We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good setting on river side”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Situated by river but across a busy road to town centre. Well appointed rooms - try to get river view. Restaurant good for evening meal but became overcrowded with poor service at breakfast .

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngandfiftyish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,460 - 1,466 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed in this hotel so that we can ride the Silverton train for the Polar Express. It was conveniently located across the street from the hotel. It was a pleasure staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank partyofive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This was our second visit to Durango, stayed at this hotel both times. This time I requested a river view, we got the room on the end with a wonderful balcony and view of the Animas river. It was nice to have a drink on the balcony and watch the river go by. We drove to Silverton one morning, on our way back my husband dropped me off downtown to do some shopping and it was an easy walk back to the hotel. We will definitely return to this hotel, since I'm sure we'll return to Durango!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Three of us visited Colorado to photograph Fall Color (Which was really beautiful this year and choose to stay at the Doubletree, Durango, CO. We found the hotel up to the typical great Hilton standards.

We were greeted upon arrival, given the traditional chocolate chip cookie and the check-in was handled efficiently. My room was clean , a fresh smelling. The bedding was wonderful!

I'll definitely make this hotel my hotel of choice when returing to Durango.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sedona-Joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a room with a river view. This was a great location, just a block away from Main Street. The staff were very friendly on our arrival and were always helpful when we questioned them on restaurants, etc. The room was spacious, clean and well-appointed. It was very pleasant to sit on the balcony overlooking the Animas River, enjoying the scenery.

The Breakfast Room could have used more staff.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGDWaterloo_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We were at the Doubletree overnight only and wished we could have had a few more days after an arduous 3500 mile road trip. We barely had time to appreciate the hotel before having to leave. Our room - 312 - was very spacious and quiet, a balcony room overlooking the Animas river. I was delighted not to be in one of the rooms at the front of the hotel that overlook the parking lot and road.
The two queen beds were immaculate, with premium sheets and extremely comfortable mattresses. The air conditioning was quiet, and the television up to date. The bathroom and extra sink were recent renovations, and very nicely appointed. I imagine the hotel is progressively redecorating - as yet the carpet in our room had not been replaced, and was visibly patched, although very clean.
I've stayed at several other hotels in Durango and the Doubletree is easily the best. I will be checking in at this very nice hotel for all future visits.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenniferMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

My wife and I and another couple spent five days at the Durango Doubletree Hotel, 2-5 Sept 2009. The hotel exceeded our expectations in every category. Rooms were spacious, well appointed and immaculate. Concierge service from the moment of arrival was outstanding. Front desk checkin was pleasnt , efficient and the staff called us by name thereafter everytime we passed. The Hotel's buffet breakfast was high quality and had everything hot or cold you could think of; all for $12.95. Restaurant service, even though a buffet, was very attentive to ensure a positive experience. The restaurant also has a great view of the Animas River. A nice feature of the hotel is that it's an easy walk to everything in Durango; train depot, restaurants and shops. It is also located adjacent to a bike and walking path that parallels the Animas River. This review may seem too complimentary, but my wife and I are frequent travelers and the Durango Dobletree experience proved exceptional at every level. It's obvious the hotel's management cares for its employees due to the positve attitude of all the staff we encountered.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairfax_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#11 of 34 in Durango
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.3 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range: $118 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing