We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condo type, good breakfast, Price is right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Commons Hotel & Suites - Denver Tech Center
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. I stay here every year for a business trip to Denver. Most rooms are upgraded and nice. Refrigerator and microwave in most along with flat screen TVs. The pillows are rock hard. But, for the price, I think next time I'll take a trip to Target and buy a better pillow and still save money over any other place close.

It's a quiet area and feels very safe. The hot breakfast is very good, and changes each morning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 77 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

Comfortable room and bed. Good breakfast included. Good value pricing. Good location near Denver Tech Center.

Room Tip: Buildings are 3-story and no elevator, so you need to ask for a 1st floor if you don't want to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger-N-Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel has excellent customer service and LOVE the rooms service they provide at this hotel. I would stay with my family again here. Would recommend to anyone that wants to stay in a comfortable hotel!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We had a late check in the night we stayed with no issues. It was a little tricky finding the building we were in at night. Bed was comfortable, room basic. Quiet and great location. Great breakfast! Staff was helpful during the stay. After we checked out my son realized he had left his stuffed animal. I have called multiple times trying to find it with no results, only an answer of a call back after checking with housekeeping. That would be my only complaint.

Room Tip: There can be a lot of stairs so if that is an issue make sure to request a bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andersonfam85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I REALLY want to be able to recommend Boston Commons, and I can – with reservation. My wife and I have been traveling to Denver several times a year since our daughter moved there 6 years ago. We’ve stayed in Boston Commons at least 6 times – almost always in Building 2, third floor. So our experience is limited to that area and, of course, the ‘common’ areas. So here’s the good, bad and the ugly;

GOOD: Price. If you get the ‘corporate rate’, you can get a 1 BR apartment (not a suite, but an apartment, with full size kitchen and living area) for $20-$30 less per night than any extended stay or suite hotel we’ve seen in the Denver area. This is what attracted us and kept us coming back. One time we stayed in a “standard” room. This is essentially the second bedroom of the apartment with a bath. So, if you’ve got several people, you can rent a 2 BR apartment and share the kitchen and living room.
Location: The Englewood area is near the Denver Tech Center, shopping, restaurants, etc, with easy access to I25 and C470 West.
Good bed. Just the right firmness for us, and relatively little movement transfer. Queen size only.
Washer and Dryer in the apartment!! No extra charge for use.
Nice Kitchen: full size stove/oven and fridge. Decently outfitted with cooking and eating utensils.
Other stuff: Gas fireplace adds a really nice touch on a cold night. These apartments were built in the late 70s or early 80s and the bath and kitchen look like it. No updates to the cabinets or fixtures, but they worked fine. Reasonably well-cleaned (but see below) by the maid staff. The workout center consists of one bike, one treadmill, one weight machine. Breakfast is OK – usual fare, with something hot each morning (sausage/eggs or bacon) and cut-up fruit. Nice dining area on the second floor.

BAD: No maid service on weekends. If you’re planning a weekend retreat here, don’t.
No breakfast on Sundays. This is OK by us, since we feel Sunday is a day of rest and worship, but just info for you, the reader. Be prepared to fix your own.
The Commons are beginning to show their age, but while we were there, painters were painting and caulking the outside, so I’m sure that will help. Still, the carpets are stained in spots and chips and wear spots are evident in the Formica counter tops.
Noise. About twice a week, the trash collectors provide you a free wakeup call – at about 5:30 or 6 in the morning. Not bad if you’re working, but if this is a vacation, you’re likely gonna be as peeved as we were. The separation between a one-BR apt and the ‘standard’ room next door is just that – a door. So there’s considerable noise transfer from your neighbors. If they’re particularly amorous (as ours were one visit), the (ahem) sounds of love and the headboard banging against the wall will likely keep you awake.
Since we always stayed on the highest floor, I can't comment on floor-conducted noise.
This complex was evidently built before ADA compliance was required – there are no elevators, but you can definitely get your exercise walking up the steps. (A little difficult the first few days as you get used to the elevation, if you’re a flatlander.)

UGLY: The “business center”. The ONLY computer is (no kidding) at least 10 years old. Remember floppy disks? This computer has a floppy drive. USB port is broken. It is PAINFULLY slow. Printer was out of toner when we were there and the desk clerk told us “just shake it, maybe you can get a page or 2 out of it”. Thanks for the help! :-{ No wireless connection to the printer, so if you want a print something from your room, forget it. The wireless internet provided for the rooms/apartments is decent – but intermittent.
Odor: Previous and current patrons are from the India/Pakistan area, and, with all due respect to our eastern Asian friends, they love spicy, aromatic food with lots of curry. It is almost impossible to get that odor out of the drapes and furnishings, and while it certainly wasn’t overpowering, I awoke to a sinus issue every morning.
Furnace ducts need to be cleaned. See photos. The cold air intake was covered with dust. A dusty odor was present when we walked into the apartment.


So the bottom line is that Boston Commons (aka The Commons) provides a very good value if you’re looking for enough space and can deal with the inconveniences listed above. I hope this review was helpful in your selection of a place to stay near DTC.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the stairs, choose a 3rd floor unit. We were once told by the desk clerk that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank westwardh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Great location near a major highway, convenient to most tourist destinations in the Denver area, located in a residential area so it felt very safe, also close to restaurants/shops, only drawback was there was no elevator and we had a 3rd floor room, it was nice not to have to enter through a hotel lobby you could just go straight to your room (apartment style), very convenient to have a mini-fridge and microwave in room also

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinytot051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Love this place! We ended up with a massive 2 bedroom 2 bath "apartment" for about $85/night. Full kitchen (microwave, stove, full sized fridge, dishwasher) & washer/dryer. Front desk staff is very friendly & helpful. Free breakfast, free happy hour in the evenings, very close to i25. Fitness center isn't really adequate but there are great sidewalks for running right outside.

Not terribly close to downtown, but getting around Denver wasn't difficult. Would rather drive a bit to get to things and have this huge room in a nice, safe, easy to get to location.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABQJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Englewood hotels
2.3 mi away
Hilton Denver Inverness
Hilton Denver Inverness
#2 of 21 in Englewood
1,345 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Denver South Park Meadows Area
2.6 mi away
Ramada Englewood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt House Denver Tech Center
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Denver Tech Center
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Denver Tech Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commons Hotel & Suites - Denver Tech Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commons Hotel & Suites - Denver Tech Center

Address: 6380 S Boston St, Englewood, CO 80111-5318 (Formerly Boston Commons Corporate Housing)
Location: United States > Colorado > Englewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Englewood
Price Range: $81 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Commons Hotel & Suites - Denver Tech Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE COMMONS HOTEL & SUITES – DENVER TECH CENTER is a unique short term and extended stay hotel. Located in the heart of the Denver Tech Center and Greenwood Village Colorado. We Offer a range of room types and services to customize your stay with us. For extended stays, we offer a One-Bedroom and Two-Bedroom Suites with fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces, balconies, in-room stackable washer and dryers, and a separate bedroom for the main living space. Our Standard King Guestrooms recently renovated in 2013, are equipped with a mini refrigerators and microwaves. All of our rooms onsite offer complimentary daily hot breakfast, WIFI, and free local and long distance phone calls, business center, and local transportation. We are a wonderful place for nightly stays, corporate and business travel, relocations, holidays, weekend getaways, sports venues, and reunions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Commons Hotel & Suites - Denver Tech Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Commons Corporate Housing Hotel Englewood
Boston Commons Corporate Housing Englewood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing