We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible! No heat or bedding in sub-zero temperatures!”
Review of Days Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Durango
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Durango
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible! No heat or bedding in sub-zero temperatures!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

After looking at local alternatives, and thinking this is the better option, I booked a room for my wife and two daughters since the eldest had to fly out of Durango. My wife called later to say the room was freezing and the AC unable to heat it properly. After speaking to the front desk (since no manager was available) they were told to turn up the thermostat fully, which helped a little. But tha meant that the AC in the bathroom wouldn't come on - so it was a choice: either a warm bedroom, or a warm bathroom, but not both! But, wait, there's more! There were no comforters on the beds, not even a top sheet, only a thin blanket! They asked the front desk for more blankets, but were told none were available. So my wife had to get two blankets from the car, and all had to put on sweaters, just to be able to sleep comfortably! I have called the corporate help line, and we'll see if we can resolve this issue. But this will be the last time this hotel will ever see us...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizbytez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, General Manager at Days Inn Durango, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are sorry for the discomfort you experienced. As we stated at checkout, you were refunded in full for the stay. We did receive a call asking for extra blankets but the child at the other end hung up before our staff could get a room number. Because of the hour they called and the fact the hotel was nearly full it was not feasible to call every room to see which one needed the blankets. We checked to heating system in the room as soon as the guest checked out and it was 71 degrees so we are not sure why it was so cold for the guest. The thermostat in the room that shows the actual temperature is not working correctly and shows 60 degrees even when the room reaches 78 degrees. This will be replaced to stop any confusion in the future. We do not have comforters on our beds because we have what is called a clean bed system which many hotels have implemented. This means there is a top cover sheet, a thermal blanket, another sheet then the bottom sheet. We also have an extra blanket in the closet in case the guest needs it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    191
    118
    59
    44
See reviews for
194
164
36
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here and will return in the future. The rooms are large, clean, well appointed, and bathrooms are well stocked with amenities. Beds have Temperpedic mattresses, of which I'm not the hugest personal fan but nonetheless are new and very comfortable. Near to restaurants and downtown. Spa (hot tub) which I usually avoid in hotels was large and very clean, and the sauna area had showers and full bathroom. This is really a hidden gem for the cost-conscious but value driven consumer. Would highly recommend to anyone, especially at off-season rates.

Room Tip: Downstairs (below front-facing ground level) might be quieter at night, and spa/sauna easier to acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, General Manager at Days Inn Durango, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We strive to make each guests stay comfortable. We hope you come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOAB
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A clean, conveniently located hotel at a great price. We loved the memory foam bed. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, General Manager at Days Inn Durango, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return whenever in Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Normally this hotel is more expensive than my usual lodgings in Durango, but I got a surprisingly low off-season rate that made staying here too good of a deal to pass up. The room was large and well appointed with a nice, firm mattress. The front desk staff were polite and presentable at both check-in and check-out. Although a continental breakfast is included in the price, Durango has too many good breakfast eateries to pass up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, General Manager at Days Inn Durango, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for the review. We appreciate your business and hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.9 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#13 of 33 in Durango
371 reviews
1.8 mi away
Durango Downtown Inn
Durango Downtown Inn
#22 of 33 in Durango
351 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Durango

Property: Days Inn Durango
Address: 3030 Main Ave, Highway 550 & 30th Street, Durango, CO 81301-4245 (Formerly Ramada Limited Durango)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Durango 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Durango Hotel Durango
Ramada Durango
Durango Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing