We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling Spoiled at Durango Doubletree” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Feeling Spoiled at Durango Doubletree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Of course there are the warm cookies...it isn't a Doubletree without them! The beds are comfortable and bathrooms have been redesigned to feel more like you are in a spa than a hotel bathroom. Great updates!

The location is ideal. Simply walk across the street to hop on the Silverton/Durango train or for downtown nightlife. Stroll along the river for wildlife viewing and relaxation. Once you are at the hotel there isn't much need to drive anywhere!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AirlineWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    434
    119
    38
    13
See reviews for
451
512
36
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brushy Creek, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

We stayed for four nights in late June. The Doubletree is a class of hotel we normally don't stay at, but lesser chains were nearly as expensive, plus the location, one block from the downtown historic area and the D&SNGRR depot, was a plus. So we took the plunge and paid a little more than normal for the convenience. The experience was positive, overall.

Having stayed at similar class hotels on business, I'd say this Doubletree is a lesser example of the brand. We were on the top ("fourth") floor on the 'city view' side, not wanting to waste $20/day on the view of the Animas River. The road noise from US550 was minimal and the room was quiet overall. The room itself was nicely appointed and fairly roomy. The staff was helpful, but all these benefits aren't worth the normal rate. We paid a discounted advanced purchase rate and took advantage of a $75 off promotion. At this rate the cost was about the same as the 2-2.5 star chains in the area, but there's no doubt you're staying in a resort area where hotel rooms are in high demand.

Due the the close by and numerous external options, we did not utllize the on-site restaurant or (ridiculously expensive) room service. There is a cafe on the river with extremely limited service hours - during weekdays only. Again, with superior options elsewhere we took advantage of them.

The hotel does have an indoor (heated) pool and spa, and there was a sauna in the men's dressing room (but not the women's). We took advantage of the pool, which oddly looks out into usually-closed river cafe, as well as the jacuzzi. There's also a small fitness room on-site with decent equipment. Showers are available in the pool area.

The hotel is also located on the Animas River trail, a paved trail running five miles along the river. Jogging, running, and biking is a simplematter of stepping out of the first floor exit and directly onto the trail. It would be nice if the hotel rented or otherwise made bicycles available.

Good: The entire downtown area is easy walking distance; nice rooms; quiet; very convenient to Durango & Silverton RR; river views available if you're willing to pay for them. Nicely appointed rooms. Tasty warm Doubletree cookies on check-in (and they gave us a couple more our last night there). Friendly front-desk and English-speaking cleaning staff (with names on carts, a nice touch).
Not good: Pricey unless you search out discounts; a smallish Doubletree with somewhat limited options for a hotel of this class.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Middle-aged_Madman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed here for two nights on our trip through southwest Colorado, alternating between hotels and bed and breakfasts. We used Hilton points so we did not pay for the room. Our room was on the top floor, overlooking the Doubletree parking lot and beyond that, the historic area of Durango. It was very clean and comfortable. We had a small deck/sitting area. The bathroom was immaculate.

The train station for the Durango & Silverton Railroad is walking distance across the street, so if you plan to ride that, this hotel is very convenient. Otherwise, you will pay $7 to park for the train. The hotel is also walking distance to many jeep/hummer/rafting meeting places. You can walk to most of the downtown stores and restaurants, too, which is a plus because it does get crowded in the downtown area and the parking meters have a two-hour limit.

There is a supermarket adjacent to the hotel, which is convenient.

We ate dinner at the hotel one evening and breakfast there both mornings. No complaints - the food was good. There was a breakfast buffet both days or you could order from the menu. The dining area overlooks the river and offers a nice view. The hostess and wait staff were friendly and professional.

We used the Business Center to check our email - no charge for that. The connection was fast.

When checking in and out, they gave us free giant chocolate chip cookies - yummy!

This is really a nice place in a very convenient location. They were fully booked on the nights we stayed, so make reservations in advance.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Route31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast US
Level Contributor
140 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Pros: Great location right downtown, wonderful Doubletree rooms, view of the river was enjoyable.
Cons: Tour busses, impersonal staff, basement pool, and kind of an awkward setup.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteelBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Overall we were satisfied with the Doubletree. The bedroom was large and clean and the bathroom was beautiful. We had booked a room with a balcony city view although when we went inside we discovered that it had no balcony. However, as the city view is more or less a view of the car park we did not bother changing.
We stayed two nights and used the business centre a few times to check emails to and from home. The internet connection was fast.
At the time we stayed decorators were refurbishing the breakfast area and lobby. We think that the breakfast area whilst we were there was actually the ballroom. We felt the breakfast was expensive for what was offered and consequently on the second morning we ate in the town. This was actually more fun as it was pure Durango rather than a characterless hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UK_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

My wife and I spent the weekend in Durango. The hotel is an easy walk to the downtown area and the Durango & Silverton train. There is an Albertsons grocery store just across the parking lot from the hotel which we used to take care of last minute toiletries & snacks.

The hotel itself is quite large and very clean. The staff were very courteous & helpful on every occasion. Our room overlooked the Animas River behind the hotel and it was treat to hear the rushing water all night! The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. The shower had great water pressure & plenty of hot water.

We also had the breakfast buffet in the dining room both mornings which was good. All in all, a great place to stay with no complaints. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ArizonaJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azsunbaby
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We just got back from 2 nights in Durango for Valentines Day weekend. This hotel was in a perfect location. The staff was friendly and helpful. We paid $10 more per night for the Bed and Breakfast package and had breakfast for free each morning in the restaurant. Sunday is a great brunch but you can also order off the menu if you choose. We were within walking distance to almost everything and there is an Albertson's with a starbucks inside right next door. The rooms are nice with large bathrooms and comfy beds. We choose the city view but the river view is nice as well. We will definately be back and will stay here again.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#2 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#7 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing