We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Durango
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St Johns, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed at this hotel while doing some rock climbing in the Durago area. The hotel has a fantastic decore in the both the public area and rooms. They had warm cookies at night and the breakfast was good. The pool was a nice are to relax. What made this Hampton stand out from the others was the staff. The were very welcoming and friendly. They made you feel that they were happy to have you stay there. Their dinner suggestion was great and helped me find the area for climbing I was looking for. Will stay there next time in Durango. Note -- nothing is cheap in Durango especialy this time of year. So if I have to spend the money I want the best and this was it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgallag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    260
    76
    22
    6
See reviews for
310
283
36
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was the best hotel EVER! The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful and the hotel manager was on-site during our stay - personally greeting guests at the breakfast. The room was clean and very comfortable. Our trip to the hot tub also found the hotel manager checking to be sure all was well with the area and condition of the pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Davis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachussetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel while travelling from Moba, UT to Santa Fe, NM. Hotel is beautiful and service is top notch. Too bad we could only stay for one night. They allowed us to checkout 1 hr later so we could get some rest before driving to Santa Fe. Very modern decor, excellent pool, gym and hot breakfast. Parking is ample and you could get free trolley to town right outside the hotel. Check it out if you are looking for place to stay while visiting Durango, CO

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibandu_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This is the usual Hampton Inn experience. Always have everything a business traveler would need for work and comfort. Always love the cookies at night, and the coffee always available. Complimentary breakfast always the same. This hotel had an indoor pool, but no fitness room. Apparently there is one close by, but I did not want to leave the hotel once my work day was over. Thought it was a little pricey, but the area is very pretty. Will continue to stay at this location whenever working in Durango.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I think we travelers have come to accept the crazy prices in Durango as the price of doing business. Throw in a luke warm breakfast and we get giddy with our Visa card. At 2 bills a night you should at least get something above the norm. This place just a little better than a motel I would pay 50 bucks for in Cortez. That is where I'am staying now when visiting my kid in school in Durango. The Disneyland Hotel at home is cheaper than this joint and they got Mickey Mouse.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank v incent b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Durango, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. I acknowledge that our prices are not comparable to those in Cortez during the summer season. Durango has a lot to offer in the summer with regards to activities, night-time entertainment and dining, and lodging options.At Hampton Inn we do our best to offer prices that are competitive within the Durango market. You will find Durango off-season rates starting in November are very competitive to the Cortez rates and I hope you would reconsider Durango for future visits.

I would like to know more about the issue with your credit card and invite you to contact me directly either by phone or e-mail. Without knowing the specific details of your experience it is difficult to address. I assure you we strive to comply with standard procedures with regards to credit card security and processing.

Thanks for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We booked a two-night stay at this property for our short vacation without the kids! The place was OK - what you'd expect for an older Hampton Inn property with a bit of a lobby/breakfast area facelift. But the price was something that I'd expect to pay for a King-Suite and this was not what we stayed in at this property. Again, not unacceptable, but not worth what we paid. I know Durango is expensive but Hampton Inn has a reputation for nice places for a reasonable price. This property is about $50 more a night than it should be in my opinion based on the age and size of the rooms. We stayed on the third floor to keep the noise to a minimum during our stay and it was very quiet.

Room Tip: Top floor seems to be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank MaryRN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Very professional, friendly atmosphere and staff. Rooms were very clean and quiet, and the trolley runs very close to the hotel. There is a good and free breakfast with decent coffee. It's close to downtown and the Colorado trail. Great place overall.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
2.6 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango

Property: Hampton Inn Durango
Address: 3777 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#4 Green Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to Downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered.Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad.Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing