We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average hotel, out on highway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Average hotel, out on highway”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to stay in Durango...be advised that everything in overpriced in Durango. That said, this Hotel will get you okay rates, but not actually near the town. You will have a view if the high way here. The check in clerks, etc. are all very friendly here. The rooms are clean and set up well. You even get a microwave. The pool is indoors and small. Not what appealed to my family. We were ready to leave after one night. Nothing terrible, but nothing to write home about. Just a average hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay. I am very glad you enjoyed our friendly staff and clean rooms. I am sorry our free indoor heated pool and hot tub were not to your liking. While we are about a 5 minute drive from downtown historic Durango, we are in a great location for all the activities and attractions Durango has to offer. Hopefully, you were able to enjoy everything during your visit to our beautiful town.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    266
    106
    34
    24
See reviews for
275
294
42
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Lots of extras in this hotel, including generous sized room, grab bar in the tub, nice vanity, extra electrical outlet plugs on the bedside table, plus a bench for suitcases in addition to a portable luggage rack. Everyone was very anxious to help, and in addition to a welcoming reception, served a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmaoffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you found everything about our hotel and service to your satisfaction.
We hope you will return very soon to enjoy all we have to offer!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Excellent room with a great breakfast. More than that the staff was very responsive, compassionate and caring when faced with a medical emergency. The staff was able to assist me in finding urgently needed medical help. In addition they helped me extend my stay made necessary by the medical emergency.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwight H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
I was distressed to hear about your medical emergency during your recent stay. I hope that all is well for you now. I am glad to hear that our staff was courteous, caring and quick to respond when you needed their help. We have a wonderful staff who do an outstanding job and it is rewarding to hear from our guests that they experienced that dedication during their stay even under the most trying of circumstances.
We hope you are on the road to recovery and will stay with us again when visiting beautiful Durango Colorado!
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Excellent room, extra good breakfast, close to downtown but no traffic, helpful staff (Julie & others). Whole family used three rooms and after traveling to some nearby towns for a few days, came back for extra nights. Stay included grandparents, sons, daughter-in-laws, children, and friend. All had a good things to say.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was great to receive your recent review of our hotel and to have had many of your family members stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and thrilled that you came back again! Thank you for your praise of our efficient and dedicated staff members. We hope you will continue be a return customer when in Durango on your next visit.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay there, our rooms were clean and staff was helpful with directions... I will stay there again if I am in the area. Good location with easy access to downtown. Breakfast was nice, helped save a little money, waffles, eggs, sausage, fruit, and cereal and plenty of drinks to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dlpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take pleasure in our wonderful complimentary hot breakfast.
We are also glad to hear that you will stay with us again in the future. We look forward to serving you again.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Room clean and quiet (even next to elevator)... a bit out of downtown.. but still easy drive to Durango train park. Breakfast was sufficient - had fruit and warm food; the service staff in food area was pleasant; always ice water available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkiehonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean and quiet rooms. Our complimentary hot breakfast is one of our many wonderful amenities and it is very rewarding to hear that our staff is doing such a great job with it.
We hope to have you as our guest again on your next trip to beautiful Durango Colorado.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The room price jumped to $149.00 +. Housekeeping had not cleaned the coffee maker from a prior use from some one else. The ice bucket bag appeared to be a trash can liner. The TV guide was for the prior month. If you plan to sleep in, make sure to put the do not disturb sign on the door. They woke me at 7:44am. Minor details that added up to annoying!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpink13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.
Please allow me to apologize for any cleanliness issues you may have encountered in your room. We have an outstanding Housekeeping Staff who normally do a fantastic job keeping our hotel spotless as you can see from the many other praising reviews on this site.
So, I am very distressed by your disappointment. I apologize that you did not encounter the high standards by which our staff normally live up to.
Our ice bucket liners are Choice Hotel International mandated and they do resemble a clear plastic liner. Hopefully, you found them to be functional for the purpose they serve.
It is always a good idea to use the Do Not Disturb sign that is provided in your room if you are not requiring service. This prevents our guest's being inconvenienced. Our staff do not clock in or begin their shifts until 8 am any day of the week, so I apologize if someone disturbed you prior to a more convenient and reasonable time.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future to allow us to show you what great service we can really provide.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
1.5 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango

Property: Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Address: 455 S Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81303-7939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
#3 Green Hotel in Durango
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
#9 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. We have a fabulous award winning facility and we provide what we believe to be the fastest free Hotel Wifi in Durango with no 3 meg limit per guest like the other major hotel chains. Our hotel offers warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town and is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Hall of Fame, Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: • Indoor heated pool & Finish SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access with no 3 meg limit per guest • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing