We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Durango
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Paul, MN, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The most important factors for us were all met: comfortable bed and pillows and quietness of room. Also good breakfast as free hotel offering go. Also very clean and friendly staff. Location is not a plus if you want to be spending time in town after checking in. However, we ate first and were heading north in the morning so it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    260
    76
    22
    6
See reviews for
310
283
36
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at the Durango Hampton Inn. The staff was efficient and friendly. The standard Hampton Inn breakfast was well executed. The rooms have been remodeled and although a little small they have a nice continental/urban feel and are comfortable. If you don't need to be near downtown Durango this property is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a newer property, the room has a good layout for travel items and clothes, has fridge, microwave, flat screen TV, nice linens, comfortable bed, free wifi, extra plug ins for chargers. Nice, clean, and modern. The breakfast has 3 hot items each morning. The first morning was eggs, sausage, and potatoes. The second morning it was gravy, biscuits, and omelets. Every morning they had oatmeal, juices, coffees, make your own waffles, pastries, fruit, yogurt and the quality was good. I had to ask the staff at the desk for help each day and they were very accommodating and friendly (i.e. directions, places to eat, a sharpie to address a box). There is a Texas BBQ restaurant a block away and we ate there twice (the front desk gave us coupons for a free drink or chips). The pork was delicious, but the brisket was kind of dry.

Room Tip: If you need a quiet room, ask for a room on the back side of the wing that is parallel to the highwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip and thoroughly enjoyed the place. The beds were so comfortable I just wanted to sleep in! The bathroom was a good size and always clean. Plenty of space in the wardrobe. The decor was nice as well, very modern. Mini fridge, TV and free wi-fi which was great.

The breakfast each morning was wonderful, there was a good selection and plenty of everything. I really enjoyed the coffee/tea bar as well. Of course you can't beat those delicious fresh cookies in the evening! I definitely had one...or two or three...

The staff was very friendly and quick to get you anything you might need. Housekeeping did a great job every day.

There was a pool and hot tub, but I didn't have a chance to try them out. I do wish they had had a gym, however I heard they offered passed to the rec center down the street. Since the weather was so nice in the evenings I just went jogging.

There are a few places to eat within walking distance, didn't notice anything fancy. The pizza place I went by smelled good. All in all I would definitely stay here again.

Green Features: They had the "hang your towel to reuse, leave on the floor to replace" policy which was great.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KelliM819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel was nicely kept and comfortable. There was always hot coffee and tea in the lobby. Breakfast was hot and there was a good variety of food to choose from. The rooms were also very quiet. The week end we were there the hotel was full of children playing in a soccer tournament. You never would have known. We were disappointed that there was no fitness center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We enjoyed the entire stay in Durango, Colorado. Our room had plenty of room and comfortable beds. The continental breakfast had a great variety. The pool and hot tub were fabulous. This location had a large area in the breakfast room to play cards at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Darby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Although the room was not overly large it was comfortable. The beds were very comfy and there was plenty of storage space. The bathroom was a decent size and there were plenty of towels (unlike some places!) The air conditioner unit worked well and was quiet.

The staff were very friendly and the whole place had a relaxed friendly atmosphere to it. The free hot and cold breakfast was very good and set out well. The free coffee and cookies are also a nice touch.

The swimming pool was of a decent size and there is also a hot tub.

Having been on the Durango Silverton Railway we had to use the laundry facilities which were excellent. The area was clean and the washing and drying didn't take to long. It was safe to leave your clothes in the machines whilst enjoying the swimming pool.

Lovely stay - would definately stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mvrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
2.6 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango

Property: Hampton Inn Durango
Address: 3777 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#4 Green Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to Downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered.Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad.Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing