We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the best, and the fish tacos are a great addition” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Tepehuan

El Tepehuan
Ranked #36 of 186 Restaurants in Englewood
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Still the best, and the fish tacos are a great addition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

I always come to El Tepehuan when I return for a visit home with family. Absolutely the best Tex Mex in Denver at VERY reasonable prices. While Bob's Burrito was always my favorite, the recent addition of fish tacos has complicated my ordering. The tacos use fresh fish perfectly cooked with great spices.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerofworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If you like food with a kick, this is your place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I ate lunch here. He had a pork type burrito that was excellent, although a little hot.
I had tamales that were really, really hot, so hot I had a hard time eating them.
The food quality was pretty good otherwise.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Primula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food - comfy surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

I am not a big fan of typical Mexican food with brown goop and cheese. Had some Awesome shrimp tacos and my wife had carne aside

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JaimeInDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, Colorado
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
“Among the Best in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

El Tepehuan is one of those places everyone goes to once and then keeps on going to because the food is just so darn good. I stopped in over the weekend because I was driving in the area and had an hour to kill.

The place is located on South Broadway and has a glass front that faces the street and a back entrance from a large parking lot. The style is lunch counter with an open seating area that handles lunch and dinner crowds easily. Most people are there to eat and not to socialize, so the customer turnover is fast and while lines do form, they go fast.

Of course, I ordered the chili relleno plate and a cold beer. Chips and salsa are extra, but worth it. Order a few extra homemade flour tortillas to mop up the green sauce. It was fantastic.

Old timers around the Denver area may remember a Mexican joint down off South Santa Fe Drive in Littleton called Tortilla Flat (okay, it was in the 60's) that had a line out the door and halfway down the block every Friday and Saturday night. I had the pleasure of eating there as a kid and find that El Tepehuan is the closest approximation to that style and quality of food that I know of in the area. It remains a hidden gem and in my view it outranks in quality many of the more trendy and popular joints that populate South Broadway to the north.

I'm glad I stopped back in after so long and won't wait so long until the next time.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
18 Thank TheBrainiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Mexican food south of Denver”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

Chips and salsa are not free nor are they supplied to you. So make sure you ask for them when you order drinks. Also, the staff are not always attentive in refilling drinks so make sure your needs are verbalized... Other than that, I love this restaurant and the quality of food. The kitchen is in the dining are so you can see the cooks preparing your meal. My favorites are the huevos rancheros, the taco combinations, and the chili rellenos. The salsa is good and pretty spicy (although not as good and spicy as Morrison Inn). This place is busy for lunch and dinner regularly but the wait is not usually more than 15 minutes. Parking can be had along Broadway (in front of the establishment) and there is ample parking behind the restaurant (there is also a backdoor entry and exit). This is some of my favorite Mexican food south of Denver and at a good price.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Outlawz303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tepehuan also viewed

 

Been to El Tepehuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing