We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nothing Spectacular” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northeast US
Level Contributor
140 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nothing Spectacular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Pros: Great location right downtown, wonderful Doubletree rooms, view of the river was enjoyable.
Cons: Tour busses, impersonal staff, basement pool, and kind of an awkward setup.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteelBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    425
    115
    36
    12
See reviews for
443
491
35
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Overall we were satisfied with the Doubletree. The bedroom was large and clean and the bathroom was beautiful. We had booked a room with a balcony city view although when we went inside we discovered that it had no balcony. However, as the city view is more or less a view of the car park we did not bother changing.
We stayed two nights and used the business centre a few times to check emails to and from home. The internet connection was fast.
At the time we stayed decorators were refurbishing the breakfast area and lobby. We think that the breakfast area whilst we were there was actually the ballroom. We felt the breakfast was expensive for what was offered and consequently on the second morning we ate in the town. This was actually more fun as it was pure Durango rather than a characterless hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UK_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

My wife and I spent the weekend in Durango. The hotel is an easy walk to the downtown area and the Durango & Silverton train. There is an Albertsons grocery store just across the parking lot from the hotel which we used to take care of last minute toiletries & snacks.

The hotel itself is quite large and very clean. The staff were very courteous & helpful on every occasion. Our room overlooked the Animas River behind the hotel and it was treat to hear the rushing water all night! The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. The shower had great water pressure & plenty of hot water.

We also had the breakfast buffet in the dining room both mornings which was good. All in all, a great place to stay with no complaints. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ArizonaJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azsunbaby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We just got back from 2 nights in Durango for Valentines Day weekend. This hotel was in a perfect location. The staff was friendly and helpful. We paid $10 more per night for the Bed and Breakfast package and had breakfast for free each morning in the restaurant. Sunday is a great brunch but you can also order off the menu if you choose. We were within walking distance to almost everything and there is an Albertson's with a starbucks inside right next door. The rooms are nice with large bathrooms and comfy beds. We choose the city view but the river view is nice as well. We will definately be back and will stay here again.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

This hotel is great. They drove us up to the spa - 8 miles north of the hotel. They did not have to but the complementary shuttle was free. it is a block to the downtown area, so that is great. Its on the main road from the airport, so its easy to find also. I paid about $95 a night and that was reasonable. Indoor pool is nice. We had to ask them to turn up the heat in the hot tub, but they took care of that quickly. The work out room has brand new treadmills with flat screen tv's on each! They could use flat screen in the room though.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The State of Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year's, 2008. The service was good, the food good and our room was lovely and spacious. I think it was newly renovated because everything was so nice. I have a bad back and have a lot of trouble when I'm away from my Tempurpedic, but their bed and linens were very comfortable.

The hotel sits on the Animas River. You will have a view of the river or downtown. Both are nice, but of course the river is special, especially if you are from flat country.

I would describe the lobby decor as gilded age1880's done in 1980. That being said, it was still nice. It's not the Four Seasons, but quite comfortable. The staff was gracious and accomodating.

If I could make one suggestion it would be that they provide doggie bags for when people walk their dogs. A dispenser as you start the trail around the hotel would be very helpful.

By the way, they recommended "Ice Pirates" snowmobiles to us . You have a fairly gentle drive to Molas Pass, about 15 miles from Durango, and is it ever worth it! Eric, Lizzy and their crew take you out in the national forest on groomed trails which is a lot more fun than riding in an open meadow with people going every which way. The first day Mike took us out and the second day Eric; both totally awesome. We were newbies, but they taught us all we needed to know to have a great time. The scenery was wonderful and the snowmobiles are a blast . My husband and daughter LOVED it. My daughter said "forget snowboarding, let's go snowmobiling again"!

  • Liked — The beds!!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank geodogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

No question about it, this is a pricey choice for lodging. That said, it is hard to say that it was not worth it. You can't beat the location: from our suite, our family could literally walk ten steps to the Animas River. Shopping was close by, as were a number of great restaurants and attractions.

Rooms were spacious and clean. Staff was friendly. Two nights, and not one complaint.

  • Liked — Location, Room Quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#7 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing