We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Short stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Durango
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Gallup
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here and thought it couldn't be too bad to manage for one night. We were surprised over the spacious, clean, quiet room. Free wifi in room and refrigerator and coffee maker!!! Great stay and comfy bed. No complaints. Oh and free breakfast!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gkhe1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Durango, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear gkhe1980,

Thank you for reviewing Super 8 in Durango, I am glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us. Hopefully next time you will have more days to spend with us, and would get to truly enjoy the surrounding areas and the best of Durango has to offer.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    97
    111
    70
    46
See reviews for
121
137
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August of 2013. The rooms were a little out dated, but they were very clean. I could care less about how new the place looks, as long as it is clean. However, for people that like a new look to their hotel, I remember a sign said they would be renovating soon. I do not know if the renovation has started, but it will eventually get a face lift.
The staff were all really nice and asked if we wanted their suggestions on places to go/ things to do. I used to live in Durango, so I declined, so I cannot comment on their suggestions.
The breakfast is a typical motel breakfast (waffle iron, cereal, yogurt).
The bed was uncomfortable to me, my boyfriend thought it was comfortable.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ksks1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Durango, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Ksks1234,

We are really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to hear you found our staff friendly.

Since your stay with us last year, we have completely renovated the rooms, we have new mattress, furniture and tvs.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Durango.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights. Room was newly remodeled. Owner was very nice. Our air conditioner stopped working and he replaced it immediately. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was basic. Doors needs to be fixed so they don't slam.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Durango, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to review Super 8 located in Durango.

We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We have address the issue about slamming door, the doors are spring loaded so the door closes behind guest as security measures.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Durango.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

After traveling all day, the lady at check-in was very pleasant. Entering the hall to our room, we encountered "laborers" lounging( and playing with their phones) on the floor that we had to "excuse ourselves" so we could get by them. The TV in the was not receiving any of their advertised channels and after several people and 4 attempts to rectify the problem failed, we were asked if we wanted a refund so we could go somewhere else. This was at 6:30pm, and we didn't really want to re-pack and try to find a motel with vacancies. The finally found us another room about 30 mins later. After returning to the room the next day after our activities, the air conditioner was off leaving the room very hot and stuffy. we had to call for shampoo in order shower and fresh towels. They advertised "hot breakfast"-to me, that means more than waffle batter that is poured on a pre-heated griddle. This was after a terrible experience at another Super 8 in Salida,CO. This was not a restful stay and we will NEVER stay at another Super 8.

Room Tip: Yes, stay away from Super 8's!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Durango, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Lee,

Thank for reviewing Super 8 located in Durango Colorado.

I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. As we learned about the issue with the TV channels, we offered you to move to another room, as we talked to our cable provider and they stated they would stop by soon as possible but it might not be till later in the night, if it gets too late into the night, they will stop by first thing in the morning, as they did not want to disturb guest at night. As it happen they stopped by that night at 9:47pm and resolved the problem,

Our Super star breakfast has something for everyone, for people who like hot breakfast there are waffles that they can make, for others we have milk and cereals, yogort, bread, fresh fruit etc.. to insure every guest start off the their day right.

We hope you will give us another chance and hope to see you again on your next trip to Souther Colorado.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durango hotels

Lincoln
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Unknown to us, a bike rally was in Durango the weekend we decided to go and the only place we found the first night was at Super 8. I've stayed at Super 8's before and most times it is fine, but this one needs a lot of work. They have started updating, but still need improvements. I had no problem with check in but had to wait for the person in front of me and the clerk didn't seem to know a whole lot. The keys she gave him didn't work as he came back down while I was checking in and her response was the door just might not work at all. And proceeds to tell me they have had trouble with that room. Then my key worked once and next time I tried didn't work anymore. The beds were fine but the pillows were flat. I went to see about additional pillows and was told they were out. Everyone was asking for a pillow - maybe that's a clue? It was quiet on the top floor. Hopefully if they get done with all the updates the place will be better and if you just need to sleep somewhere for a little bit it's okay.

Room Tip: There is only one restaurant close to this place. All the other hotels are on the other end of town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dandlNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Durango, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear DandiNebraska,

Than you for taking time from your busy schedule to review Super 8 Durango. I am so sorry to hear you did not have great experience while staying with us. Since your stay with us, we are done with our renovation project that included, brand new carpet, furniture, lights, tv and beds on all the rooms.

Sometimes when the keys are kept next to cell phones or credit card the keys get demagnetized and would require to be reprogrammed, we will emphasize our front desk to make sure the information is communicated to the guest.

We hope to see you again in near future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was the worst hotel I have been in. Expected a lot more, but boy, was I wrong. It STUNK!! and the air felt very heavy and stale. Worst coffee I have ever tried to drink in my life and paid WAY too much for the one night we stayed.
I won't return, I would rather sleep on the side of the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
2.8 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
5.6 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
4.1 mi away
Knights Inn Durango CO
Knights Inn Durango CO
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Durango

Property: Super 8 Durango
Address: 20 Stewart Street, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Durango 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory Hotel Durango
Super Eight Durango
Durango Super 8
Durango Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing