We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Condo Style Accomodations - Hotel Rooms Small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
457 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Condo Style Accomodations - Hotel Rooms Small”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here four nights - originally booking what was billed as a "hotel room" with a king bed. When we checked in, we found that we were actually at a condo type building with individual owners that are rented as hotel rooms - the hotel room, commonly called a lock off, was not quite a lock off. It was a small room with a bed, one chair, a small tv, a small dresser and a closet. The bathroom was bigger and a bit nicer.

My first thought was "oh, no! four nights!". We called and got an upgrade to a one bedroom unit, which included a kitchen, dining room, living room, deck, bedroom, and bathroom. It was much bigger.

The units are apparently furnished by the owners so each is different. The one we rented was fine. Clean but could have been cleaner. The linens were never changed but the bed was made each day. Waste baskets were emptied and towels were exchanged. But the sinks were never even wiped down in the bathroom - we left a good tip each day, hoping for good service, but that's what we got.

We never saw anyone in the halls or building - it was pretty quiet, and looked up to the ski slopes. The blinds in the room were wood and if you didn't lower them exacly right, the slats fell out. The handle on the window fell off when we closed it. There is no air conditioning. This place is about 45 minutes from the old town area in Durango.

We paid a good price for this - almost $500 for 4 nights with one night called "free". I think that there might be a better place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bensus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    37
    15
    12
    10
See reviews for
66
39
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We just stayed in the Kendal building this past weekend for a destination wedding of our friends. The resort staff was great...so friendly and helpful! And had we been skiing, the location couldn't be beat, although everything in the resort seemed to close by 8 so if you wanted a late dinner or a couple of drinks, the 30-minute drive to town was a bit much. Our room was clean and everything that we needed. However, it was so stuffy in there that by the end of the weekend, my boyfriend had a chest cold. Overall though, it was a great place for a destination wedding, a lot of fun (if you ski or board, but there were things to do if you don't) and very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melsie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Stayed three nights at Purgatory Village hotel in a "king hotel room". Description on line said it had a king bed and a sleeper sofa in room. It only had a king bed with no place to sit other than bed. I came by myself to meet others just to ski. The room was clean and looked like it had been remodeled. It was decorated nicely, but as mentioned it was small with no chair or sofa. The bathroom was large and nice. One drawback was no bathtub, just a shower. The shower was huge and very nice, but it's really nice to have a tub after skiing. Sheets on the bed were scratchy. The hotel is a little oddly laid out, and the check-in and front desk were in a different building entirely. The location was great for skiing, truly ski in ski out. If you rent from the "Experts Edge" which is located on second floor of the hotel (which is really ground level) they will keep your boots, ski's overnight for you. Only about 3 places to eat at the ski area. The deli for lunch wasn't bad, and you can get a decent meal at Purgy's after 5pm.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chevron7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvarado, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed in the Kendal building that is a little outdated (1980s) but each condo is slowly getting upgraded. This ski in ski out condo is in perfect location to the 6 pack lift, bunny slopes, restaurants and shops at Purgatory. If possible, book your lift tickets and ski rentals together for a nice package deal. I was told by a girl on the lift that Costco also has inexpensive lift tickets.

Be aware that if flying into town, the resort has transportation options for airport pick up/drop off. The driver will gladly stop at the grocery store to allow you to shop before heading up the mountain.

This is a great location to enjoy a winter break!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreaming*of*a*beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo for the weekend, the condo was beautifully decorated, spacious and clean. The view from our place was amazing. We used the outdoor hottub and both of the saunas, very relaxing after a day on the slopes. The service was great anything we needed they were there within five mins to take care of it. Purgys was great to to grab a drink and some grub. Can't wait to get back and stay again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qtwendy0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLAGSTAFF
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here on our way to SnowMass, Colorado for the Jazz Festival. This hotel was MORE then what we expected! The prices were very reasonable, almost seemed to good to be true how cheap the rooms were. Upon arrival we were greeted with a wonderful, friendly staff who showed us exactly how to get to our room (a bit confusing). Rooms were amazing, clean and very comfortable! The views were to die for!!! My husband really loved the privacy we had- for being a hotel, we had much privacy and no interuptions from doors slamming/foot stomping, etc. The only thing I will warn people of is the location- you are out of town...you will not be within walking distance to any restaurants and stores. But it's SO WORTH the price & location! We just loved it! Definetly be back again!

Room Tip: Balcony Suites are breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tam26215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We travelled to Southern Colorado in the "off season" (mid-Sept) and were able to get a more than reasonable rate at Durango Mountain Condos. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment in the Village Center, which is at the bottom of the ski lift. We stayed two nights for less than $250. While the apartment we stayed in was starting to show a little wear and tear, it was comfortable and cozy. The only thing we were disappointed with was that being we were there during their off season, there was no bar or restaurant services and many of the shops were closed during the week (we stayed on a Weds and Thurs night). I imagine that during the ski season, there is much activity and events to fill a day. After the drive from Ouray and Silverton, this was a great place to relax.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jstme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
25.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
431 reviews
27.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
25.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
25.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
987 reviews
23.3 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purgatory Village Condo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purgatory Village Condo Hotel

Property: Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
Address: 24 Sheol St, Purgatory Resort, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Purgatory Village Condo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Purgatory Village Condo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purgatory Colorado
Purgatory Village Condo Durango
Purgatory Village Condominium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing