We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wow, This place is fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Greenville, TX
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Wow, This place is fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

We were greeted warmly (warm cookies) and it just go better from there. We had a river view room and we left the door to the balcony open most of the time so we could enjoy the sounds of the Animas river flowing by our room.
Very quiet room, couldn't hear anyone else in this lovely hotel which is more like a Hilton or Marriot then a Doubletree. We rode the train and they let us leave our car there and save a few bucks in parking.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gslink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    445
    125
    41
    14
See reviews for
460
540
38
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sandiego,california
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

This hotel is conveniently located near the city center, next door to a supermarket and adjacent to a calming river walk. The staff is friendly and they greet you with warm chocolate chip cookies. The rooms are modern, clean, comfortable and well-organized. The little indoor pool and jacuzzi will be appreciated by your children. We favored this hotel among our southwest tour's eight stays, which mainly included Hiltons and Hyatts. This hotel is operated by Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yougetwhatyougive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed at the Doubletree in Durango years ago and had a great time. At the time they were going through renovation so only the front side had updated rooms, but I am sure they are finished now. The location is perfect! You have the amazing rushing river behind the hotel and the fun sound of the Durango/Silverton train in the front. We slept on both sides and I personally preferred to stay on the river side so I could listen to it at night. But, at the time they only had 2 full size bedrooms on that side (so we were told, I think they might not have wanted to give us a king room on that side since we had booked with a discount) so my husband and I slept in separate beds the rest of the stay. But, with the nice cool temps at night, the sound of the water, it was worth it. In the front you can hear the train in the morning which is pretty cool too, but you do overlook the parking lot. The hotel is easy to get to, near just about everything and the restaurant had great views of the water and the mountains as well. At the time the restaurant needed some serious renovation, but they may have fixed that by now. Overall it was a wonderful stay (except the 2 beds). We will try to stay there again when we return to Durango.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

This hotel is truly awesome. The rooms are great (especially the large bathrooms, with Neutrogena soap, shampoo, lotion, etc.). Very comfortable bed. The pool and fitness room were spotlessly clean. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. And all at a very reasonable price - I booked through Hotels.ca; I would have expected to pay twice what I did for what I got. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel and really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thenewval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

I used to stay at the Holiday Inn since it was inexpensive and relatively convenient to Steamworks. However, the Holiday Inn's rooms are very dated, drafty, small, and noisy. The Doubletree, which is usually only a few dollars more, is in a whole other class. Large, clean, quite rooms with great bathrooms make all the difference. The breakfast isn't bad, either; if you can snag it cheaply by pre-paying definitely go ahead and do so.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhikeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. We chose it because it offers a free shuttle to the airport, and it has a car rental desk in the lobby. We started and ended our trip through the south-west here.

Everyone at this hotel was very friendly and helpful, the drive of the shuttle bus, the receptionists, the staff in the restaurant, they all did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

The room was spacious and comfortable, and it had a nice view of the river. The bed was a bit too soft for my taste, next time we will book 2 queen beds instead of a king, then we won't wake each other up when turning around in our sleep. The room was quiet, apart from a barking dog which was in a nearby room. I am surprised that a nice hotel like this allows dogs in the rooms. Dog owners, please do other guests a favour and don't leave your dog alone in the room, not everyone enjoys the howling and barking.

The breakfast buffet was fabulous, you can choose between the buffet or something from the huge menu. The best breakfast we had on our 2-week trip, and the best hotel by far, too.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamachoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

During our most recent trip to Durango visiting family, we stayed at the Double Tree because the location is right in the middle of town and the rates were good. You can't complain about the location because its right on the river in Durango and you can walk to lots of shopping and restaurants. However, I can't exactly rave about it otherwise.

The hotel really needs to be updated, and it seems like they've started to work on it, but nothing really matches as the rooms, lobby and restaurant all seem to be from different vintages. The hotel and room wasn't dirty, but it wasn't spotless either, so if you're really picky about where you stay you won't be happy. That being said, the service was friendly and we got a good nights sleep because our room was quiet.

The restaurant and bar have okay food, but a bit overpriced considering the plate isn't exactly Gordon Ramsey. The restaurant does have a great view of the river, which is nice to watch while dining. The bar was dead on weekend night and a bit of a time warp in design; it still feels very 70s.

Overall, it isn't an uncomfortable place to stay and the location is nice, but if you've traveled much this isn't anything to write home about.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBestofTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterm52, Administrative Assistant to the General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, March 10, 2010
Thank you for your review of the Doubletree Hotel in Durango, Colorado. We appreciate your comments. We apologize for the room not being as clean as you expected, we strive for better than you rated us. Occasionally we do have issues with cleanliness due to new housekeepers etc. But generally that is not the case with our hotel. We hope that you will return to stay with us again and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#10 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing