We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Choice in Durango area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a fairly typical Comfort Inn. The beds were good, room good-sized. Breakfast was reasonable. Value good especially for expensive Durango. This hotel is about a mile outside of downtown Durango and the Durango/Silverton railroad. Bathroom could have been cleaner; property is a little worn and wifi was weak. Respectable budget choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.
I am glad to hear that you were pleased with our comfortable beds, breakfast and value.
I apologize if you encountered anything other than a spotless bathroom in your room. We have an excellent Housekeeping department who normally do an outstanding job. As you can see from the numerous comments on this site, we get very few complaints about our cleanliness. I hope that you brought this issue to our attention during your stay so that it was rectified for you immediately.
We are very proud of our beautifully decorated and modern hotel and feel that it exceeds the standards of most typical Comfort Inns.
I am not sure why you encountered "weak" wi-fi, as we have very fast internet and never have complaints, however I apologize if you had any issues with it during your stay.
Thank you again, and I hope you will consider us again for your next stay in Durango.
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 815 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Suites early August 2013. Marley checked us in. She was friendly and helpful. We had had a problem with comfort Inn's choice program and she got on the phone right away and spoke to them on our behalf and had the situation all cleared up in no time. She gave us personal advice on rafting, and was very helpful and knowledgeable on many things. It is people like her that really enhance the experience and make things easier. The gentleman working with her upon check in (sorry, didn't get his name), was also helpful and even remembered us in the hallways. The rooms were very spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear guest,
I want to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience and acknowledging our wonderful staff. It is the appreciation from our guests that make all our hard work worthwhile.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and certainly hope we will see you again next time you visit our beautiful town.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Did two nights in two rooms here with a family of five. Picked it in part based on the positive reports of the [included] breafast, and in part as it seemed a better value than the hotels within town. Happy to report that it was perfect for our needs. Kids happy. Wife happy.

Everyone very happy with the breakfast which had one of those do-it-yourself waffle irons. As noted by others there were two ladies overseeing the breakfast area who were unobtrusive but all over keeping the food stocked and the area clean (the waffle area is typically a messy area but they got on every spill right away).

Its only about a mile south on 550, so while it is a drive to Main Street and the train, it is really no bit deal...two lights and a right to the train.

Room Tip: We had a room on the north end right by the elevators. Could go directly from the car to the room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiloTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful review of our hotel. We are so happy that your family enjoyed their stay and all were pleased with every aspect of the accommodations. We do have a great hot complimentary breakfast and our breakfast staff do an amazing job. Thank you for the kind words of praise for our staff. It is always great to hear we are doing things right, and it is appreciated.
We hope you will return to Durango soon. We look forward to serving you again!
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Wonderful super clean rooms and awesome beds, the staff were helpful and kind, great breakfast in the morning as well. Spent time in the computer room which is spacious and well appointed, a wonderful laundry room for travelers who have been on the road a long time and loved the having elevators on either end of the building plus one in the middle, da hubby especially like this feature as we are getting a bit older now to walk the halls with luggage in tow.

Wonderful spacious comfort inn, recommend if traveling in the durango colorado area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waddyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let everyone know about your stay with us. We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy our many complimentary amenities and you found them all to meet your needs.
We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to beautiful Durango Colorado.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very clean, beds were comfortable had nice sheets. The hotel was updated with flat screen TV's. the staff was very helpful we had an issue with our room that was addressed right away. Had to move rooms and the staff offered to help move luggage. The continental breakfast was good had 2 attendants keeping everything stocked and clean.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Drew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel.
We appreciate all your kind comments and are very glad you enjoyed your stay.
We hope that you will return again soon.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I preface this review by saying that I stay at a lot of different Choice Hotel group properties (Choice is the parent corporation for Comfort Inns), so I have lots of experience with hotels in this chain. The Durango Comfort Inn is one of the nicest properties I've stayed at in the past year or so. I found the room to be relatively quiet, as much as one could expect with the property immediately adjacent to Highway 160, one of the major traffic arteries through town. I have seen other reviews here complaining about traffic noise from the road - in my experience, this is actually one of the quieter hotels adjacent to a highway that I've stayed at, and my room did face the road. The room was also very clean and well maintained although a little small for a "suite," but certainly good enough to warrant a return booking the next time that I am in Durango.

I did have a couple of minor nits that keep me from giving the place a full "Excellent" score -- in addition to the slightly claustrophobic feel of the bedroom in the suite, I found it odd that the desk (stuck in the same space as the bed) did not have a desk lamp. I don't know if this was unique to my room or if they generally don't furnish them, but that made the desk less than convenient to use, since the only other light was provided by a couple of table lamps on either side of the bed - the other side of the space from the desk. They also could use a much larger breakfast area for the size of this property. The breakfast is very good by the usual standards of this class of property, but there was hardly enough room to sit during the weekend "rush" on Sunday morning, and staff and guests seem to have a difficult time keeping from bumping into each other when the place is crowded.

That said, those minor issues should not enter into your decision process about choosing to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W_C_B_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your informative and complimentary comments.
We appreciate you sharing your experience and are very pleased to hear that you will stay with us again in the future.
I am glad you enjoyed your quiet room and apologize for the lack of a desk lamp. You should have had one in your room and appreciate you letting us know that is was missing. Had you informed us during your stay, we would have been able to rectify it for you.
I am also glad you enjoyed our hot complimentary breakfast. As you mentioned, everyone does and that is why it becomes so crowded at times.
Thank you again. We look forward to your next stay.
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Easy to find off highway 160, just a short distance from town. Requested a room in back and on the top floor. got the room in back but on the second floor. Big mistake, first night heard the people walking above for two hours. Checked with the front desk the next morning and found out they were checking out that day, so decided to try it again. The next people just did normal activity which we could here, but tolerable, next night the same. The hotel was poorly designed without adequate sound insulation. Our room in back was at least quiet from traffic noise. Will only stay on top floor from now on. The staff was helpful and said we should have called on the first night. The free breakfast was good and the ladies kept the place clean. Would stay again but only on the top floor.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room in back..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwb121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. Your input helps us know what we are doing right and what areas we can always improve on.
I am sorry to hear that you encountered some noisy neighbors during your stay. It is always difficult to insure in a public place that everyone is quiet and considerate. I understand you had made a request to be on the top floor. While we do try our best to accommodate all requests, sometimes at the time you check in, the requested area of the hotel is not available, which must have been the case when you arrived.
I am glad to hear that our friendly staff were helpful to your requests and were able to get you on the highest floor we had available at that time.
I am also glad you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast and appreciate your compliments to our wonderful breakfast staff.
We are very glad to hear you will stay with us again in the future and hope that we are able to accommodate you next time in a room that is more to your liking.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Durango
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 34 in Durango
285 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#7 of 34 in Durango
558 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango

Address: 455 S Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81303-7939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
#3 Green Hotel in Durango
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
#9 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range: $77 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Durango is a Contemporary Award Winning AAA 3 Diamond Modern Hotel, located in the heart of picturesque Durango only 1 mile from the Train. In April 2017, the Hotel finished the Comfort Brand’s Move to Modern complete renovation of the Hotel. The results are being met with outstanding satisfaction from all travelers. We still offer the very best value for lodging in the Durango area. We just received the coveted Lux 2017 Award for Best Hotel Value in Durango. Every evening an array of complementary amenities are offered such as fruit flavored water, fresh popped popcorn, hot chocolate, & fresh baked cookies, donuts or our newest addition Brownies Every morning you are treated to an outstanding breakfast on a rotating menu with a variety of items such as Fresh Baked Pastries, Donuts, Sausage Links, Sausage Patties, Bacon, Canadian Bacon, Biscuits & Gravy, Hashbrowns, Oatmeal, Eggs, Hot Waffles with assorted flavors, Cereal, 3 Juices, fresh fruit & Yogurts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing