We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very wheelchair accessible!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Durango
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very wheelchair accessible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I've been skiing in Durango for over 15 years and I always stay at this hotel. Last year the owner did an extensive remodel. Not only does this hotel look better than any other Hampton Inn I've ever stayed in, the owner paid special attention to wheelchair accessibility. There's plenty of handicap parking outside but the best part is the accessible bathrooms. There's lots of legroom under the sink, grab bars near the toilet, and there is a great roll-in shower with multiple temperature controls, shower heads, and grab bars as well as a wall-mounted fold-down padded bench. The desk in the bedroom also provides plenty of legroom and the closet has a lowered hanger bar. I've been using a wheelchair for 23 years and I travel extensively. This may be the most wheelchair friendly hotel I've ever stayed in...especially the bathrooms!

Green Features: This is definitely a hotel that is owned and managed by environmentally conscious folks.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alkovachjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Durango, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your experience at Hampton Inn in Durango, and for the assessment of our accessibility features. Our owner put a lot of consideration into the remodel and our guests have noticed. We do hope you will visit our property again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    287
    86
    24
    7
See reviews for
361
312
40
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I’ve stayed here twice, both times while in town to ski, and have been extremely pleased both times. First, as far as location, the Hampton Inn is on the North side of town on the road to Durango, which makes it considerably closer to the mountain than many of the other hotels of equal price and quality in Durango. Second, I cannot think of another hotel that I’ve stayed at that has had a better complimentary breakfast selection. Lots of hot food options that really get your morning off to the right start. As for the rooms, clean would be the best description, not that they are not also comfortable. In fact, on the latter point, the beds make for a perfect place to collapse onto after a long day of fresh powder skiing at Durango. Lastly, for the quality of the room and my stay, I’d have to say that I was extremely pleased with the price and value. This location is well above the average Hampton Inn, which as chain hotels go, tend to be better than most to begin with. Only potential downside is that I think they could do a better job of salting and removing ice from immediately in front of the doors to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Hampton Inn provides good service, clean and modern rooms and excellent proximity to ski locations. The price for the night at the Hampton Inn is quite good, and while not particularly unique, our stay at the Hampton Inn was relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable. The hotel and rooms were decorated in a modern and tasteful style. There was free coffee available at all times, and the breakfast buffet was quite good. It was a great way to start the morning before skiing. In short the Hampton Inn Durango is pleasant and comfortable at an accessible rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hotel and room were both very clean. Staff was friendly and curteous. The fitness center was located at a gym down the street. It was a little inconvenient but a nice facility. Only complaint, the walls were a little thin at night but other thanthat the hotel was very nice and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Durango, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn for your recent visit to Durango! Thank you also for reviewing your stay on TripAdvisor. The Community Recreation Center, just 10 blocks south of the hotel is a well utilized and popular amenity for our guests. The offerings of the facility outway the travel time for most guests. We do hope you will visit our community and hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of our stay in Durango at the Hampton Inn. There were many hidden bonuses. At first we were hesitant to stay so far away from Downtown as we like to walk around but then it was quiet and more family friendly. The recreation center passes were a wonderful amenity. We enjoyed the restaurants within walking distance as well as the market. A first rate experience and we will return. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cecilia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Durango, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. We are just 2.5 miles from historic downtown Durango offering a quieter setting without compromising convenience. The City of Durango offers a complimentary trolley service with stops every 20 minutes. They stop just in front of the hotel and provide access to downtown-a great way to avoid the hassles of parking! The Rec Center passes are popular with our guests and the river trail is easily accessible as well. We do look forward to having you as our guests again, hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were on a family business trip and wanted a clean, quiet place that we could get a good night's sleep, a warm breakfast and hit the road. The Hampton Inn fit the bill. It's on the main drag up to the ski slopes and on a February long weekend, there were some skiiers there, but it was still quiet, the room was clean and well appointed and breakfast was hot and ready first thing. The young man at reception was pleasant and helpful even the next morning after an extended shift. If you're not looking for something unique, if you just want a good place to stay, this fits the bill.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COSpgsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Durango, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for selecting Hampton Inn Durango for your recent visit! We do appreciate your business and thank you also for reviewing your stay on trip advisor. We are pleased that you were satisfied with your stay and hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had 5 couples that stayed over Valentines Day...and decided to try this hotel instead of the one we usually stay at...it was priced higher but worth the extra we paid. The parking lot fit our big trucks with snowmobile trailer and the atmosphere in the lobby was really nice...They had fresh coffee in the lobby at all hours and certain times they had fresh baked cookies which was a plus for my husband..The rooms were very clean, the bed linens all looked clean and fresh and the rooms are very new and modern looking and had everything you needed. The Continental breakfast was above average. The Staff was always friendly and asked if we needed anything. The only thing I noticed was the walls are kind of thin so you could hear noisy people...and we didn't get to use the pool because they were having a pizza party and a bunch of kids were in there..but not the hotels fault...we really liked this hotel and would stay again..

Room Tip: Rooms in the back away from the road are quieter and the highest floor..is nice so you can't hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimtam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Durango, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for selecting Hampton Inn Durango for your stay and for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you found value in the breakfast, accommodations, yummy cookies, and hot coffee. Durango is a romantic little town-a perfect choice for a Valentines get away. We do hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.6 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
2.6 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango

Property: Hampton Inn Durango
Address: 3777 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#4 Green Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the pet friendly Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily, out front access to the downtown trolley and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing