We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Durango
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Galloway, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in a 2 room suite, 4 adults 2 older kids, advertised as sleeps 6, with two king rooms & pullout couch. Couch was too small so had to pay extra for a rollaway bed. King beds very comfortable, rooms and bathrooms nice size. Great free breakfast and managers cocktail party each day. Location, very convenient to downtown Durango. Only other problem was we were on first floor and it sounded like a herd of elephants when the person above us walked (not sure if it was because floor thin or person above very large) and the central air unit was in a closet in our bedroom and was very loud every time it turned on.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LouMC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    104
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
127
92
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Very nice basic hotel - clean, spacious rooms with kitchen. We stayed on the third floor and it was very quiet. The hotel has an indoor pool, outdoor tennis and basketball court, and a free buffet style breakfast available downstairs each morning. If you have time to stay awhile, a very short walk east from the hotel will take you along a paved walking / bike path along the Animas River and to shops and restaurants in historic and scenic downtown Durango. We stayed June 22 & 23 and saw / heard no signs of renovating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abq_travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our reservation for a 1-bedroom suite was upgraded at no charge to a 2-bedroom suite. With three of us -- my husband and I, plus our adult daughter -- it was a great experience. The room was fabulous; spacious living room with full kitchen and small eating area and two full bathrooms and bedrooms. Being on the second floor, our windows had a lovely natural view. Laundry facilities were right on the same floor which was really appreciated as our daughter had just come out of a wilderness experience. Complimentary breakfast, although not restaurant quality, was among the best of a limited service hotel I've seen. And staff were incredibly attentive, willing to help out at breakfast in any way. As was the rest of the staff. All in all ... our stay was great.

Our only complaint? Wifi was not the greatest. It was somewhat intermittent, but hotel staff did their best to help by providing a portable wifi kit to increase reception.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank OutandOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Co California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed 3 days June 6-9 2012. The rooms were fine, typical RI. There was construction underway in parking lot and hotel common areas. Minor inconvenience. The staff was friendly but short handed. Free breakfast and wireless internet was fine. Cleaning staff was there only part time. Pool, exercise room were OK but nothing special.
To get to historic Durango, you need to walk along busy highway, over Animas River and 3 blocks to Main St. We did not mind it, but not a lovely walk. Take the River walk to ease the traffic noise.
Next time we will try something near Main Street.

Room Tip: may want to be on the back away from outdoor volley/basketball and busy highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DougCort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Good central location, not right in Durango but it's an easy walk along a sidewalk to the Animas river trail and downtown Durango. The rooms were very nice, some portions of the hotel were being renovated during our visit though so hard to comment on them. Staff was all friendly, especially at breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbaaronson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My husband & I just stayed here recently & it was very enjoyable. The location is not the greatest, no view of anything other than the highway, but that was fine with us. When we walked into our 1 bedroom suite it was so bright, clean looking & refreshed looking, a lot better first impression than when we stayed at the Doubletree & saw their tired sad rooms. They are in the middle of a remodel, working on the first floor rooms, so, yes, the halls were dirty looking. We stayed on the 3rd floor, nice & quiet. We would definitely stay here again for the price & the amount of space we get!

Room Tip: I opt for the top floor, that way I don't have to hear people stomping overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texgal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed here on a business trip. We especially appreciated the friendly atmosphere in their dining room at breakfast and in the evening each night. The hostess is great and service is superior. The rooms are spacious and clean, my colleague and I both enjoyed our stay and would stay again. The free breakfast and the night meal are both generous and tasty. We liked the eggs and susage at breakfast.

The check-in process went smooth and the clerk was very friendly, positive, and helpful.

On the down side, although the rooms are very clean and comfortable, the hallway and elevator rugs are worn and dirty and seriously in need of replacement. Also the hallways are very poorly lighted.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bringstheeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
0.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#9 of 33 in Durango
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
470 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Durango

Property: Residence Inn Durango
Address: 21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#7 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Durango 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing