We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do with some hammocks”

Pentlands Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pentlands Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #1 of 1 Mount Eden B&B and Inns
Panama City, Panama
1 review
“Could do with some hammocks”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed for 3 weeks and enjoyed the surroundings. The staff were very helpful, friendly and kept the place spotless. Despite the place being fully booked for most of my stay, It never felt overcrowded. I have deducted a point off of my rating to reflect the absence of hammocks from the garden. As I spent most of my time in the garden, a hammock or hanging chair would have been idyllic. It is in a quiet neighbourhood and guests are encouraged to vacate the garden after 10 pm. It is not a party hostel but you can still have a good time here. There are bars, restaurants and a supermarket within a 5 minute stroll and downtown is a short bus ride away..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBBM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
2
13
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I lived at Pentlands two months while looking for a job. Vinnie and the rest of the staff are friendly. As with most long term hostels, the group of people there really make the atmosphere. Despite being quite big and usually packed, it has a nice friendly feel to it. It stays exceptionally clean and has a great kitchen.

I liked the location most. There is plenty of parking and the neighborhood is safe. It is a quick run to Mt. Eden or a bus ride downtown. If you are looking for a chilled out place without the bustle of downtown, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was a chilled out hostel. It was packed, but everything was pretty tidy, surprisingly. The first night, there were a few drunk residents because it was the weekend and normally, you're going to get this. Other than that, everyone was very helpful and open, from the backpackers to the staff like Vinnie. Cool dude.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed at Pentlands for 2 night with my daughter after a long journey from Seoul.
We have stayed here a few times before but our recent stay will be our last.
Unlike our last stays we were not greeted by a friendly and welcoming receptionist.
My daughter became ill the next day and needed to be taken to the urgent doctors, asked for directions from the receptionist, a German woman, who had NOT A SINGLE IDEA where the nearest public hospital would be!!
Her incompetence was unbelievable! Making poor excuses like 'I'm not a local' and telling us she, and other cleaners had half the hostel to clean, hello?? I have a sick person that needs the hospital???
I've stayed in other backpackers run by foreigners before and they were excellent. What is the point of hiring non-locals to work in a backpackers who have ZERO knowledge of the city?
All the receptionist wanted to do was drink and smoke with the other guests/cleaners outside, so she would close the reception area earlier than she was meant to.
There is only meant to be one receptionist, but she also let one of the cleaners use the reception computer for personal use and had turns serving other guests.

Completely unprofessional, definitely not a family orientated hostel anymore. Leave this hostel for the party people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imelda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friends-Pentlands, Manager at Pentlands Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We are sorry to read that such a thing happend. She was a trainee manager and after looking into her performance we decided this was not the position for her. She does not work for this hostel any more. We are glad to say that we now have very friendly, helpful managers at Pentlands Backpackers Hostel. Happy travelling, cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Eden hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hostel was the first we stayed in when we arrived in New Zealand, we arrived late but the staff left the key for us at reception. When we got in our room, they'd left a light on and it looked so cosy and inviting, just perfect! I had corresponded with them via email as a parcel from home was arriving for us and when we opened the room door the parcel was on our bed with a map of the area and a lovely note from Kate.
We ended up staying longer then expected and we worked the night shift cleaning the hostel for a month. We made lots of friends and everyone was happy and chilled out! The place was so clean and tidy,like being at home, we didn't want to leave!
We left to find work but came back after 3 and a half months to discover one of the nicest managers ever, Kate, had left. Most of the lovely people we'd met had left not long after we'd left and it wasn't that clean, tidy and welcoming anymore- which was disappointing!
We ended up leaving quite soon after we'd arrived.

Overall, it's a great little hostel, great location. Prices seemed to vary whilst we were there. Bus stop not far away, walking distance to Ponsonby, New Market and Parnell.

The first time we stayed was far better than the second time we stayed!

Room Tip: Don't stay down stairs in the dungeon, it's dark and too noisy - get a double, single or sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjmarshall87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunspeet, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The staff is helpful and friendly. The hostel is housed in a nice home/building in a save quiet neighbourhood. A small shopping centre with supermarket is just a few minute walk away, just as teh busstop to the centre. I walked to the centre several times, it's about 30 minutes. The dorms are not very big, but they're ok and I was lucky to have a single bed instead of a bunk. The common rooms are very spacious and nice. I didn't use the kitchen so I can't really say anything about it. The bathrooms were fine, but could be a bit cleaner. And I don't like the fact that they're like 'normal' bathrooms, so shower and toilet in one. I prefer seperate shower and toilet units. Now sometimes you had to wait for the toilet, because someone was having a shower..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciadenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Pentsland Hostel is located in a fantastic part of Auckland, it is walking distance to Mt Eden domain and has quick access to the centre of town and the airport.

The hostel has plenty of free parking if you have a car (useful for getting out & about around Auckland). The garden is an excellent place to hang out and meet people while the kitchen is well equipped and the TV room is a nice place to relax. There is also a very useful laundry.

The only annoyance is the lack of free WIFI but the daily cost is not too onerous and seems pretty standard for most hostels in NZ.

The reception staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area, able to provide details on nearby shops, restaurants and the best bus routes to get around town.

Overall I would recommend Pentlands Hostel for anyone looking for a relaxed place to stay outside the centre of town but still close enough to easily visit all the main sights in Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Eden
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bamber House Hostel
Bamber House Hostel
#2 of 114 in Auckland
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 58 in Auckland
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ASURE AT Eden Park
ASURE AT Eden Park
#1 of 2 in Mount Eden
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel
0.4 mi away
Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentlands Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentlands Backpackers Hostel

Property: Pentlands Backpackers Hostel
Address: 22 Pentland Ave., Mount Eden 1003, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mount Eden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Eden
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned and operated hostel offering you clean, comfortable, affordable accommodation with a home away from home feel.This colonial homestead is set in spacious park-like grounds giving you a sense of peace within the hustle and bustle of the central city. Enjoy our hostel with it's friendly, relaxed atmosphere and close proximity to the bars, cafes and shops of vibrant Mt Eden Village. Pentlands Backpackers has recently enjoyed a fresh new look with extensive renovations completed in August 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pentlands Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing