We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most disappointing Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Denver Tech Center
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Englewood
GreenLeadersBronze level
American abroad
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Most disappointing Marriott”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Until now, choosing a Marriott hotel has always meant a consistent standard of high quality. This one is the exception. We have stayed at many Marriotts both in the U.S. and overseas and this is by far the least impressive of them all. The hotel offers none of the extras that show the management cares about guests and is proud to offer a high standard of hospitality. The breakfast is the most minimal we have every encountered, the carpet in the room is stained and dirty, there are no little touches like cookies in the evening. The Wi-Fi is incredibly unreliable. The hotel staff suggested we "plug in" to get better connectivity, yet advertises "fast, reliable wireless internet." Not. This a long stay hotel, yet guests must re-register for Wi-Fi every day and the computer in the lobby is "very old and needs to be restarted after every user" according to the desk clerk. If they know things are that bad, why not do something about it? Wishing we had picked another hotel and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zawojska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    72
    45
    24
    17
See reviews for
75
37
21
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Made a reservation to stay at the hotel. After driving 4 long hours to get there I find out they overbooked the hotel and I'm without a room. It's 9:30 in the evening and they want to send me 40 miles up the road to another property. Are you kidding? According to the manager this is common as the hotel wants to maximize profits. Wow, what about customer service...obviously they don't care. According to the manager this is the policy for all Marriot properties. Good to know as I'm going to steer clear in the future. Too many other hotel chains out there that want to treat me like a person, not just make a profit off me. Hands down the worst hotel experience of my life!!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel chain. Marriot is only worried about profits, not you're stay or your well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank todd f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks. I can count on one hand how many times we were able to get the wi-fi to work. The rooms smell weird and the toilet is made for an elementary school not a space for grown adults, the shower curtain attacks you while your using the loo!

They have a dishwasher in the room and I asked 5 times (no joke) for the packet of detergent, but I was always told "we're out".

Deborah the breakfast attendant was the best part of the stay. She was so kind and helpful. The staff was friendly enough.

Parking is terrible, unless you're in by 7/8pm its a 50/50 chance you will get a spot.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have been remodeled. If you need to stay there ask for third floor. Or...because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
261 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I've been to Denver many times over the years, with each visit brings new memories. My Dad lost contact with an old friend and roommate from college when his friend graduated in 1963. My Dad was able to find him again (on Facebook) and their friendship took off again. We are in L.A. mu Dad's friend lives in Denver near this particular hotel. We checked in early on Saturday June 1st - originally reserved for a two bedroom suite, however the rooms were occupied by long term guests. The FD clerk was gracious enough to give us TWO connecting rooms, with A King Bed and sofabed in each (only being charged for one room) We accepted it - Rooms 106 and 108 were newly updated and we had no problems. My Dad and Brother pretty much had a room to themselves for most of the three day stay (Checked out Tuesday June 3rd) I only stayed one night and flew back to Los Angeles on Sunday, my only regret was not getting more vacation time. His friend and wife met us and we had a great dinner at a nearby restaurant 'Maggianos Italian' and visited their house in Castle Pines the next day before my leaving town. Loved the staff attending to our needs and made us feel welcome. Five Claws Up!!! Thank You. Joe G Bear

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goriajk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I travel a lot for my company and there have been some assignments that require me to stay for more than a week. This was one of those assignments. First of all, the property is beautiful, everyone is so friendly, and I feet right at home. Any time I want my room cleaned more than every four days, I just call the front desk and it's done. I love the special attention they give me. I couldn't ask for better hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I am staying here right now and am regretting every single day of it. We are here for an extended period of time and so far have not had a full cleaning. I asked for the bathroom to be cleaned and got fresh towels instead. So, unable to take it any longer, I bought cleaning supplies and am doing it myself. At least that way, I know the surfaces of this room have seen a disinfectant. If wi-fi is important to you, then you'll hate this place. It is sporadic at best and in the evening when everyone is in their room, you can forget about it. Currently we are unable to park in half of the parking lot because they are re-paving it. The lot is FULL every night, so when those poor folks come back tonight, they will be parking a 1/4 mile away on a side street. There probably isn't an optimal time to do a project like that, I just wish it wasn't while I was here. I will say the staff are very friendly but powerless to help what are obviously upper management decisions made in haste. They are also doing minor remodeling around the property and some of the hallways are littered with debris. Perhaps working on an area of the hotel where guests are not staying would be a better way to tackle that project. Oh well what do I know - I am just a paying guest. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Residence Inn. They know how to treat long term guests much better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtngirl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I attended some business meetings in the Denver area and reserved a room at this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel overbooked and I was bumped to another hotel. Normally this wouldn't have been too much of an issue. However, the hotel that they moved me to was miles away from the original hotel and in the opposite direction of the location of my meeting - even though there are tons of hotels in the DTC area. Why in the world would they send a bumped guest to a hotel so far away? Also, I was travelling with colleagues and we had all reserved rooms in the same hotel so that we could have meet at breakfast to prepare for our regular meetings, carpool, etc. I was only one of our group moved to a different hotel, which was a real hassle. In the end though, it turned out to be a blessing in disguise since my colleagues had plenty of trouble with things not working at the Towneplace Suites.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank november_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul L, Front Office Manager at TownePlace Suites Denver Tech Center, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay.

Unfortunately, due to a few unexpected stayovers, we were indeed overbooked. Our standard procedure in this event is to arrange for alternate accommodations at a nearby hotel. On this particular occasion we were unable to arrange for these alternate accommodations to be nearer to our property.

Please feel free to contact myself directly via the below details if you are travelling to the Denver Tech Center again so that I may personally take care of you and your next stay.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip to Denver was most enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Englewood
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Denver Tech Center
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Denver Near the Tech Center
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Denver Tech Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt House Denver Tech Center
5.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Denver Southeast
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Denver-South/Park Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Denver Tech Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Denver Tech Center

Property: TownePlace Suites Denver Tech Center
Address: 7877 S Chester St, Englewood, CO 80112-3496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Englewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Englewood
#9 Family Hotel in Englewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Denver Tech Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a first choice among Denver Tech Center hotels, the Marriott TownePlace Suites Denver Tech Center provides exceptional short and extended stay suites in Denver south. Located in the Mile High city’s 2nd largest business hub, our Denver suite hotel is just 10 minutes from downtown and close to top corporations, businesses, and Denver attractions. With such a convenient location & apartment-style accommodations, the TownePlace Suites Denver Tech Center hotel is ideal for Denver corporate housing, long stays and business travel. Each of our extended stay hotel suites features a fully-equipped kitchen, flat screen TV, spacious living area, and well-lit work desk. High-speed wireless Internet is available throughout our hotel and we offer a free daily breakfast buffet. Take advantage of our full-service business center, hotel fitness center, and outdoor pool. Whether you’re here for business or for a relaxing Colorado vacation, enjoy an outstanding stay at the TownePlace Suites Denver Tech Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your TownePlace Suites Denver Tech Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Denver Tech Hotel Englewood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing