We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Durango!!!!!”
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strater Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Durango!!!!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2010

If you enjoy a wonderful atmosphere, live music nightly, and a wonderful staff you should stay at the Strater. My employer holds meetings every two years and I look forward to staying there and meeting there each time! The complimentary breakfast including the wonderful posole is incredible. Being so close to downtown, everything is within walking distance and given the two bars and restaurant facilities onsite, you don't need to leave! If I could move into the Strater I would.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NM_Traveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    345
    104
    37
    23
See reviews for
215
542
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Third stay at Strater and I still love this hotel for location and ambience. Complimentary breakfast was wonderfully diverse. Hotel bar and restaurants were lively. Desk staff could have been friendlier and more helpful but bar staff was exceptional. Minor details were missed by management (wet floors in entry way, empty vending machines, insufficient staff at front desk, dirty dishes in hallway) and extras were available that we were not told of at check-in like a daily newpaper was complimentary but had to be asked for at front desk and lift tickets available at front desk. Need a better selection of television channels but I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyB97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremithousa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We have stayed at the Strater 3 times now and love it. Breakfast is included in the room rate. All of the rooms are decorated beautifully. The ambiance is wonderful. The staff are friendly and helpful also.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franknpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

The Strater is just the best-comfortable, friendly, fun. This is our fourth or fifth visit-we love it, great location. Close to the train, within walking distance of great restaurants. Nice happy hour in both bars. If you can, and need the room, stay in room 108 or any of the big rooms on the first floor.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EpeeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2010

The hotel is beautiful, the people is very nice and friendly, everything is very close and the place in general is beautiful.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sya1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Strater Hotel last week (mid December). It was a wonderful experience. The staff was really friendly, the hotel was gorgeous (full of antiques and unique charm), the location was unbeatable in Durango, and the price was amazing. The hotel has several on site places to eat or have a drink, all of which share the general ambiance. There is a parking lot directly next to the hotel - which is a life saver with the poor parking available in the old part of town. The only downside that I can think of is that breakfast is served between 7:00 and 9:00. While on vacation I like to sleep in a bit. BTW, the overall quality of the included breakfast is better than most American hotels. Nothing to write home about though.

Bottom line: If you want to stay in Durango and are interested in a hotel with great value, style, location, and staff, stay at the Strater Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Achillesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2009

My wife and I checked in here as the first place on our honeymoon, we stayed for 4 nights.
The decor is all antique,which was very neat. The curtains and comforter on the bed were burgandy colored, crushed velvet! Very comfy!
The food in their Mahogany Grill was awesome.
The atmosphere in the Office as well as the Diamond Bell was very cool, relaxed.
All of the staff was very helpful.
We even reserved the jacuzzi room for one of the nights.....totally romantic!
The breakfast could have been a bit better and the sound proofing was HORRIBLE.....we could hear everything from the Diamond Bell and the streets.
The seating was not very comfortable in out room either.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bissbeebuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
218 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Property: Strater Hotel
Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing