We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Don't stay here the first time . . .” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Durango, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't stay here the first time . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

. . . until you learn what we learned the hard way. Here is what you need to know:

1. Your beds may or may not have a blanket in between the sheet and the very heavy quilt; If you need a blanket, order it early . . . we waited an hour.
2. Have the technician put your climate control into Farenheit and VIP mode; the default mode is set to turn the entire system off when the motion sensor senses no motion (like when you go to bed).
3. To access their WiFi system, select "hhonors" as your network. Launch a browser, check the VPN checkbox on the DoubleTree welcome screen, then hit the connect button. Since the VPN box has to be checked, you'd think that the DoubleTree would have known and set it correctly (default) on their own access web page.
4. Don't eat in the dining room. The food aspires to be mediocre, but falls short. The servers are oblivious to the requirements of a pleasant dining experience. My wife and I were the first group for dinner and we were given a nice table overlooking the river. The second group to arrive was a loud party of four which was seated at the very next table (in an otherwise empty dining room. There went our dinner conversation. There are many better places to eat in Durango (see TripAdvisor:restaurants).
5. Eat the warm cookie immediately-it turns into a crispy critter very quickly.

The DoubleTree is a beautiful facility handily located on the Animas river walk. But, as has been said, the devil is in the details. Don't stay here the first time . . .your second stay should go more smoothly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xhiryuert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    445
    125
    41
    14
See reviews for
460
540
38
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pa.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

The hotel is very nice. Good location to walk to town for meals etc. It was just a stopping off point for us but we had a very nice room and great comfortable bed. I am not usually a hotel chain person but this place is very nice and I would stay there again. Nice to wake up to the sound of the train leaving for Silverton in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nhandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

From the moment we were greeted with a warm cookie, to stepping into our clean, nice-smelling room with the river view, we were very happy we'd chosen the Doubletree. The location was perfect for us - right across from the heart of Durango, within walking distance of the train depot (don't drive across the street and pay for parking like we did!) The pool / hot tub area were also very nice, as well as the breakfast (totally worth the extra 10 dollars we paid for our room+breakfast package) and the lounge. Absolutely would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macca6442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, TX
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

We were greeted warmly (warm cookies) and it just go better from there. We had a river view room and we left the door to the balcony open most of the time so we could enjoy the sounds of the Animas river flowing by our room.
Very quiet room, couldn't hear anyone else in this lovely hotel which is more like a Hilton or Marriot then a Doubletree. We rode the train and they let us leave our car there and save a few bucks in parking.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gslink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandiego,california
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

This hotel is conveniently located near the city center, next door to a supermarket and adjacent to a calming river walk. The staff is friendly and they greet you with warm chocolate chip cookies. The rooms are modern, clean, comfortable and well-organized. The little indoor pool and jacuzzi will be appreciated by your children. We favored this hotel among our southwest tour's eight stays, which mainly included Hiltons and Hyatts. This hotel is operated by Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yougetwhatyougive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed at the Doubletree in Durango years ago and had a great time. At the time they were going through renovation so only the front side had updated rooms, but I am sure they are finished now. The location is perfect! You have the amazing rushing river behind the hotel and the fun sound of the Durango/Silverton train in the front. We slept on both sides and I personally preferred to stay on the river side so I could listen to it at night. But, at the time they only had 2 full size bedrooms on that side (so we were told, I think they might not have wanted to give us a king room on that side since we had booked with a discount) so my husband and I slept in separate beds the rest of the stay. But, with the nice cool temps at night, the sound of the water, it was worth it. In the front you can hear the train in the morning which is pretty cool too, but you do overlook the parking lot. The hotel is easy to get to, near just about everything and the restaurant had great views of the water and the mountains as well. At the time the restaurant needed some serious renovation, but they may have fixed that by now. Overall it was a wonderful stay (except the 2 beds). We will try to stay there again when we return to Durango.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

This hotel is truly awesome. The rooms are great (especially the large bathrooms, with Neutrogena soap, shampoo, lotion, etc.). Very comfortable bed. The pool and fitness room were spotlessly clean. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. And all at a very reasonable price - I booked through Hotels.ca; I would have expected to pay twice what I did for what I got. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel and really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thenewval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing