We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent 6 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
384 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Excellent 6 night stay”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Durango is a very expensive tourist town. The Comfort Inn offers affordable accommodations with nice size rooms, comfy beds, microwaves, fridges, a very good hot breakfast, exercise room, and laundry facilities. Several tour groups were there on different days during our stay but there was plenty of room for everyone and the hotel was not noisy at all. The front desk staff including Kathy and Sara were excellent and so helpful. There was an indoor pool but the water was very cool so did not use it but once but they did also have a hot tub/spa that was nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeachBelle8288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff J, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recognizing our caring and attentive staff. Kathy and Sara work very hard to make sure every guest’s needs are met, so they will be pleased to hear that their efforts are appreciated. Our swimming pool is kept at 80-82 degrees Fahrenheit as is recommended for guest health and safety. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit Durango.

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    120
    55
    14
    5
See reviews for
113
121
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

New hotel. The room was large with doors between the bedroom and the sitting / computer area. My wife loved it because she sleeps later than I do and in this room, I did not disturb her as I checked the internet for area activities each morning. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. I wish we could have stayed at more hotels like this one on our vacation. The walls are well insulated from adjacent rooms. This hotel gets 5 stars up and down from us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PopPop62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff J, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our suites do provide ample space with both a bedroom and living room. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our free high-speed wireless internet. Our staff works very hard to make every room look new and provide each guest with a memorable visit. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is nothing more than an average hotel. It’s a fairly nice place: the windows and door felt secure; the neighborhood appeared safe; there was plenty of free onsite parking; and there was a microwave and fridge in our room. But, the hotel had some maintenance issues, which made it feel dated. For example, our bathroom door had fallen off the middle hinge and would not close properly. You had to really force it to get the door closed. With the paint on the door jam being badly scratched, it was obvious that countless guests before had to do this too. Also, the beds in our room were due for retirement. One was barely in average condition, while the other was broken-down. The staff was friendly, but one other thing that bothered me was that I asked the front desk clerk at check-in to credit me with 250 U.S. Airways Dividend Miles instead of Choice Rewards points because I never stay at Choice hotels for work and I will never get the chance to earn more points or use them in the future. Unfortunately, the young woman at the desk either didn’t know how to do that or simply didn’t feel like doing it because it appears that they credited me with Choice Reward points anyway.

The hotel did have and above average breakfast, but they really should start serving the food earlier, perhaps at 6 instead of 6:30. On the day of our train trip, we competed with two bus groups and the other guests to get breakfast before leaving for the early train. On the next day, we needed to rush our breakfast in order to make our 8:19 flight out of Durango.

I'd really think twice about staying here again. If the Hampton Inn wasn't so far from the airport I would have paid the extra $20 per night and stayed there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjd181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff J, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations.
I’m glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and in room amenities.
In regards to the bathroom door and beds in your room, I hope you reported the issues to our staff right away. We have a very attentive and caring staff who are happy to help you move rooms or fix issues, and they are available 24 hours a day.
For your future reference, the rewards number applied to your stay is located on the final receipt. If you notice that you were credited with the wrong type of rewards, e.g., Airline Miles vs Choice Privileges Points, please let our staff know and we are happy to make the adjustment.
Our breakfast area can get crowded during our peak season, but our staff pays special attention to make sure that all items are well stocked and that every guest has the opportunity to eat.
We hope that all your future stays at Choice Hotels will be satisfactory.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice and clean and only minutes from downtown Durango, a steal of a deal. The room was the handicap room on the first floor and the walk in shower was an unexpected treat. There was a breakfast area that was a nice way to get the day going.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff J, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide an excellent hotel experience in all areas, so it is great to see that our work is appreciated. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2012

More than we planned to spend but I would say it was worth it. We were in a King Suite with a view of mountains. Room amenities were great; Fridge, microwave, very comfortable bed, extra luggage table, a safe and two TVs. A door between bedroom and the sofa bed living room.
Complimentary breakfast was much better than average! Lots of choices, good yoplait yogurt, eggs and sausage, waffles, lots of pastries and bagels. Staff was great from making the reservation to checking in and out.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cogirllost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff J, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review. We are so glad that you were pleased with our accommodations and service. Our staff works very hard to provide the best guest experience possible, so they will be pleased to hear your stay was a success. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The room was just fine, decent size, clean and the bed was comfortable. I've seen comments about Durango being "expensive" (like many tourist towns I suppose), but we paid quite a bit more than I've become accustomed to. The biggest complaint would be the noise/irritation factor from the in-room heating/ac unit. No thermostat - just off/on.

Otherwise, the breakfast was decent and the staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lost_in_the_ozone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff J, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory.
I am glad you found the room clean and comfortable. We have an excellent staff in all departments who work very hard to ensure guest satisfaction for each and every stay.
In regards to the in room air conditioning unit, I hope you reported the issue to our desk staff right away. We are always happy to clean, move or repair any issues that our guests may encounter when they check into a room and inform us of them. We have 24 hour staff to accommodate you at any hour with any issue.
Durango is a very popular tourist destination. Each hotel's rates are based on their market area. Our rates are very comparable to other similar properties in the Durango area. I am sorry that you were disappointed in the rate you paid for this area.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The room was nice, clean and quiet. There's a treadmill, stationary bike, free weights, and a weight machine in the exercise room, so you had a choice of different activities. The breakfast was very good. Lots of choices and it tasted good! I REALLY liked the idea that they had two different dispensers of flavored water (lemons cut up in one and oranges in the other one day and lemons in one and cucumbers in a second the next day) to get drinks from, in the lobby! Great idea! They also had free samples of men's cologne that they had in a basket for guests to take. A nice little extra, too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kewpie_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff J, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. We are so pleased that your stay with us was pleasant.
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you were satisfied with our accommodations and breakfast. We have a great staff that provides the very best service and amenities possible. The flavored water is a seasonal amenity for those hot summer days.
We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.5 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#5 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango

Property: Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Address: 455 S Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81303-7939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
#3 Green Hotel in Durango
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
#9 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. We have a fabulous award winning facility and we provide what we believe to be the fastest free Hotel Wifi in Durango with no 3 meg limit per guest like the other major hotel chains. Our hotel offers warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town and is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Hall of Fame, Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: • Indoor heated pool & Finish SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access with no 3 meg limit per guest • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing