We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed for two nights recently and was very impressed with what we got for how little we spent. Excellent value (only noticed "skimping" in the 1-ply tissues and toilet paper). Quiet hotel with easy access to town (not within walking distance). Clean and spacious rooms, but slightly dated decor--not bad, just not modern. Better than average continental breakfast with scrambled eggs and bacon/biscuits and gravy, waffles, yogurt, cereals. Welcoming front desk staff, eager to help. Accommodated our room preferences and early check-in without batting an eyelash. We'll be back on our next visit to Durango.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank New2ABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.
We are so pleased that you were impressed with the hotel and value for your money. We strive very hard to ensure complete guest satisfaction and we appreciate hearing your compliments and feedback.
We are so glad that you will return to us on your next trip to beautiful Durango!
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    236
    99
    30
    20
See reviews for
236
255
39
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I waited for over an hour for the room to heat up. It never happened. The front desk was very quick and helpful to change my room.
However on the next room I turned on the heat just to low and it got to hot. I turned it off. After an hour of sleep I woke back up. It was cold again. Not a very fun game to play all night.
The next night I stayed at the Quality inn in Montrose. They had the same heaters but it had an installed thermostat. I slept very comfortable.
I wish Durango Comfort Inn would install thermostats.
I do like their customer service. They're always kind and helpful. I'll go back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Csclabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. Your input helps us know what we are doing right, and what areas we need to improve on. I apologize that you experienced some problems with room temperature during your stay. Our HVAC units are made with internal thermostats that regulate the heat based on the setting on the temperature control. I am very sorry that you encountered units that appear to not have been working properly. You notifying us of an issue, helps us expedite our staff to repair and maintain the areas so the problem does not persist and we appreciate your willingness to share that information. I am very glad that our staff was responsive and helpful to your needs and that you will visit us again in the future.
We look forward to providing you with a comfortable and pleasant stay the next time you are in beautiful Durango.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Page Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Unfortunately, it's not easy to appear serious about room maintenance when it comes to lighting. Except, arriving to the room, 2 out of the 3 lights were burned out. Front desk was helpful - I simply showed up with the bulbs and they even offered to install the new ones which was nice but not needed. An hour later, the lamp next to one of the beds (that had the one good existing bulb) started smoking. Reaching up to turn it off and see what was happening was shocking: The plastic housing was already to the point of melting! It had to be unplugged or suffer electrocution burns. Had we left this light on unattended, I am sure it would have caused a fire.

I blame the housekeeping team for this. All lights were cheap, dented shades, and how wouldn't you notice a light not working - let alone TWO?? It's part of the job to check these things when the room is cleaned. If a light looks damaged - well - REPLACE IT.

It was late - nearly midnight and we didn't need to make an issue with a smoking light - too tired. But I wrote a note and left the relocated lamp on a table saying it was dangerous, followed by advisement in person to the front desk when leaving the next morning. I wrote about this in their survey review and checked the box indicating a manager can respond. No response. I still wonder how safe the hotel really is with the extremely poor quality room lights they use and damaged lamps remaining in the rooms. We won't choose this hotel again because of this personal experience. It left a feeling of being un-safe. Front desk staff are very friendly at least.

Room Tip: If you smell smoke - don't ignore it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiciPageArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
I want to thank you for your recent comments posted about your stay in Durango. We always strive to make each and every guest feel, safe, comfortable, and secure about their visit.
It is therefore distressing to hear of your dissatisfaction. Please allow me to apologize for the situation you encountered during your stay.
It is of utmost importance that our housekeeping staff leave every room clean, well stocked and in order. This includes making sure all lights have working bulbs. I am very sorry this was not the case in the room you occupied. I am very glad to hear however, that our Front Desk Staff was helpful and accommodating.
I also want to apologize for the problem you had with your room lamp and assure you that our maintenance staff is very diligent in making sure all appliances are in working order and safe. I do not know what happened to the lamp or why this happened, but had there been any signs or indication of it needing to be replaced prior to your stay, be assured that it would have been taken care of. We would not leave a damaged lamp in a room once becoming aware of it.
I appreciate you notifying the Front Desk agent of the problem upon your departure. I am not aware of the survey review you refer to in your comment, but assure you had one of the managers been informed, we would have been happy to contact you regarding the incident.
Again, please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great place to stay for the price... has an indoor pool and breakfast is included each morning. Make sure you have a mode of transport though (rental car, friend etc). The place is located in Bodo just outside Durango. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.
I am very glad you were pleased with our prices and accommodations.
We hope that you will visit us again very soon.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We've stayed here for multiple ski trips and the inclusion of breakfast, wifi and cleanliness make this property a decent option for a trip in which we really only slept there. The breakfast lady kept chaos at a minimum, and she was attentive to guests. Front desk harried but responsive. Rooms standard for Choice; mini-suite set-up attractive for small families. PLEASE LOSE THE ICKY POLYESTER BEDSPREADS!!!! Desk chair too large for space and desk. Nice to have safe & coffee maker. Indoor pool charmless...

Room Tip: Upper floor best-noise carries. Some rooms view to indoor pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aztraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your comments and it is good to hear that you were happy with our amenities and service.
Our staff do deal with a lot of guests and numerous things at once, so it is positive encouragement to hear from you that they are doing a good job.
I am sorry you did not like our Choice mandated coverlets. We, like all Comfort Inn's are required to have a specific decor and it is not always to everyone's liking.
We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to beautiful Durango, CO.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I made reservations via choice privileges an hour before arrival on a winter advisory night without luggage and toiletries. Was greeted with warm hospitality and provided with tooth brushes, tooth paste and shower caps. The service at the breakfast was impeccably provided by a woman by the name of Donna who was a whirlwind of service. She cooked waffles for everyone set up the breakfast foods and cleaned tables all with a friendly disposition. The hotel was clean, and the front desk and cleaning staff provided for all our needs. The parking lot was also cleaned of the 8 inches of snow by 7am.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We appreciate your kind words of praise and are thrilled that we were able to make everything about your stay enjoyable.
It is always rewarding to hear that our staff's hard work is appreciated. We hope that you will visit us again in the very near future.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Check in was easy. They had a crock pot with Hot chicken noodle soup. It really hit the spot coming in at 8pm. They upgraded my room. Breakfast was good, nothing to get to excited about. Overall it's a very nice stat. I'll go their in the off season. That's because rates go down in the $50's. My work only pays for $70...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Csclabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We try very hard to make each guest's stay satisfying. The hot soup is appreciated by most of our guests who arrive on a cold evening and do not want to go back out to grab a bite. I am glad you enjoyed it.
Thank you for your kind review and I am happy to hear you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#2 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango

Property: Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Address: 455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
#3 Green Hotel in Durango
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
#9 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. We have a fabulous award winning facility and we provide what we believe to be the fastest free Hotel Wifi in Durango with no 3 meg limit per guest like the other major hotel chains. Our hotel offers warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town and is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Hall of Fame, Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: • Indoor heated pool & Finish SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access with no 3 meg limit per guest • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle and pancake flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing