We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good choice if you don't need to be Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Durango
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good choice if you don't need to be Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a little further from the downtown than I had realized and all of the restaurants nearby seemed to close quite early, but the young women at reception were very helpful in recommending a place to eat downtown and giving us directions. The room was dependably nice though I'm beginning to think that Hamptons all use a cleaning product with a strong fragrance that can be an issue for those with sensitivity. Overall, a good choice if you don't need to be right in town.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kkaseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    268
    77
    22
    6
See reviews for
313
292
36
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
184 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Had a nice stay at the Hampton Inn. As others have said, the hotel is not at all new but is in very good condition and clean. Looks like it has been updated not too long ago. Not in town but on the Northern outskirts. Amenities typical of most Hampton Inns. Greeted nicely at Check In late in the evening but morning front desk guy couldn't seem to muster a smile or a pleasant hello. Didn't seem he really wanted to be at work. The folks keeping the breakfast area tidy though were very nice. Parking was easy, I would stay again. You don't have too many view options as you can mostly look at a parking lot or apartments.

Room Tip: West side rooms probably quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank be32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a good time. Very clean and very friendly and helpful staff. We would come back next time we come to Durango. Maybe a bit more seating for the breakfast area would be helpful. It was packed on Sunday Morning. But staff brought extra chairs out when we asked them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank jolandamichaelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Booked two rooms for a family get-away weekend and called ahead to be sure we would have a mini-fridge and microwave in the rooms so we could heat some of our home-made meals and avoid eating out on the busy Mother's Day weekend.

Problem: neither room had a microwave. The manager on duty said she'd find one in another, empty room and have it sent to one of our rooms. Didn't happen. Spoke with the day manager and she said none of the rooms have microwaves and that I'd been misinformed--by at least two other members of her staff. Not the end of the world, but for our purposes, the misinformation caused an unnecessary problem. They made amends by allowing us to use the microwave in their complimentary breakfast kitchen.

Rooms have been remodeled; very clean, nice layout in the bathrooms and the new tile was a nice touch. Plenty of hot water and decent water pressure but the highly-touted "massage shower head" was abysmally broken and impossible to adjust.

Walls were a bit thin, so hall noise and room-to-room noise was noticeable, but we left the bathroom fan on to provide some white noise.

Thermostat worked well and the desk had plenty of plug-ins and lights. However the complimentary internet access was a convoluted mess to access and the front desk was no help at all in resolving the issue. Patience and perseverance eventually prevailed, though we had to use a little different method every time to make it work--all we can really say is good luck.

Complimentary breakfast was actually quite good, and the hostess was a pleasure to talk with. Hot eggs, bacon, waffles, oatmeal with numerous toppings, toast, juice, etc--actually exceptional in the world of complimentary breakfasts.

Overall, a decent place to stay but they lost significant points on the details. Misleading information prior to and at check-in is unacceptable; shower head is a key item that needs work and the internet access fiasco all hurt the score.

Room Tip: Get to the end of a hallway and away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flattops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Staff, amenities, and cleanliness are the best. I will always stay here when I go to Durango. It is convenient and on the road to Silverton. We enjoyed our stay very much. The Hilton Hotel chain always makes me feel welcome and the personnel are trained very well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Hotel seems a bit old - but not at all 'beat-up'. The rooms are a bit small vs. some of the newer Hamptons - but again, nothing to complain about. Probably will need an upgarde in a couple years. Breakfast the usuall Hampton fare (very good). Quite a bit of room in the breakfast area - which is good for an older Hampton. Also a lot of room for sitting/eating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meeker, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We liked this hotel because it is located just outside of town away from the traffic and noise but really close to the attractions. Booking online was also very easy. We will deefinately be staying here for future trips in this area. Thanks for a relaxing stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Chancey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#4 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
2.6 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 911 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango

Property: Hampton Inn Durango
Address: 3777 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#4 Green Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to Downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered.Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad.Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing