We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Antique but comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strater Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeside Park, KY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Antique but comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I chose the Strater because it featured antique walnut furniture in an old hotel. But it is also located in the heart of downtown, along the "main" street. There are lots of shops to look in (including an antique mall) and you can walk to the river and also see the steam engine train go by right behind the hotel. The breakfast (included) is great. It is a full breakfast, made on the premises, not mailed in. You are seated by a hostess. We also ate at Diamond Belle's in the hotel. I had the bluecorn crusted trout and it was wonderful. The costumed waitresses were cute. We attended the Henry Strater Theater for the vaudeville show. It was fun. It was great to have all these activities available.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor. The elevator was slow, so sometimes we walked up. But at Durango...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    291
    88
    33
    17
See reviews for
183
456
30
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Thank you to all the staff (especially Julie Ann) at the Strater Hotel who made our 25th Anniversary amazing. Your customer service went above and beyond. The Strater is an amazing historic hotel that doesn't disappoint. Close to everything.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank De Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is a nice flashback in time. It is located downtown and convenient to shops and Durango railroad depot. It has many antiques and well upkept. Pricing is way overboard for what you get however. Air conditioning was not adequate, rooms needed fans, floors creaked, single elevator was very slow, and water pressure was low. Cheap breakfast buffet next door as part of checkin was worth the $5. Nothing like being asked for a tip however when you do everything to service yourself. Though tipping was for good service being provided. Guess times are changing.

Can say I experienced the hotel because of its history, but would not come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Staunchest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Fun place to stop for a beverage . Great atmosphere and old time design and furnishings. Staff dressed in old time garb which was fun. Good selection of drinks..current and past favorites. My husband has a gin fizz. We didn't stay at the hotel but would try to do that on our next visit. It was booked so requires advance planning

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed one night here on our way to Breckenridge. It is an old hotel, but well maintained, close to the main shopping area & restaurants! Took a carriage ride around the town, fun! Would stay there again!

Room Tip: The double queen room was the same price as a queen? No makeup mirror. If u are as blind as I am, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in after a motorcycle rally and enjoyed the ragtime piano and some drinks. Wife likes a specialty drink and they made it perfectly. Appetizers were great and the piano player was very accomplished, taking requests and playing without sheet music. If you have not been here you should stop in at least for a drink an some goo old time music

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sbkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Based upon my wife's friends recommendation, we spent our only night in Durango at the Strater Hotel.

It's located in the heart of downtown, has a fun Wild West lobby feel with antiques and memorabilia and old Victorian furniture, and the room is decent. You even feel that the room has been updated with new wallpaper, and beds but then you step into the bathroom and boom! that's where the upgrades stopped. The sinks are old, tubs are old school, the chrome tarnished. Why have a nice room with an out of date bathroom?
Also the soap they give you is the size of a quarter -- seriously! -- and just as thin.

We booked two beds: a queen and full but what we got was two same sized full beds. When we asked the front desk clerk he said "They're different sizes you just have to look closely."

The next morning I asked a different front desk clerk if it was necessary to book a guide beforehand to see the Ciff Dwellings in Mesa Verde. She said no, you can explore them on your own. That ran counter to what I had read, but I gave her the benefit of the doubt since I assume if she works the front desk she knows about nearby attractions. Luckily, when we arrived in Mesa Verde there were still a few tours left because YES you DO need a guide to see the Cliff Dwellings.

Overall: decent room, great beds, but front desk clerks leave a lot to be desired.
Also for the price (we paid $260), the room is greatly overvalued.
Oh, and the elevator was broken all morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.1 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#7 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#9 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Property: Strater Hotel
Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing