We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks and appetizers at bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strater Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Drinks and appetizers at bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in after a motorcycle rally and enjoyed the ragtime piano and some drinks. Wife likes a specialty drink and they made it perfectly. Appetizers were great and the piano player was very accomplished, taking requests and playing without sheet music. If you have not been here you should stop in at least for a drink an some goo old time music

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sbkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    282
    87
    33
    17
See reviews for
178
449
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Based upon my wife's friends recommendation, we spent our only night in Durango at the Strater Hotel.

It's located in the heart of downtown, has a fun Wild West lobby feel with antiques and memorabilia and old Victorian furniture, and the room is decent. You even feel that the room has been updated with new wallpaper, and beds but then you step into the bathroom and boom! that's where the upgrades stopped. The sinks are old, tubs are old school, the chrome tarnished. Why have a nice room with an out of date bathroom?
Also the soap they give you is the size of a quarter -- seriously! -- and just as thin.

We booked two beds: a queen and full but what we got was two same sized full beds. When we asked the front desk clerk he said "They're different sizes you just have to look closely."

The next morning I asked a different front desk clerk if it was necessary to book a guide beforehand to see the Ciff Dwellings in Mesa Verde. She said no, you can explore them on your own. That ran counter to what I had read, but I gave her the benefit of the doubt since I assume if she works the front desk she knows about nearby attractions. Luckily, when we arrived in Mesa Verde there were still a few tours left because YES you DO need a guide to see the Cliff Dwellings.

Overall: decent room, great beds, but front desk clerks leave a lot to be desired.
Also for the price (we paid $260), the room is greatly overvalued.
Oh, and the elevator was broken all morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a very special place... a destination in its own right.

First of all the staff were great. I accidentally left a bag behind after I'd checked out and only found out when I was at Mesa Verde! They were very helpful and stored it at reception so I could just pick it up at my convenience. They gave us excellent advice in driving to Ouray as the first winter storms were just arriving and we had to cross three 10,000 foot passes in our hire car - all went well although driving conditions were hazardous (see photo).

My girlfriend took a bit of persuading to go to the Diamond Belle Saloon, but she had a great time when we got there. The bar staff were really friendly and they had some actors bringing the history of the place alive... and this place has many stories behind it.

It is a beautiful hotel inside (see photos) and the rates are very reasonable. We chose a Classic room with full size bed at the top of the hotel which was very quiet and comfortable.

We booked the private hot tub in the evening which was lovely...

Ah great memories!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed two nights here. The location is great for easy access to shops, restaurants and the train station. The hotel is a classic with all the decorations and themes directly from the old west. The rooms are nicely appointed and the bed we slept in was comfortable. However, if you have a disability this is not the place to stay. The elevator didn't work, which for someone with mobility issues, going up and down three flights of stairs is neither safe or tolerable. The bathrooms are also not easy to navigate either.

We went to dinner at the Diamond Bell Saloon restaurant , a old west themed one, complete with a shoot out. The place is very busy and over crowded. We were seated right next to the front door, so as potential dinner guests came in and those that were waiting for a table, were practically sitting in our lap and watching every bite we had !! The service to get our food was well over an hour to get it and when we did it wasn't very good. A frustrating experience that wasn't worth it, even for the "ambience",

So in a nutshell, bad food, extremely slow service, basic amenities that we're not present but a great location and ambience !!

Room Tip: Third floor and higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

A Guide Out West, a DMC based in Denver, has just returned from Durango, Colorado, touring with a group of seniors from Washington. Not only was the Durango/Silverton train ride a huge hit (as always!) but the Strater Hotel was a wonderful place to "headquarter" us. The staff is very guest-oriented and pleasant. The rooms are almost works of art with their period furnishings, and the whole atmosphere was luxe but comfortable. Individuals and groups cannot find a better hotel in Durango!

Room Tip: All of our travelers loved their rooms on all floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGuideOutWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a historic hotel that does not rely on its status as the oldest hotel in the area in order to attract guests. The service during our July stay was world class. The rooms are comfortable (ask for one on the 3rd or 4th floor if you want a little space from the bars and restaurants below). The location on Main Street is prime. My husband and I strongly recommend staying here to anyone who will be passing through the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyMPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My new wife and I stayed here during 18 day great Western Road Trip and LOVED IT. Hotel is historic, perfectly located, with comfy rooms and friendly staff. Durango is a great little town, so we're happy we spent 2 nights not 1. This hotel is a GEM.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwoodRTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.1 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#7 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#10 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Property: Strater Hotel
Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing