We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Strater Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
telluride, colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

This was my second stay at the Strater. Centrally located on Durango's main street, the Strater is walking distance to just about everywhere. The hotel has been beautifully restored. The rooms are comfy and quiet. The staff is great. The breakfast was good--you must try the posole.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    310
    97
    35
    20
See reviews for
196
497
31
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas(ish)
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

The Strater was ... adequate. I suppose my expectations were a little higher than was probably warranted. The accessibility issues (small elevator, long walk to room, no ramps) were more of an issue for us than most because we were pushing a stroller around the whole time. The room was fine. Definitely old and historic-y which was further reinforced by its old, stale smell and incredibly creaky floors. The service was also so-so, with young teenage types running the front desk. They were unhelpful in the extreme when I tried to arrange horseback riding for my 8 yr old. The elevator is VERY small -- I can't reiterate this enough. We had four people (two children) and all of our luggage and had to take two trips. We sprang for the second nicest/biggest (so they said) room and it was a loooong way from the elevator and had a lovely view of -- exterior HVAC equipment. The parking situation sucks in the extreme. You can *try* for a spot in the lot directly adjacent, but more than likely, you'll be parking about a block away. The Diamond Belle was moderately entertaining and the food was okay. My 8 yr old, however, LOVED the place. The best thing I can say about this place is that the location was SUPERB for exploring/playing in Durango proper.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mgregroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

My family and I stayed at the Strater Hotel again when my husband had to go to Durango for business. This is our second time staying here and it was another wonderful experience. The staff is very friendly. The room was VERY clean. The rooms have a real cozy feeling to them and the beds are very comfortable. This is a great hotel and are definately going to be staying there again in the future. The breakfast was great again and the older man who clears off the tables at breakfast is very friendly and offered us some information about the area. It was a very pleasant visit again! We will return!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecritterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2009

I stayed here in the winter with my partner and had a wonderful experience. Our room had complimentary chocolates! It felt more like a guest room in someone's house than a hotel room - comfy and homely. The rooms are not big but they're full of character, which I love. I'd read some negative reviews here about breakfast, but I thought it was wonderful: plenty of good food, both hot and cold. We used the free hot tub - it was great! Make sure you reserve it when you stay here. Front desk staff were great, and we ordered room service and were very happy with it. We had a problem on checking out which was actually our own fault, and the Strater did as promised and fixed it for us. My one complaint would be the mattress: it was very soft, so we rolled in towards each other at night and woke up with achey backs. The size of the bed was no problem for my 6'4 partner but the mattress was too soft for our tastes.
This was probably my best hotel experience ever: I didn't know hotels could be so homely and personal. I was a little worried about the price as I usually just stay in motels, but it was worth every penny.

  • Liked — Great location, great service, great character
  • Disliked — Mattress in room was too soft
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2009

Wonderful stay! Love the history, location, and coziness of this hotel. Rooms were a little small, but most people will get over it. Staff was friendly and very helpful. The free breakfast was beyond expectations. Would stay again.

  • Liked — History
  • Disliked — One small elevator
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebonnet55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2008

We usually go for nicer and modern but we wanted charm and character this time. It did have a lot of history (ask the bell man to show your kids the hidden places they the westerners hid their guns and money). Rooms and bathrooms were pretty cramped but that's how it was back then. Kids rode the Polar Express which was absoloutely fabulous.
Our dining experience was horrible. We went for Thanksgiving weekend and when we were seated at our table we were told that they ran out of turkey. Major bummer! We had prime rib instead. Breakfast hours were short 7-9. For breakfast they were understaffed so we had to bus a table ourselves so we could sit down. Then when we went to get our food they were out of eggs. I asked to speak with food and beverage mgr and I expressed my disappointment and recommended they put out more food. I guess she didn't like the way I asked so she called me a smart [--],on her way back to the kitchen. I was mortified and offended. General mgr comped our whole stay but all in all it was a terrible experience for us.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank khill1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StraterHotel, Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2008
Dear Reviewer –
Thank you for posting your honest opinion of your stay at the Historic Strater Hotel. Without honest feedback from our guest we would never know where we need to improve or whether to keep things the way they are. We are not perfect but we do strive to accommodate our guests with their best intentions at heart.
This guest was absolutely right; their dining experience on Thanksgiving was not perfect. We did run out of turkey and had to offer a comparable substitute. As for our employee a (breakfast attendant and not the Food and Beverage Manager) there is no excuse, immediately upon hearing the situation we terminated her employment with us. We pride ourselves on giving our guest the finest customer service around and that was completely inexcusable.
We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We acknowledge what went wrong and did our best to make sure you were as comfortable as possible by giving you a complimentary stay. We hope that you will understand that this was out of character for our hotel and we are a great hotel! We would love to have you back as a guest to show you that we do things right and our guest satisfaction is most important.
The Historic Strater Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2008

We just got back from spending one night at the Strater and really enjoyed it. We used this as a base for touring the Main Street and surrounding cities, so all we have to rate are the common areas, room and continental breakfast. All were above par.

The king room was beautifully appointed but a bit cramped. As one reviewer mentioned, the bathroom is quite small (at least ours was), with no room to maneuver around each other. The shower was plain, with no ledge on which to set anything. We had just enough room to jockey around our luggage on each side of the bed. Our 4th floor location was nice and quiet. The elevator to get there was small, but adequate for two people and two suitcases. We rarely had to wait.

The hotel staff were wonderful and professional. Even the gentleman clearing our plates from breakfast made us smile several times. The breakfast, by the way, was well done. Scones and posole were the highlights at our table, and there was a good variety for even the pickiest breakfast eaters.

We did not visit any of the restaurants, but they all looked inviting (and busy enough!). There are apparently three parking areas, all close by. We arrived on the weekend and simply parked on the street overnight with no issues.

All in all, this was a gorgeous, period hotel, as many others have noted. Perhaps next time we would get a larger room, as this was the only thing lacking.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.1 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Property: Strater Hotel
Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing