We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Nearby Hotels
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites(Durango)(Great Value!)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$153
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strater Hotel(Durango)
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mountain Shadows(Durango)(Great Value!)
$165
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,695)
Filter reviews
1,695 results
Traveler rating
958
515
157
48
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
958
515
157
48
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimas riverriver viewdouble treecookiesgrocery storenice hotelbreakfast buffetwalking pathwithin walking distancemain streetparking lottrain stationin townroom was largeupon checkrestaurants and shopstwo blocks
Filter
Updating list...
1,500 - 1,505 of 1,695 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Stayed (and will stay) at this hotel multiple times in the past 5 years. This hotel offers newer amenities than the rustic old historics on main street, and is within walking distance to all the attractions of downtown. The staff is always very polite and helpful, and have made me feel welcome on each occasion. Although not brand new by any means, this hotel has done well to take care of their property and rooms, and have recently upgraded the fitness center with nice, new equipment. The price will fluctuate depending on tourist season, but I'd certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiznessClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and we are pleased that you are staying with us when you come to Durango. We are in the planning stages for a guest room renovation and will be doing a model room soon which we are very excited about. We look forward to having you stay with us again your next trip to Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Upon arrival of booking a room with a balcony well in advance we were provided a room without a balcony that reeked like cigar smoke and had specifically asked for non smoking. We notified the front desk and their service was great as they immediately upgraded us for free to a clean room, that didn't smell, with a balcony. I must say the customer service was great. However the rooms were dated with the exception of the newer bathrooms. The hotel needs updated but the location is within a short walk to downtown. I expected more for a doubletree. Don't eat in the restaurant it is NOT worth the money with all the good restaurants a short walk away. Go to Ken and sues for dinner instead great food for the same price. The breakfast buffet was horrible. All in all it's ok and a good location but I expected more for the price and name behind doubltree 3 stars try a different hotel for the price

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowonthepines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We want you to know that we are rolling out new menus for our restaurant this week with more entree choices and lower prices We apologize for the reservation mixup, we are happy that we were able to upgrade you to a room that you were pleased with. You mention that our hotel needs to be updated; we want to make you aware that we are in the planning stages for a guest room renovation at this time. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Have to say my stay at the Durango Double Tree last week was stellar. Everything you'd expect from a hotel where most usually fall short.

- Fast, free, friendly airport shuttle available.
- Friendly & helpful front desk folks.
- CLEAN and very comfortable rooms. Great beds!
- Sparkling CLEAN hot tub and pool (this is usually where many resorts fail).

Only item I would have liked which was missing was a free breakfast or at least a voucher to reduce the cost of a kind of pricey $14 breakfast buffet. I'm sure it is worth it, but when you just need a quick meal before going skiing, that's a bit much.

It really is a short walk to downtown and I'll stay here again the next time I come through Durango.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitertodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2011

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree Hotel Durango, on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and look forward to having you stay with us again your next trip to Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

You know how staff at a hotel can make traveling with children way easier or way harder? This place makes it 100000 times harder. Did you order connecting rooms way in advance? Too bad! Need help with the stroller up the stairs? Too bad! Need help with your luggage? Sorry!

Super frustrating place. I will chalk it up to the fact that it seems like none of the people who work here have kids, but they could sure care less if you do.

They really won't help you with anything... but I guess they will tell you that nicely?.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Thank you for your review of our hotel, The Doubletree Hotel Durango. We do apologize that you had a bad experience staying with us. What you experienced is definitely not up to our standards; we love having families and children staying with us! We know the difficulties of traveling with small children and encourage our staff to be helpful. We will be talking with our staff about your review reiterating the importance of helpfulness. We do hope that you will stay with us again your next trip to Durango and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect family stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

I had high hopes for this property based upon TripAdvisor reviews. The hotel didn't quite meet my expectations, however.

The staff we encountered were all very nice and helpful. We were warmly greeted and informed that all of the rooms had been recently updated with new furniture, new beds, etc. This didn't exactly prove to be true.

The carpet in our room was well-worn and in need of replacement as was upholstery. (lining hanging from underside of 1 chair). There were readily visible ink marks on the bed sheets. Deep nicks were seen on the legs of the table holding the coffee service.

The bathroom was a bright spot as it actually had been renovated and was very nice & spotlessly clean. The entire hotel appeared to be clean which is of utmost importance to me.

We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and it was quite good, although pricey. My husband had 1 plain waffle which came with nothing else (no breakfast meat, etc.) for $11.He jokingly calculated it at $1 per bite! The river view from the dining room is spectacular.

I brought my room issues to the attention of the desk manager who was very kind and considerate. He extended us the AAA rate that we were initially told was unavailable at check-in. He assured me that he & the staff have plans to improve the property and I believe that this hotel will be a real gem once this is done.

I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Durango.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Thank you for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We definitely are in the planning stages for some renovations at our hotel. We recently completed all the requirements to be a Green hotel which is a wonderful accomplishment for us. We want you to know that we welcome you back to our hotel any time you can come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews