We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Love places like the Strater.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Strater Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love places like the Strater.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

If you are going to stay in a hotel in Durango, it must be this one. I think the Stanley in Estes Park now has a tie for first place for me for favorite hotels. The building is incredible and very well maintained, even the rooms have the character and charm of the exterior. It is in the best location downtown, only a short walk to the restaurants and shops. The adjoining pubs are really neat as well. Everything was clean and comfortable and way worth the few extra bucks to not be in a big, boring chain (which are all located somewhat outside of town anyway). Great for a long weekend and not far to Mesa Verde national park. We really enjoyed Oscar's for breakfast per front desk recommendation, Carver's brewery (great beer garden), and the El Moro tavern within a short walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebCOUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    310
    97
    35
    20
See reviews for
196
497
31
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
283 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the Strater Hotel for 2 nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We booked a classic room which was spacious and comfortable. Our rate included a breakfast buffet and made to order omelets. We visited The Office for Happy Hour and enjoyed that. We had the Prix Fixe menu at the Mahogany Grill and it was delicious and very reasonably priced. The location is unbeatable. The hotel makes you feel like you stepped back in time, except with modern conveniences.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 301 which was more spacious than some other Classic rooms. One drawback is the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sojouner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomfield nm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed at Gm 320 for my bday..had wonderful dinner and drinks..awoke to find dark shadow over left side of bed and toys squeaking in corner in broad daylight... Definately get what u pay for...I would stay here again....great $5 breakfast with cook to order omlets and great personal service...you can't ask for anything more....

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pesatasilago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

There are cheaper choices in Durango, less creaky choices and more modern choices, but the word Classic defines this hotel. Service great, nicde public lobby, decent food, and clean rooms all decorated in period style (but mind you, rooms are a bit small by modern standards). History abounds here, and it's not just all show ... the bar on Saturday night was full of locals - good ole boys and cowgirls too, all in their Saturday night-Go-To-Town finery, complete with hats, boots and buckles! Belly up to the bar, boys! Great fun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoic_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Right from the start this proved to be the right choice. We turned up a little early and the front desk staff were very accommodating and got us into our room before normal check in time. The room itself was wonderful, we stayed in the the Will Rogers room and it delivered Victorian charm in bucket loads. The beds were comfortable, and the room was quiet. The location on Main St was perfect, being central to everything.
We enjoyed the atmosphere and food at the Diamond Belle Saloon, and have no hesitation in recommending it as well.
If we ever return to Durango, the Strater would be our first choice as a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here three nights and really loved the hotel. We were fortunate to be there when they held their annual open house. The staff was dressed in period costumes. There were about 10--12 rooms open to see. The hotel has the largest collection of Victorian furniture in the US and it is spectacular. Not only did we see the rooms for free but each person was given a free drink ticket and an appetizer buffet with live music! The hotel was built in 1867 but has been totally refurbished. There are flat screen TVs and plenty of instant hot water. It is CHARMING! The hotel offers a breakfast buffet for $5. It is basic but good and well worth the price. The staff is very helpful. The hotel is conveniently located to restaurants, shopping and the Durango/Silverton train station. It is also about three blocks to the Animus River which has a great walking path that runs for several miles.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDTraveler033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We were on a trip visiting some of the National parks in the US when our itinerary took us to this hotel. I had been looking forward to our stay and had read many reviews. On arrival which was around 7 pm, I approached the front desk where the were 3 young male employees, they looked at me and then walked into a room at the back! I had to ring the bell to get one of them back so that I could check in. The greeting was non existent and there was no offer to help with luggage the lad made me feel that I was a nuisance for being there.later on I had to speak with another of these males who almost gave the impression that he did not work there as his knowledge of the hotel and procedures was so poor. Frankly I have had better reception at all the gas stations we have used.The room that we were allocated was clean and of a good standard. We ate that evening in the Diamond Belle bar where there was a live band playing. They were great so was the food,our server for the evening was Ayla she was a true professional and worked the tables like a hawk. She is a credit to the hotel, it's a shame that they can't employ more like her. We awoke early next morning thanks to the garbage truck and delivery vans but this is not a gripe as without these the hotel could not operate and somebody has to have a room at the back.
Breakfast was an abomination, although we were seated fairly quickly there were no plates or bowls, cups or glasses. There was no yoghurt the hot selection was either low or empty. A server explained that a member of the team had failed to show up for work and put everything behind! Eventually things improved but even then only to a poor standard, this really let the hotel down. On checking out we were offered help with our bags to be fair but declined the offer as we didn't need it.
This hotel let us and itself down by the non existent customer care on arrival and the breakfast debacle which is a shame as it has so much to offer. If only they could staff the whole place with lots of Aylas!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.1 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Property: Strater Hotel
Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing