We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, just don't pay the normal rate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brushy Creek, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay, just don't pay the normal rate”
Reviewed July 4, 2009

We stayed for four nights in late June. The Doubletree is a class of hotel we normally don't stay at, but lesser chains were nearly as expensive, plus the location, one block from the downtown historic area and the D&SNGRR depot, was a plus. So we took the plunge and paid a little more than normal for the convenience. The experience was positive, overall.

Having stayed at similar class hotels on business, I'd say this Doubletree is a lesser example of the brand. We were on the top ("fourth") floor on the 'city view' side, not wanting to waste $20/day on the view of the Animas River. The road noise from US550 was minimal and the room was quiet overall. The room itself was nicely appointed and fairly roomy. The staff was helpful, but all these benefits aren't worth the normal rate. We paid a discounted advanced purchase rate and took advantage of a $75 off promotion. At this rate the cost was about the same as the 2-2.5 star chains in the area, but there's no doubt you're staying in a resort area where hotel rooms are in high demand.

Due the the close by and numerous external options, we did not utllize the on-site restaurant or (ridiculously expensive) room service. There is a cafe on the river with extremely limited service hours - during weekdays only. Again, with superior options elsewhere we took advantage of them.

The hotel does have an indoor (heated) pool and spa, and there was a sauna in the men's dressing room (but not the women's). We took advantage of the pool, which oddly looks out into usually-closed river cafe, as well as the jacuzzi. There's also a small fitness room on-site with decent equipment. Showers are available in the pool area.

The hotel is also located on the Animas River trail, a paved trail running five miles along the river. Jogging, running, and biking is a simplematter of stepping out of the first floor exit and directly onto the trail. It would be nice if the hotel rented or otherwise made bicycles available.

Good: The entire downtown area is easy walking distance; nice rooms; quiet; very convenient to Durango & Silverton RR; river views available if you're willing to pay for them. Nicely appointed rooms. Tasty warm Doubletree cookies on check-in (and they gave us a couple more our last night there). Friendly front-desk and English-speaking cleaning staff (with names on carts, a nice touch).
Not good: Pricey unless you search out discounts; a smallish Doubletree with somewhat limited options for a hotel of this class.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Middle-aged_Madman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    475
    136
    41
    14
See reviews for
525
588
43
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed here for two nights on our trip through southwest Colorado, alternating between hotels and bed and breakfasts. We used Hilton points so we did not pay for the room. Our room was on the top floor, overlooking the Doubletree parking lot and beyond that, the historic area of Durango. It was very clean and comfortable. We had a small deck/sitting area. The bathroom was immaculate.

The train station for the Durango & Silverton Railroad is walking distance across the street, so if you plan to ride that, this hotel is very convenient. Otherwise, you will pay $7 to park for the train. The hotel is also walking distance to many jeep/hummer/rafting meeting places. You can walk to most of the downtown stores and restaurants, too, which is a plus because it does get crowded in the downtown area and the parking meters have a two-hour limit.

There is a supermarket adjacent to the hotel, which is convenient.

We ate dinner at the hotel one evening and breakfast there both mornings. No complaints - the food was good. There was a breakfast buffet both days or you could order from the menu. The dining area overlooks the river and offers a nice view. The hostess and wait staff were friendly and professional.

We used the Business Center to check our email - no charge for that. The connection was fast.

When checking in and out, they gave us free giant chocolate chip cookies - yummy!

This is really a nice place in a very convenient location. They were fully booked on the nights we stayed, so make reservations in advance.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Route31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast US
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Pros: Great location right downtown, wonderful Doubletree rooms, view of the river was enjoyable.
Cons: Tour busses, impersonal staff, basement pool, and kind of an awkward setup.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteelBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

Overall we were satisfied with the Doubletree. The bedroom was large and clean and the bathroom was beautiful. We had booked a room with a balcony city view although when we went inside we discovered that it had no balcony. However, as the city view is more or less a view of the car park we did not bother changing.
We stayed two nights and used the business centre a few times to check emails to and from home. The internet connection was fast.
At the time we stayed decorators were refurbishing the breakfast area and lobby. We think that the breakfast area whilst we were there was actually the ballroom. We felt the breakfast was expensive for what was offered and consequently on the second morning we ate in the town. This was actually more fun as it was pure Durango rather than a characterless hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UK_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

My wife and I spent the weekend in Durango. The hotel is an easy walk to the downtown area and the Durango & Silverton train. There is an Albertsons grocery store just across the parking lot from the hotel which we used to take care of last minute toiletries & snacks.

The hotel itself is quite large and very clean. The staff were very courteous & helpful on every occasion. Our room overlooked the Animas River behind the hotel and it was treat to hear the rushing water all night! The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. The shower had great water pressure & plenty of hot water.

We also had the breakfast buffet in the dining room both mornings which was good. All in all, a great place to stay with no complaints. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ArizonaJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azsunbaby
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

We just got back from 2 nights in Durango for Valentines Day weekend. This hotel was in a perfect location. The staff was friendly and helpful. We paid $10 more per night for the Bed and Breakfast package and had breakfast for free each morning in the restaurant. Sunday is a great brunch but you can also order off the menu if you choose. We were within walking distance to almost everything and there is an Albertson's with a starbucks inside right next door. The rooms are nice with large bathrooms and comfy beds. We choose the city view but the river view is nice as well. We will definately be back and will stay here again.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2009

This hotel is great. They drove us up to the spa - 8 miles north of the hotel. They did not have to but the complementary shuttle was free. it is a block to the downtown area, so that is great. Its on the main road from the airport, so its easy to find also. I paid about $95 a night and that was reasonable. Indoor pool is nice. We had to ask them to turn up the heat in the hot tub, but they took care of that quickly. The work out room has brand new treadmills with flat screen tv's on each! They could use flat screen in the room though.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
1,035 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.3 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing