We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting building, lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampshire Boshotel - Overberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Overberg
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting building, lovely location”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

After a long and difficult journey, the location of the hotel was relaxing, being on the edge of a small village in woodland. The building is very interesting, being built to be eco friendly and incorporatng a living roof amongst other features. Car parking is plentiful and about 50 metres from the hotel although there is a small area to park adjacent to the entrance ramp for dropping off/ picking up luggage. Reception was friendly and efficient. Our room was clean and tidy with windows and french balcony doors on two sides. It was a little too minimalist for our taste, not even having a rug on the floor. The bed was comfortable. One downside of the rooom was that the external woodern shutters would not lock closed. Luckily, the bedroom curtains were thick and provided a good level of blackout. We had a wetroom / disabled bathroom with rails alongside the toilet and a fold down seat in the shower area. A more powerful shower would have been welcome but as the water spread from the shower was quite extensive, a powerful shower might not be a good idea.
Breakfast was excellent - one of the best we had in our tour of Holland and Germany. The buffet was comprehensive and attractively laid out and there was an obvious use of locally sourced products.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TF1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    114
    44
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
159
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Amongst farmland and woods the setting is very relaxing. The continues this relaxing feel inside with modern simple furnishing. I had heard that some of the rooms are a bit quirky with a bath tub in the middle of the room. My room was not so quirky but still nice and spacious with a large wet room and a large bedroom over looking the back lawn and giant chess board. As well as playing chess you can hire a bicycle to explore the local woods.
There is free wifi in the hotel but signal is very poor. The restaurant next to the hotel has lovely food and I can highly recommend the steak for mains and the choc pud with lime sorbet for dessert. YUM!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkspurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Overberg/Veenedaal, not the most exciting of places, the Boshotel is set in woodland and has an interesting exterior. I stay here for business and the rooms are pretty good, an unusual layout with the bath tub/bedroom! The hotel is always quiet so if you want to get away from it all then this is a good place to start. The restaurant over the road serves very good food (good job as there isn't any other options.

Overall, its a nice place to stay, in need of a gym/pool to up its credentials. Free wifi, easy access is a bonus, staff are always very friendly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same in my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorden1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The design of the hotels is really cool. But upon staying there, it was way overpriced for the privledge of staying in the middle of nowhere in just a average hotel. The thing that really stood out was the room. The small room was really beat-up, scuffs all over the place, dirty floor, which just made the room feel dirty. If you are going to have small rooms with white walls, best to use touch-up paint frequently.

A pleasant surprise was the restaurant next door which is not part of the Hotel itself, which was another surprise, because we got the Half-Board package. It as great food!

Breakfast was good, normal for Germany.

Staff: OK.

Would not stay here again as it is way overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We received a present package for a weekend hotel and cycling. Warmly welcomed by the reception, we jumped on the great rent bikes, for a fantastic ride in the surrounding of the hotel. In the evening we had a great 3 course dinner in the adjoining restaurant “In De Holle Boom”. The restaurant food is fantastic, but the place needs a little bit refurbishment. The rooms are spacious and clean, with a large bathtub in the room. There is also a separate shower and a separate toilet. The hotel is eco friendly with things like waste management and was built in 2009 with the highest eco standards. Breakfast was good with a great choice.

Overall we had a great stay and will go back soon again to recover from a busy week.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingtioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overberg
3.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Veenendaal
2.6 mi away
Buitenlust
Buitenlust
#1 of 1 in Amerongen
51 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hilton Royal Parc Soestduinen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
De Lunterse Boer Hotel Restaurant
10.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Oud London
6.4 mi away
Hotel Landgoed Zonheuvel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Boshotel - Overberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Boshotel - Overberg

Property: Hampshire Boshotel - Overberg
Address: Dwarsweg 63 b, 3959 AE Overberg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Overberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Overberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Boshotel - Overberg 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampshire Boshotel - Overberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing