We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Still needs a lot of work” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Durango
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Lincoln
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Still needs a lot of work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Unknown to us, a bike rally was in Durango the weekend we decided to go and the only place we found the first night was at Super 8. I've stayed at Super 8's before and most times it is fine, but this one needs a lot of work. They have started updating, but still need improvements. I had no problem with check in but had to wait for the person in front of me and the clerk didn't seem to know a whole lot. The keys she gave him didn't work as he came back down while I was checking in and her response was the door just might not work at all. And proceeds to tell me they have had trouble with that room. Then my key worked once and next time I tried didn't work anymore. The beds were fine but the pillows were flat. I went to see about additional pillows and was told they were out. Everyone was asking for a pillow - maybe that's a clue? It was quiet on the top floor. Hopefully if they get done with all the updates the place will be better and if you just need to sleep somewhere for a little bit it's okay.

Room Tip: There is only one restaurant close to this place. All the other hotels are on the other end of town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dandlNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Durango, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear DandiNebraska,

Than you for taking time from your busy schedule to review Super 8 Durango. I am so sorry to hear you did not have great experience while staying with us. Since your stay with us, we are done with our renovation project that included, brand new carpet, furniture, lights, tv and beds on all the rooms.

Sometimes when the keys are kept next to cell phones or credit card the keys get demagnetized and would require to be reprogrammed, we will emphasize our front desk to make sure the information is communicated to the guest.

We hope to see you again in near future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    97
    111
    70
    46
See reviews for
121
137
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Heber Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was the worst hotel I have been in. Expected a lot more, but boy, was I wrong. It STUNK!! and the air felt very heavy and stale. Worst coffee I have ever tried to drink in my life and paid WAY too much for the one night we stayed.
I won't return, I would rather sleep on the side of the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durango hotels

Durango
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

It was quiet, the newly remodeled rooms are nice except you need better pillows. When I went to the front desk to ask for additional pillows I was told everyone was asking for additional pillows and there no more left. That should tell you something.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Super 8 in Durango, Colorado is a very nice place to stay the night. VERY FRIENDLY hotel staff and very willing to help any way they can. Spacious, clean , comfortable room with snacks waiting for you inside! The only thing that could have been better is a bigger breakfast dining room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
2.8 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
5.6 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
4.1 mi away
Knights Inn Durango CO
Knights Inn Durango CO
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Durango

Property: Super 8 Durango
Address: 20 Stewart St, Durango, CO 81303-7999
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Durango 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory Hotel Durango
Super Eight Durango
Durango Super 8
Durango Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing