We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beatiful old property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Strater Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beatiful old property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here in mid September 2013. I'll get the negatives out of the way and then write about the positives. We had a higher floor corner (two outside walls) room. Night time temperatures started dropping and we discovered that our room had no heat. We called the front desk and were told that they could either cool or heat the hotel, but not both and that they hadn't switched the system over to heat yet. This was very disappointing given that we were in a higher corner room knowing it would be one of the coldest in the hotel. We called the front desk a second time and asked if they had portable heaters. They did and brought one to our room. We spent the night toasty, but with a loud heater circulating off and on and waking us each time it did. I can understand an old hotel having an older climate control system, but would have expected the front desk to OFFER the heater to us on the first call without us having to call a second time. Better yet, they should have been proactive knowing the weather forecast and either switched on the heat or brought heaters to all the rooms (or just the cold ones...I imagine many inner rooms remain warm). The second issue we had was the hotel's lone elevator. It died on the morning of our second day. We ended up carrying luggage down a few flights of stairs. I understand that this is a historic property, but they need to have a back-up plan or a service elevator that could be used for moving luggage or for handicapped people who need to move around.

With the above out of the way, this is a beautiful old property. It's downtown and pre-dates cars, so there's no on site parking (we parked in their lot a few blocks away), but that's just something you have to deal with to stay in an old hotel. Our room was gorgeous - furnished as it likely would have been 100 years ago (but everything was in perfect working order). The bed was extremely comfortable. We dined at the hotel bar and enjoyed an old West saloon style dinner with great piano music (although some of the songs were 100 years old and others were more recent).

Definitely worth the stay and we would come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a portable heater if the room is cold but the heat isn't on yet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick_S_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    310
    97
    35
    20
See reviews for
196
497
31
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West hartford, CT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is really a step back in time. The hotel prides itself on it's excellent guest service and we found that everyone went out of their way to be nice. The room we stayed in was the governor's suite and while it was comfortable and authentically decorated, it lacked a lot to justify the expensive price. The bathroom was very small, The shower was barely adequate. Both could have been in better repair and cleaner. There was only a roof to look at from the window. Really? $4.00 for a bottle of water in the room? The piano player in the Saloon was great but the food was just ok. Overall the entire experience was acceptable but certainly not exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WH_VIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lovely hotel that has been well maintained and authentic. Room was beautiful and clean. So many towels we had to move some to a closet shelf. Staff friendly and helpful. Would have liked more room service options for meals in. Fan was noisy for heat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandpaJMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We loved every minute of our stay at the Strater. The rooms were comfortable and quiet, the food was great, and the historical elegance of the hotel was awesome. The location downtown offered many great restaurants and shops nearby and the train to Silverton is conveniently close.

Room Tip: You can stay in rooms that Louis L'Amour wrote books/stories in or stay in the room the Gerald F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
369 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The hotel is historic and well preserved. It truly feels like you have stepped back in time. We were told later it was haunted. We loved the location and could walk to everything we needed. The breakfast Posole was unique and served over eggs, heightened the breakfast level. The staff are attentive and dressed appropriately. We made a point to stick around for the gun fight and were a little disappointed. There was not much that happened in the Saloon and then it moved out onto the street. Could have skipped that. The Cowboy Poetry Weekend was in fulll swing and it really felt authentic with all the western apparel.

Room Tip: The elevator was out one day. We were on the third floor and it was a trek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeriLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Went to Durango to ride the Durango to Silverton historic railway and booked this hotel on a lark. What a find. We accidentally arrived for the Heritage Celebration (historic costumes, events, etc) which is totally unknown as far away as Denver. They were especially helpful in getting us one of the last rooms, on short notice. Very accommodating on a sold-out weekend.

A chance white-out driving across Wolf Creek Pass made for a gorgeous journey with snow in the fields, but the fall colors on the trees. The conductors on the train trip said it was a one-in-a-thousand fall foliage ride. The train ride is worth the trip alone.

The hotel has 3 venues for consumption: a several-star dining menu in the main dining room, excellent presentation and only a little expensive; just plain old good food (I had pot roast, not common in our travels) in an historic saloon on the other side of the hotel; and an office "spiritorium" for late-night drinks with loveseats in front of a fireplace, etc. My wife may have been overserved with the $6.50 cosmos -- almost half price compared to Denver. If Greg is strumming his guitar that night, he's got a fantastic CD he gives away. Great rendition of Marty Robbins' El Paso.

The room was big (fourteen-foot ceilings, 3 chairs in the room, walk-in closet, a queen and a single), the air conditioning controls worked great and the last train whistle (from the old-fashioned steam engine) ends at 9:00, thankfully. The only down side was the complimentary 'breakfast' which was totally oversubscribed by all the Heritage Celebration costumed characters from other hotels; entertaining, but they need a second place to order a-la-carte and get service.

Now that I know about the Heritage Celebration, we'll be back. And we'll stay at the Strater.

Room Tip: If you are a Pet person, they only have 2 pet-friendly rooms (next to the train tracks). Call early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugenious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

First, it has the best location for hanging in historic Durango. The staff is awesome and really makes the stay special. Especially loved the breakfast....better than most breakfast included places....hot and cold items included...especially loved the "Posole", and Chef David even gave me the recipe. The rooms are fairly small but nicely furnished with antique items and the modern conveniences as well. One item that might bother some....the heat is centrally controlled so you better be happy with the staff controlled setting. It was a little cool for my Florida beach baby, so they brought us a space heater. Highly recommended !!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryandmiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.1 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Property: Strater Hotel
Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing