We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Place to Stay for Skiing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Durango
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Convenient Place to Stay for Skiing”
Reviewed February 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this Hampton Inn when going skiing this February, and our stay over all was good. The only real negative we had was that we had to change rooms after the first night due to the fact that we made two reservation (one with points, and one without). It was a minor inconvenience, which they made easy by allowing us to leave out bags with them and when we got back our bags were waiting for us in our new room.

As far as the rooms both were very clean and comfortable. The hot water does come out of the sink faucet very hot so be careful. I brought this to the attention at the front desk so hopefully they will turn the temp to the hot water heater down a bit. The showers seemed to have scald guards on them so hot water wasn't a problem with there. The bathroom to our second room did have a little loose grout that needs to be attended too, but over all the room did seem to be pretty well maintained.

As far as service this hotel was does very well. Their staff was very helpful when we had a question. The breakfast was very good. They changed up their hot items everyday, and the items I tried I liked. However, I enjoyed the waffles the most. They also had an assortment of other items like fruit, pasties, yogurt, muffins, cereal, as well. We also used the pool and hot tub while there. Pool was kind of cool until you got adjusted, but the hot tub was nice and hot.

All and all I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dblev76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    300
    89
    26
    7
See reviews for
369
327
43
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
190 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Couldn't really tell if the room was dirty or if the lighting was just too darn low. The carpet was questionable but the apparent "eco"sense of the hotel management in lowering all of the lighting made the room seem dark and dingy.

The mattresses were in need of a good updating along with all of the other furnishings. The room was quite outdated and it almost felt as if the hotel was doing the very least that was demanded of the Hampton Hotel chain. The bathroom was clean enough though.

There are plenty of tables in the lobby for those awesome Golden Malted breakfast waffles. Alas, there was only one waffle maker and at times the line stretched to five or six just waitning to get to the waffle iron.

The internet in the lobby was slower than mud.
The pool was a tad cold and the hot tub was just right. there were plenty of clean towels available in the pool area but it looked like the used ones had not been picked up all day.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abqtraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampK9, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Durango, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
We appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. We are sorry that your stay with us was less then satisfactory, but we do value your comments.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the issue of low lighting. Since your review, the maintenance and house keeping staff have inspected each room and every light fixture to make sure the correct wattage bulb is being used.

We are sorry that you missed the additional waffle iron located in our second food zone on the east side of the lobby. We provide two food zones during peak times to ensure less wait time and easier access to food.

September of this year we upgraded our internet broadband width. As improvements to the infrastructure are made in Durango, we will continue to upgrade our systems. The free internet service is very popular and in high demand at the hotel. Unfortunately during peak use times the speed can slow down when guests log onto their personal Wi-Fi devices at the same time. The free public computer in the lobby can slow down during peak travel season due to the heavy use. We can not control what people download on the computer and often those downloads can slow the internet speed. We do try to clean up the computer as often as possible.

We went back and reviewed our pool temperature records for the time period between Christmas and New Years and found that the pool ranged between 79 and 82 degrees. We check the temperature of the pool and hot tub several times a day. Our standard temperature for the pool is 82 degrees and the hot tub is 104 degrees, but it can dip a few degrees with heavy use.

In December we received our latest inspection from Hampton Inn, and we were very proud of receiving the highest marks for cleanliness. The management and staff take great pride in our hotel and our consistent high marks that our hotel receives. The feedback that we receive from guests, consistently give us high marks for our cleanliness, great staff and the comfort of our beds. And yes, the awesome waffles too.

Thank you again for your review of our hotel.

The Management-Hampton Inn, Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2010

This is a great place to stay in Durango. Its on the North end of town, minutes away from the Historic center of town. You can take the public trolly from the stop just outside the door. Saved us on finding parking downtown on a busy evening. Its only a 25 minute drive to the ski area. The rooms were very clean for being an older Hampton Inn, and the staff was really friendly and very helpful. The breakfast is the usual Hamton offerings, but the staff was really friendly and made the breakfast experience really fun and informative. I've stayed in other hotels in Durango and find the Hamton to be the best, one of the cleanest and compaired to the costs per night at other hotels, its a great value for the services and the included breakfast. We plan on coming back this winter to go skiing and will stay at the Hampton because of its close location to downtown and the easy drive to the ski area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdwatcher60933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Similar to other Hampton's as far as room size, beds, breakfast, etc. Different in that they seem to always have sports teams, bands and other loud, young people staying here. One night, we got put under the stairs and we didn't sleep a bit, but did get our money back. The staff was friendly and with some urging will take care of you, if you complain enough. We plan on staying here one night in December, and hopefully there won't be too many loud teams staying. Compared to most places in the Durango area it's a pretty good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gamingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Rockies
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Typical, friendly Hampton Inn. Front desk staff extremely friendly and knowledgable about local area. Halls a bit depressing, seemed like an older motel in appearance, but nothing "wrong" that I could put my finger on.

Standard Hampton Inn Breakfast fare (sadly, the cut fruit is too full of artificial preservatives for me, as is in all Hampton Inns, not enough gluten free choices, but whole fresh fruit is available) but hubby was thriled to find Bisquits and Sausage Gravy on the menu (they don't serve it in East Coast Hampton Inns and not something I care for anyway). Many people LOVE the full breakfast buffet choices however, if they're "typical American processed food eaters!"

Great "locals" self-serve BBQ place a few doors down, and the hotel had "free drink with sandwich" coupons - $23 dinner for 3 people! Huh? Yep! The smoked brisket was so good we got extra for snacks the next day.

Enjoyed the pool and hottub too.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DineRight4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
138 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Pluses:
Friendly and helpful guy at receiption.
Good breakfast - slightly above the average of other chain motels
Plenty of parking.
Free internet access (service dropped a lot at busy times).

Negatives:
Well out of town - about a 12 minute drive.
Slightly dated room and bathroom - but within the range of acceptable.

Summary
Good value and a good standard for Durango. The Durango hotel market isn't very dynamic and hotels tend to charge above average rates - the Hampton Inn provided a good room for the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampK9, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Durango, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Durango Hampton Inn. We're glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and are pleased that you would recommend us to your friends.

I would like to make a clarification as to our location and proximity to town. Durango's Main Street is approximately 4 miles long. We are located on the North end of Main, only 2.2 miles or 5 minutes from the heart of the Historic District and 3 miles from the Durango/Silverton Narrow Gauge Railway station. It may be too far for most people to walk, but the city provides a free trolley service to the Historic District. The trolley stop is located just outside our front door. The advantage to this free service is the elimination of needing to find parking and then paying for it once you've found it. Many of our guests use the service to avoid the all day parking fees while riding the train.

We may not be in the heart of the Historic Distict but our central location makes it an ideal spot for those who have activities in the Downtown area, Fort Lewis College, Durango Mountain Resort, Mesa Verde or plan on riding the train. Being located on the North end of town makes our location a bit quieter in the morning when the train starts running at 7:30 in the morning and the hustle and bustle of towns activites get underway at the start of the day.

Thank you again for your nice review and allowing me to explain where we are located.

The Management-Durango Hampton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
281 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Typical Hampton Inn. Clean and neat rooms. Good breakfast. Overall a good value.

What almost ruined our visit was that a tour group was staying there at the same time we were. Tour groups are a royal pain. The people mill around at all hours, cover up the breakfast area, and cause traffic jams at the front desk area upon their checking in and leaving. Honestly, we got up around 530AM, packed, and left shortly after 615AM to avoid the tour group.

I'm sorry if that comment about tour groups offends anyone, but we simply dread staying at a hotel when there is a tour group there also.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastalDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.6 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
452 reviews
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
206 reviews
2.6 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango

Property: Hampton Inn Durango
Address: 3777 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#4 Green Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the pet friendly Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily, out front access to the downtown trolley and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing