We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully preserved historic hotel”
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strater Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
parker, co
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautifully preserved historic hotel”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel located in the heart of downtown Durango is a unique place to stay. It is furnished with antiques and is clean and well-maintained. It is, however, not luxurious, and does not have some of the amenities of other hotels at this price point. We stayed in a king classic room on the 3rd floor and found the bed in our room to be quite bouncy and bumpy. The bathroom is small but functional as you might expect in a hotel of this age. Our room looked directly out to the Durango/Silverton train and we enjoyed watching it go by. We read some reviews on the breakfast that were not good, but we were pleasantly surprised and thought it was great. They had scrambled eggs, as well as homemade banana bread which was delicious, homemade posole and scones which you would not find at a chain hotel. It was all very good. We went to the Diamond Belle Saloon for happy hour on the night we arrived and ended up staying for the $5 hamburgers. Great deal and very good!

Little known fact: They have a Jacuzzi. It is private -- schedule a time with the front desk and they will give you the key at your scheduled time. A great way to end the day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mehinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    348
    106
    37
    24
See reviews for
219
549
36
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City West, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Wonderful historical hotel in the center of Durango. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was large and the bed very comfortable. Sorry we had only one night there. We will definitely stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb1575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Strater House is a beautifully preserved historic hotel that makes any trip to Durango just a little more special. It's on Main Street, so puts you in walking distance from everything you're likely to want to see in town. Excellent restaurants on the premises and others just steps from the hotel's front door.

If you have to have a king size bed, a big screen tv, a pool and a fitness center, the Strater's not for you. If you'll trade that for charm, character, attention to detail, then you'll enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Exco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildomar, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Upon entering my room I felt transported back in time by its furnishings and decor. The history of the area came alive for me as soon as I saw the bed, chairs and walls of my room. A lovely blend of old and new. The only problem I encountered was the shower. We couldn't figure out how to turn the handle for hot water and when we called the desk they told us no one could help us until the morning. It took my grandson to figure out how to turn the handle for hot water. Unfortunately I learned this after my cold shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elainea811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at the Strater and loved every minute. Our room was quite large, people were extremely helpful, the hotel and room were beautifully decorated in the style of the period. We couldn't have been more pleased and have already recommended it to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very clean, comfortable bed, roomy bathroom, very quiet rooms. Plenty of activities and food within motel as well as nearby. Very helpful staff and friendly service. arrived late traveling to Silverton and staff was very quick to get us checked in and into our room in order to get rested. Good options for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed one night in Durango on the last day of vacation and chose this older classic Hotel. I was pleasantly surprised at the furnishings, cleanliness and attention to detail in this beauty. Not inly is there an old timey bar downstairs, but you are close to the Train station. We walked across the street and had a great meal, followed by a trip to Marble Slab Ice Cream where we people watched for over an hour. This was in the great 80 degree weather in the middle of July. Wife found a great buy in an antique bracelet two blocks away. The price is over the $200 mark, but worth every dime. There was a journal in the room where other folks had left their experiences while staying in this Historic Hotel. From the book that is available about the room, you can learn that many Stars and important people have spent nights or weeks there. There is something about the ambiance of walking where other famous folks have been. This Hotel is on my HIGHLY RECOMMEND list.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
243 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Property: Strater Hotel
Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing