We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly People...but” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durango Travelodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Durango Travelodge
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    94
    126
    83
    66
See reviews for
159
123
45
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Gunnison, CO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

This motel was a pleasant surprise. The room was clean, and although basic motel style it has everything we needed. The location was convenient to downtown and easy to find. Road noise was noticeable, but with the air conditioner fan running we slept week. No pool or spa, but I don't use them any way. All in all a good place to stay at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, General Manager at Durango Travelodge, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly strive to provide as much value as possible and overcome some of the challenges we face as an older property. We certainly hope that if back in the Durango area you will visit with us again. Once again thank you for your kind words and choosing us for your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Sixty bucks a night for Memorial Day weekend is a good deal, but they couldn't find any washcloths until we'd been there for 48 hours. Breakfast is average. The floor joists creak and so you don't get quiet. Location on main tourist drag..ok if you're just passing through but hard to enjoy downtown from there.

Room Tip: Away from the highway, in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geotraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, General Manager at Durango Travelodge, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Three Stars and yet, no Washcloths? Thank you for your kind words and generous review. We do apologize for the lack of washcloths we did have some laundry challenges over the weekend that resulted in a shortage of washcloths and other items. Incidentally we are in the midst of updating and increasing our linen inventory and are merely waiting on the shipment ot arrive. We are indeed an older unit and do have some quirks (i.e. creaking floorboards), and are in the process of undergoing repairs and minor renovations. We do strive to provide a good value for the dollar and although we do not have an extended breakfast, we feel it still is comparable to other hotels in the area in the same rate class. We do hope that if ever back in Durango, we will be your choice for your lodging needs. Thanks again for the kind words despite some of our shortcomings while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Actually, the first night we had was fine and the manager and front desk folks were very helpful, even digging out a full set of towels for our rollaway-3rd-guest despite the fact that the place was full due to graduation and a soccer tournament (as was ALL of the town). But the second night it was a different story, despite the town now being all but empty. The problem was that we'd had to change rooms for night 2, and there were literally no rooms with a functioning interior lock. We explained we had been in several, even high-end, hotels and motels where people tried to get in and the only thing keeping them out was that interior hinge-type security lock, not just the card-key one on the outside. The (new) front desk person agreed that, obviously, a room lacking an interior security lock could be opened by anyone with the right card-key . She kept trying, gave us keys to 3 different rooms in vain (one card-key-lock was even completely broken) and then even checked all the other available rooms to no avail, admitting ruefully that there were no rooms that had the interior hinge-type security lock and was very gracious, saying she'd process a refund the next day when we told her we did not feel safe and would be leaving for a different hotel because by now there was vacancy all over town. But her manager said no when hotels.com called to confirm the refund. So Hotels.com is going to bat for us, AND I am disputing it with AMEX, too, so we should get a refund eventually....no thanks to Travellodge.

Room Tip: go with the Hampton Inn in Durango. It's EXCELLENT and worth it in every respect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, General Manager at Durango Travelodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
I'm sorry to hear about your experience here at the Durango Travelodge. I have placed a maintenance request in for our maintenance dept to go through every room and check for and replace any missing security locks. Also, I would like to say I have NEVER received a call from hotels.com asking for any refund. from my understanding our front desk clerk tried to move you and you did not like any of our locks and she was not authorized to issue any refunds. I have issued back a credit to Hotels.com. I apologize for any misunderstanding and for the lock issue you experienced we are working on correcting that problem immediately. If you do decide to come back to the area and would give us a second chance PLEASE call us directly we will be happy to give you a discount on another room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durango hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.8 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.2 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Knights Inn Durango CO
Knights Inn Durango CO
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.8 mi away
Durango Downtown Inn
Durango Downtown Inn
#22 of 33 in Durango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Travelodge

Property: Durango Travelodge
Address: 2970 Main Ave, 30th & Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301-4243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Durango Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Durango Hotel Durango
Travel Lodge Durango
Durango Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing