We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best desk clerk.”
Review of Super 8 Durango

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Durango
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Van Buren
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not the best desk clerk.”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived at this Super 8 early but had a reservation. when we got there, at 1 PM, the desk clerk took our money for the room but told us check-in time was 3 PM and she had no clean rooms. We, hardly, believed that. We dropped our motorcycle trailer where she told us to then my husband went back in to find a bathroom. She said there was no bathroom and she couldn't allow him to go into any of the rooms. This would not have been a big deal if she hadn't been so rude. When we returned at 3 PM, we were happy to see another desk clerk, who was very polite. The room was clean, we had all the amenities and it was the standard breakfast. It's amazing how desk clerks vary from Super 8 to Super 8. This motel is conveniently located and we would, probably, stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanBurenZgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Durango, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are sorry that you had bad experience with our front desk employee. We are going to talk too every front desk employee and make sure this does not happen again. Our goal is to provide best service possible and unfortunately we did not meet that standard. We hope to see you again in near future and we promise you will have pleasant experience.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    106
    121
    74
    49
See reviews for
135
146
34
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
CALISTOGA
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Back entrance was dirty and smelled of cigarettes. Halls were dirty with soiled carpet and odor.
Room was large and fairly clean and quiet.

Guests upstairs were noisy but overall we got some sleep.


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank STEVE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, Manager at Super 8 Durango, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write the review, we really appreciate it. The hotel is under new management and we are working on improving property. Your review will help us on areas to focus on. We hope next time you are in area you would come visit us and find property beyond your expectation.

Thank you again
Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durango hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.8 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Durango
5.6 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#11 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Durango

Property: Super 8 Durango
Address: 20 Stewart St, Durango, CO 81303-7999
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Durango 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory Hotel Durango
Super Eight Durango
Durango Super 8
Durango Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing