We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mason, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well worth”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This Comfort Inn is on Rt 160, if coming from the east just before the heart of Durango, on the left via an access road. Clean, quiet with nice decor and good breakfast The maps tend to indicate Rt 550 as Camino del Rio I hate it that Routs are well marked but then the area indicates a street name but that is not the hotel's fault. I recommend, also, because there was a little snafu with the pool, the front desk immediately indicated as such and indicated arrangements were made at the community center pool. After checking out the room, finding it quite acceptable we decided to discuss our unhappiness The general manager was very attentive to our conversation and immediately resolved the issue to our satisfaction without any prompting on our part.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    268
    107
    35
    24
See reviews for
283
303
44
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orland Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Hotel was very nice, as was the staff. It is not far from Mesa Verde National Park and close to the old section of the town. The rooms were a nice size and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was the typical Comfort Inn fare. The only negative was that all the tables in the breakfast room were either occupied or very dirty. Would surely stay here if we are ever in Durango, CO again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patfra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Convenient location next to the highway. Room with King bed had plenty of space to move about, and the indoor air was fresh (no-smoking throughout the place). Front desk person was friendly and helpful.

What impressed me was that each lamp base had 2 extra power outlets. Even the microwave had 2 power outlets in the front. The bathroom had separate timers for the fan and the ultraviolet lamp.

The breakfast area was airy, and offered the usual food (boiled egg, scrambled egg, bread, muffins, waffles, sausage, 2 types of cereal, fruit). The integrated dispenser of hot water, light coffee & dark coffee took some trial and error to get going.

I did not use the small pool, but based on the wet tracks on the carpet leading to the elevator, it seemed to be popular with the kids.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

After staying in another hotel in the same price range in Durango, I was pleasantly surprised with this Comfort Inn. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. My room was much nicer than I expected - almost felt like I was at a more expensive hotel. The bed was quite comfortable, the room very quiet and clean. It also had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Rooms were upgraded, modern. The breakfast was better than most complimentary breakfasts. I had two different hotels that weekend - same price - and this was by far superior. This would definitely be my choice when I stay in Durango.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Valley, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

During our trip out west this Spring, we stayed at the Comfort Inn and Suites in Durango, CO. Because there was nearby construction, it was initially a little difficult to find the actual hotel. However, once we did find it, it was very enjoyable, The room was comfortable and the complementary breakfast was tasty and filling. What stands out for me, however, was the staff. They were, without a doubt, just about the friendliest and most accommodating people I have ever met. Whoever was behind the front desk always had a smile and a cheery word to say...no matter how often you went past them. They were helpful and never seemed as though they were too busy to talk. No matter who was checking in or out or who had a question, the staff gave that person 100% of their attention and never rushed anyone. I had a bit of a problem with the laundry room (my fault not theirs) and they answered my subsequent questions with the same politeness that they answered my first. The staff who maintain the breakfast area never let anything run out and they were always present....filing the coffee pot or food stations or setting out additional plates and utensils. The two women who worked in the breakfast area never stood still and yet were never intrusive. What especially stands out in my mind was that one chilly night, the woman behind the desk set out a kettle of chicken noodle soup and crackers. I have never seen anything like that before and that thoughtful touch warmed both the body and the soul.

Like I said, the only downside was the nearby construction. However on our first night there, a waitress at Denny's offered directions that circumvented the construction. That made a world of difference and we were never impacted again.

Definitely a great place to stay if you are in the Durango area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here three times in as many years. Our room was clean and nice.

The breakfast was generally good but the powdered eggs could use some help. They now have an "on demand" coffee maker and the coffee was good.

The front desk was helpful and pleasant. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLA-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is a really delightful Comfort Hotel. It has all that one would need for an overnight stay be it for business or pleasure. A good clean pool, a fine business room, size able breakfast area and modern clean rooms. It is located a few minutes outside of the town of Durango but that is not an inconvenience, in fact we found it during our two day stay to be a blessing,we could escape the noise from the youths that sought to show off ( or make fools of theirselves) by roaring loudly around town on their Harley's. They frightened young children and did little to assist the aged! The one blot on an otherwise first class experience was Sunday breakfast. The one member of staff on duty had the dirtiest apron on, it would not have been out of place in a coal mine. She also showed little or no interest in we the customers. A question "do the wraps have bacon " was greeted with I don't know and off she walked into the sunset with not a care in the world. This experience was so in contrast to the level of service on show on Saturday ( 17th May) when a young man and his older companion could not have been more efficient and keen on offering first class customer service. In general a great stop off when in the Durango area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalmesburyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Durango
3.8 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
243 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.7 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango

Property: Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Address: 455 S Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81303-7939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
#3 Green Hotel in Durango
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
#9 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Durango is a Contemporary Award Winning AAA 3 Diamond Modern Hotel, located in the heart of picturesque Durango only 1 mile from the Train. In April 2017, the Hotel finished the Comfort Brand’s Move to Modern complete renovation of the Hotel. The results are being met with outstanding satisfaction from all travelers. We still offer the very best value for lodging in the Durango area. We just received the coveted Lux 2017 Award for Best Hotel Value in Durango. Every evening an array of complementary amenities are offered such as fruit flavored water, fresh popped popcorn, hot chocolate, & fresh baked cookies, donuts or our newest addition Brownies Every morning you are treated to an outstanding breakfast on a rotating menu with a variety of items such as Fresh Baked Pastries, Donuts, Sausage Links, Sausage Patties, Bacon, Canadian Bacon, Biscuits & Gravy, Hashbrowns, Oatmeal, Eggs, Hot Waffles with assorted flavors, Cereal, 3 Juices, fresh fruit & Yogurts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing