We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise for a country club!”
Review of Balata - CLOSED

Balata
Price range: $18 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Enjoy some of the finest foods along with some of the best views in the Vail Valley. The staff at Balata take Fine American Cuisine to another level. Whether you are looking for a casual dinner or a formal affair, Balata has something for everyone. Come experience what the Sonnenalp Golf Club members have known for years-- for atmosphere, great food and exceptional service, Balata is the place to visit.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice surprise for a country club!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We went to dinner here based on trip advisor reviews. We agree only with the positive reviews. Our food was very good, I had the fish tacos, husband had the veal, one daughter had the flank steak, and the other French onion soup and their signature salad. No complaints from anyone. Service was good with just the right amount of attention. The patio is the way to go-beautiful pots of flowers, spacious area so we weren't crowded together, heaters if necessary, not noisy, and of course, the amazing views. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DallasCouple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
202 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere - very good food”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

A country club that has a dining room open to the public. Terrific. A variety of nice dishes prepared very well. Favorite is the lamb. Comfortable seating and excellent service

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pamelavail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
529 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Reasonably good food - awesome views of Beaver Creek”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Went for a late lunch and had the dining room all to ourselves. Since several thunderstorms were rolling through we sat indoors next to a window and enjoyed the view. Our server was very attentive. The food was good and reasonably priced. We enjoyed an heirloom tomato salad and the mahi mahi tacos. The tacos were very soggy and thus had to be eaten with a fork which was difficult because even though the tortilla was pulling apart, it was nearly impossible to cut with a knife. Ended up eating just the center which left us missing the important blend of flavors. Not sure what could be done other than to drain the slaw topping better and serve some extra dressing on the side. Otherwise - a satisfactory lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jewelsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
254 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great food and fantastic views!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a terrific meal at Balata. We got a voucher from Travelzoo for a 4-course dinner for $29, and it was worth every penny. The highlight of the meal was the veal medallions with homemade noodles - awesome! Great presentation, tasty dishes, and a very pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krivokrasov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“awesome views”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I love, love to come here in the summer and just sit and relax and enjoy a glass of wine while soaking in the views. The service has always been pleasant and quick. The food is good not great. Don't come expecting a gourmet meal and u will be very happy with the experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan_DEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balata also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing