We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strater Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
$230
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites(Durango)(Great Value!)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$153
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mountain Shadows(Durango)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,146)
Filter reviews
1,146 results
Traveler rating
587
378
115
39
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
378
115
39
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe diamond belle saloonold westmahogany grillvictorian furnituregun fightoffice bargreat historic hotelpiano playerstep back in timesmall elevatordeluxe roommodern amenitiesmain streetheart of downtownthe entire hoteltrain whistlehotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
749 - 754 of 1,146 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was on a tour of Colorado and stayed at this beautiful little hotel for two nights. All the other hotels were chains and, whilst they were very nice, they were exactly what you would expect from a Crowne Plaza, Hilton and Marriott whereas this hotel you will never replicate. It is late 19th century and beautifully situated in the centre of Durango (a gem in itself). Each room is totally different and packed full of authentic period details, whilst not sacrificing air-con and comfortable beds. It totally 'fitted' Durango and was really charming. I slept better there than I did on my entire holiday and loved every moment of my stay in room 315. If you must have gigantic beds and identikit rooms then this is not for you, however if you want a hotel totally in keeping with its location which is fascinating to look around, then you will love this. Excellent service too. I would love to return.

Room Tip: They are all totally different! Room 315 has gorgeous wallpaper and views of the steam trains!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraceyLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here mainly out of convenience as we were already sitting in the bar and didn't want to go far. Was #1 on TripAdvisor. Rooms were a bit pricey, but we got 2 queen beds and split the $200 cost. Room 230 was very nicely decorated in a very historic style from floor to ceiling and furnished with antiques including large ornate headboards. View out window of this room is mostly roof. Continental breakfast is included, but it's all gone at 9am on weekdays. Only issue I had was a lame shower head. This could be fixed for under $10 so it pisses me off when hotels cheap out on guests this way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adamz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We enjoyed the historic hotel. It is well kept, the room was large enough but the beds are full size not queen so it seems a bit small. The room was fairly clean. Due to the green carpet you can see dust under the bed and against head board. The white tile in the bathroom had gray grout (I think...or it was a little stained?). It was nice tho. I would recommend the Louis L'Amour room or the same room on the third floor for a little more quite. Be prepared to hear a little noise about midnight as people are leaving the bars on the street below. Some get a little loud and it echos right up the street into your room even with the window closed. The Louis L'Amour room is where the author would write his books. It is a nice spacious room and the one above it is the same. Both are nice. His room is on the second floor which I suggest because you will likely use the stairs. This was a nice place and we will surely stay there again.

Room Tip: get room 202 the Louis L'Amour room or the one above it. these are the most spacious and have quick access to the stairway which you will use as the elevator is really small and very slow. They are really cool rooms too.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Rooms of all sorts and prices. Historicaly done, but very modern. Staff is friendly and well informed so do not hesitate to ask. They actually have tours, so if you have some time set it up with the front desk. The web site says they charge, however, at this time they do not. It was pointed out by several staff that the web site needs some updating, so be sure and call if you have questions. They have all sorts of specials at different times of the year, so check on those as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

entering the strater is to step back in time. the interior, especially the bar, has been meticulously preserved. in the bar, women in period dress and a talented piano "rag" player, adam swanson, added to the illusion and ambience. (as to the waitresses, my wife commented that she knew the fishnet stockings and form-accenting costumes were sexist, but they were just too cute.) across the way, another bar offered quiet with a singer in the evening with upstairs seating where we played backgammon.
as to the rooms, ours was smallish with a good queen-size bed. the bathroom was updated with a small shower and no tub (who uses the tub anyway?). parking is in three different lots but we were able to find a spot. the staff was uniformly helpful while being unobtrusive. as a bonus, the durango/silverton depot is within easy walking distance.
if you want a unique address and not a cookie-cutter chain, definitely consider the strater.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews