra money we spent on a real breakfast, we could have rented a better hotel. The room is dark, with blinds opening onto public areas, with the exception of the blinds across from the bed, which open onto a dark corridor filled with old junk!! That was ridiculous. There was a large hole in the wall under the bathroom light- yuk! A jumbo size can of Lysol, and tiny sample containers of body wash that were hard to open, completed the bathroom ambience. The grounds are unremarkable, when the addition of some planted flowers or shrubs could make things so much more appealing. Overall, the feeling we got was cheap and un-cared for. We were especially disappointed when we visited friends at their inn the next day. They stayed at the Highland Haven B & B, just down the road. For $10.00 less than the asking price of our room (which lists for $160.00) our friends had enjoyed a totally charming room, that included full gourmet hot breakfast served in a beautiful, charming indoor/ outdoor dining room. We were sad that we hadn't stayed there!! The bottom line is, if there were no other choices, you would get a clean room at The Alpen Way, but that's about all. I think their prices are way too high for what you get - especially after seeing the competition 2 miles away. Note to the nice-enough manager : clean up the grounds, throw away the junk, patch the holes, provide an upgraded, real breakfast, plant some flowers, and then, perhaps the prices you charge will be justified, and you'll get more business.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drbev2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We spent a very comfortable couple of nights in the Alpen Way Chalet and found the innkeepers to be very friendly. It's so close to downtown we walked to the shops and hiked around Evergreen Lake. They helped us out finding additional hiking trails and dining options as well. We've found a great getaway to go back to time and time again that is not all the way up to Summit County!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KansasCityGgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evergreen
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
10.4 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
1,105 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highland Haven Creekside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Colorado Bear Creek Cabins
Colorado Bear Creek Cabins
#1 of 3 in Evergreen
38 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cabins at Country Road
4.5 mi away
Brook Forest Inn and Spa
Brook Forest Inn and Spa
#8 of 9 in Evergreen
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpen Way Chalet Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen Way Chalet Mountain Lodge

Address: 4980 County Highway 73, Evergreen, CO 80439 (Formerly Alpen Way Chalet Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Evergreen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Evergreen
Price Range: $171 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a nature lover's retreat in the lush hillsides of beautiful Evergreen, Colorado. Here, you can enjoy the fresh Rocky Mountain air, the soft murmur of Little Cub Creek, and our frequent special guests, the Elk and Deer that graze on our property. We're just a 10 minute walk from downtown Evergreen, Evergreen Lake, and the famous "Little Bear". Originally built on the site of the historic Van Cleve family estate in the 1920's, each of our suites feature a private entrance, private en suite bath, and a private deck or patio. Most even offer a fireplace and a full kitchen or kitchenette. We are surrounded by trails for hiking or snowshoeing and are located just off the famous "Lariat Loop". We're less than an hour from the Denver International airport, 20 minutes from Golden, Colorado, and a little over a half hour away from LoDo (Lower Downtown) in Denver. The lodge has 6 suites and 1 cabin, each with their own unique personality. Take a look at their offerings below, or on our website, and pick the one that's just right for you. Drop by and stay awhile. You may arrive as strangers, but you'll leave as friends.… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alpen Way Chalet Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing