We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Durango
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed January 6, 2009

I found the Hampton Inn to be pleasant. The rooms are clean, large and modern with nice sheets and towels. the pool, exercise room and hot tub are okay. Great welcome cookies!

My only complaint relates to the staff at the front desk. They seem like they hate their job and wish you would go away. I was ignored for 10 minutes when trying to check in. Finally, someone offered, inpatiently, to check me in. Apparently, I was interfering with her break so someone else grudgingly took over. Sheesh. The attitude doesn't match the hotel ambiance.

  • Liked — large, clean rooms
  • Disliked — the staff at check in
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bokbokbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    307
    94
    28
    7
See reviews for
380
337
46
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2008

My other half and I tend to stay at the Hilton family of hotels, as we know they will give us comfort and a relaxing night. The Durango Hampton Inn is no exception. We wanted to tour the four corners region and made Durango Hampton Inn our base for a few days. This is an older property, but it has been upkept very well. the walls are clean and contain nice artwork, the carpeting and tile is in great shape and appears to be new, the Cloud 9 beds are outstanding, and the new flat screen tvs were a treat! It also appears that the pool and hot tub have been well taken care of, or recently updated. We relaxed in the hot tub and pool one of the nights and really enjoyed the facilities. The breakfast area is well designed and always well stocked. The employees are very friendly and positive, and take very good care of us. Actually, we were surprised when the manager came around during breakfast and asked if she could clear our plates away. You can tell they take pride in their location. When we come back to the Durango area, we will definitely consider the Hampton Inn again, unless the DoubleTree has about the same rates, as I like to try new places!!! :)

Also...we tried a great restaurant just down the road from the Hampton named Mama's Boy Italian Restaurant. Delicious! Dinner inclueded homemade bread, and we chose to have a dinner salad with it also. Very relaxed and great staff! We ordered traditional dinners, but the table next to us ordered calzones and they looked really good, and they all sounded very pleased with their choices.

Thanks! Darron

  • Liked — Large, comfortable room with new Flat Screen TV and Cloud 9 bed
  • Disliked — We had to come home!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Telkbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We stayed here as a stop through location on vacation. Everything was clean and comfy. It was late when we got in, and they had just finished checking-in a huge group, but they still got us in fairly quickly. Because it was so late, we didn't really "tour" the hotel much or see anything besides our room or the lobby.

One snag in the stay was that the fire alarm went off at 3:00am. This has happened before when staying in a hotel, so I am used to ignoring them. It went on for a long time, so we decided we should maybe pay attention. All the other guests decided that about the same time as we did. About the time we got down there, we learned that some stupid person had pulled the alarm. Of course, this is at no fault of the hotel. The only bad part is that they didn't know how to turn it off, which is why it went on so long. I guess other workers would have known how to turn it off, but the one there that night didn't.

Otherwise, the stay was fine. Nothing really to complain about. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank melrch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOWE
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

Good location. Good free breakfast. Not so quiet at the front side if the bikers are checking their engines. A bit more expensive than it should be. However, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
Durango is an interesting city. If you have all day, go to Silverstone by train. Next day, visit Mesa Verde.

  • Liked — Clean hotel
  • Disliked — Couple dollars more expensive than it should be.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoweDZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

First off, I have to say Hilton/Hampton Inns are a favorite of ours. The Durango Hampton Inn is about 2 miles north of the town, excellent location, easy to get anywhere, quiet. Room was very clean, up to date, and comfortable. Best of all, I thought the staff from front desk to breakfast area were very professional, friendly, knowledgable and helpful. We loved Durango, were pleasantly surprised by the variety of restaurants available and really enjoyed the train to Silverton and return. Accommodations were typical Hampton Inn - excellent beds and bedding. Expected amenities (including good choice for breakfast) and a large room with sofa. Some have said it is an "old hotel" - we didn't find it dated or worn, Guest laundry and Internet services better than some other hotels. If asked, I would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Comfort, location, professional staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

Reunited with Durango after visiting there nearly 20 years ago. Boy, how it has changed. We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was my two daughters 4 and 5 and my wife and myself. We had a room with two double beds. Rooms are extremely small. There is just no extra space. Beds were also small, and not comfortable for two adults. The kids can sleep anywhere. Breakfast was ok, but the area is packed in the morning. Selection was good. Overall impression was that we would not come back. I would stay as a single or business traveler, but that would be it. Way overpriced for what you are getting. They also skipped cleaning our room on the last day. So after running around all day, coming back to a messed up room was disappointing. Had to go get clean towels at the front desk. Got the feeling that they did not care...........

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Small cramped rooms. Room not getting serviced
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Robmicgrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, MO
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

My wife and I just returned from 10 days in SW Colorado. When we began our trip the only reservation we had was for our overnight stay in Silverton but as we got closer to our destination we decided we should try to nail down something in Durango since we wanted to be there at least 3 nights. Using TripAdvisor we chose the Hampton and were very pleased with our accomodations. When we checked in we were told that we had a handicapped accessible room but decided that was because all the other rooms were booked. The young man checking us in said that if we wanted to check back in the morning perhaps we could move to another room. Actually, the only thing that we noticed different was the wide bathroom entrance and the narrow bathroom vanity ledges so we just stayed put. The rooms were exceptionally clean, the entire staff was extremely efficient and pleasant. A highlight was breakfast. Besides the typical toast, cereal, fruit assortment, they had a alternating hot entree, i.e. egg omelette, ham, biscuits and gravy, to name a few. Also coffee was available, as far as I know, 24 hours a day. Another thing we noticed is the staff made sure the breakfast bar was well stocked and were readily available to help the happy patrons.

After our night in Silverton, we decided that we needed to stay another night in Durango so we called the Hampton to see if there was a chance they had any rooms left for the next night. The first indication was they were booked up but when they determined we had just been there 3 nights earlier in the week, they said they did have 1 room left for emergency situations and booked us into that one.

The only negative, if you can call it that, is that the rooms don't have the small refrigerators that are becoming more commonplace.

The hotel is located on the eastern edge of town but only 5 minutes from downtown so that wasn't an issue.

  • Liked — Great staff
  • Disliked — No refrigerator
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OnthegoBranson_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
243 reviews
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Durango
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango

Property: Hampton Inn Durango
Address: 3777 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#4 Green Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the pet friendly Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily, out front access to the downtown trolley and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing